Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

SilveR1_09

Ok, I plugged back the Daiyo EU1702 HD Digital Indoor Antenna and rescanned my Samsung TV.

Now I'm able to get 11 digital channels (I think must be T2). Yesterday I did manual tuning, no wonder no signal. Must select Auto Tuning then can. My bad :)

The antenna is indoor with curtains drawn and yet still can received full signal (Bishan area).

That's great. :s12:
1-7 is T2.
800-803 is T.

Manual tuning would have worked actually. But you need to scan for them individually at Channel 27, 29, 31 (T2) and 38 (T).

Just a check, Bishan is quite an old estate. Remembered you saying it is about 23 years old. Your unit doesn't have a HDB MATV (rooftop antenna) socket that you can plug into? Not StarHub.

ah_cheng1882

Saw the Draco dtv2 antenna and setup box selling for 129 at hougang Harvey Norman. Note: the antenna provided is for indoor use.

hwsinn

here's my DVB-C setting, i didn't change any setting to recv HD5, but i can manually set the freq to 370Mhz to reduce the scanning time~

other mediacorp DVB-C channels~ OKTO (SD) on 562Mhz~ Ch5, Ch8, Suria, Vasantham, ChU (All SD) on 642Mhz~ KaraOk channel is on 594Mhz~

not sure why oric1 can't tune to DVB-C, maybe there's difference version of DVB-C which starhub use~ :s22:

bro, i see the app, i assume u using on PC?

what tuner you are using?

matrix05

This T2 is utterly confusing but thanks to the discussion here, at least shed some lights. MDA and Mediacorpse is doing such a bad job in communicating the solution. Just set up a broadcasting station in BB, and that's it, Singapore is first world standard in broadcast liao. Maybe no money to be made from this service so no motivation in communicating the solution well.

oric1

That's great. :s12:
1-7 is T2.
800-803 is T.

Manual tuning would have worked actually. But you need to scan for them individually at Channel 27, 29, 31 (T2) and 38 (T).

Thanks for the useful info :) Ever since I joined this forum, I've gained some useful knowledge.

Just a check, Bishan is quite an old estate. Remembered you saying it is about 23 years old. Your unit doesn't have a HDB MATV (rooftop antenna) socket that you can plug into? Not StarHub.

Wah you really got good memory, still remember my post :)

Actually got MATV but the contractor removed it during the recent renovation cos he said nobody uses it nowadays.

Anyway, I'm glad to have bought this ultra compact, light, stylish & powerful indoor antenna (can't tell it's an antenna actually) that one of the bros recommended here.

Since the stand is removable, it can be wall mounted (it came with the bracket, wall plugs & screws).

There's a strip of blue light in the middle when the power is on (it glows in the dark, quite nice actually).

I got it from Courts for $64 but it's available at FairPrice Xtra too in case anybody is interested.

Disclaimer: I DON'T earn any commission or get any benefits from Daiyo for promoting their products. I'm just posting for the benefits of HWZ forumers.

EU1702.jpg

hwsinn

Thanks for the useful info :) Ever since I joined this forum, I've gained some useful knowledge.

Actually got MATV but the contractor removed it during the recent renovation cos he said nobody uses it nowadays.

Anyway, I'm glad to have bought this ultra compact, light, stylish & powerful indoor antenna (can't tell it's an antenna actually) that one of the bros recommended here.

Since the stand is removable, it can be wall mounted (it came with the bracket, wall plugs & screws).

There's a strip of blue light in the middle when the power is on (it glows in the dark, quite nice actually).

I got it from Courts for $64 but it's available at FairPrice Xtra too in case anybody is interested.

Disclaimer: I DON'T earn any commission or get any benefits from Daiyo for promoting their products. I'm just posting for the benefits of HWZ forumers.

EU1702.jpg

what kind of output does this device have?

Apparatus

Re

OK, just bought the Daiyo HD Digital Indoor Antenna from COURTS and connected to my Samsung 4k tv and I got both digital and analogue channels.

But Channel U don't know why speak Korean leh when the Korean drama show was on.

Also, the analogue channels sometimes don't display well....whole screen snowing like that

Overall, I'm happy so as not to wait till 2015 lah

mrsun18

Rollout plan, my area only in 2015 :s22:
Lol same, one of the last few. Cannot wait, too long already.
Waiting for ST/SH to carry the HD signals...
Don't be so fixated by the MediaCorp roll out plan on your area only. Look at the top of the image - From Dec 2013: Outdoor Reception Island-wide.

The outdoor signal is not going to stop outside your door just because MediaCorp said no entry - haha that's my word.

Just look at the case of oric1. He manged to get the signal on his indoor antenna in the end even though he thought there was no signal initially. And Apparatus managed to receive with indoor antenna too.

As long as one has the certified tuner (tv or set top box), it is very likely to be able to receive T2 broadcast with an indoor antenna. The design of T2 is such that even when signal is very weak, the build-in error correction is able to decode it succesfully.

The_Davis

why they take so long to communicate the rollout plan........

oric1

OK, just bought the Daiyo HD Digital Indoor Antenna from COURTS and connected to my Samsung 4k tv and I got both digital and analogue channels.

But Channel U don't know why speak Korean leh when the Korean drama show was on.

Also, the analogue channels sometimes don't display well....whole screen snowing like that

Overall, I'm happy so as not to wait till 2015 lah

Glad that you got yours working too :)

Ok, your TV is speaking Korean because you're on digital now. Before that you're using analogue, so when you watched a Korean drama, it will be defaulted to Mandarin for all Samsung TVs (including mine).

Now that you're on digital, you'll need to go to the "Tools" to setup your default audio language from "undefined" to "Chinese" and you're good to go. The setting will be permanent even if you off your TV.

wonderous

EU1702.jpg

what kind of output does this device have?

any idea whether I can get a refund for the Daiyo EU1702 if I buy from Fairprice Xtra or Courts but can't get signal? I'm currently using the UHF indoor antenna (Draco ANT-130) that is included with the newly introduced Draco HDT2-7300 box, with moderately good digital signals without analog channels. I want to also be able to watch analog channels.

oric1

any idea whether I can get a refund for the Daiyo EU1702 if I buy from Fairprice Xtra or Courts but can't get signal? I'm currently using the UHF indoor antenna (Draco ANT-130) that is included with the newly introduced Draco HDT2-7300 box, with moderately good digital signals without analog channels. I want to also be able to watch analog channels.

Don't think any shop will allowed a refund but usually they will allowed you to exchange for other item that's equivalent or lower than your purchased price if it's within a certain timeframe (you'll need to check with the shop).

Once I bought an optic cable from Courts but found that it didn't work on my TV so I went back the next day and got it exchanged for a Wireless-N adapter that's lower in price but they allowed me to pick another item to match the original purchased price. You'll need to put the item back in it's original packaging & produce the receipt.

mrsun18

1. Yes Fairprice allows exchange for another item of same value, or make up the difference for an item of higher value, within 15 days. With receipt, but they may accept you explanation if you have lost it. Very flexible.

2. Indoor antenna will never give you satisfactory analogue tv reception throughout the different channels.

Soul77

Fairprice xtra should allow some kind of exchange.

Best was Carrefour last time though..

mrsun18

MDA Replies

For the benefits of those who don't read Straits Times:

image.jpg

The message about the flexibility of placing a tv set without being constrained by the location of the tv point is valid. One example I can quote is in the older 3 rm hdb flat with common corridor. By floor layout the tv set can be placed either at the corridor side or the kitchen side. As only one tv point was provided then, it had to be at either end of the hall.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.