got 1000 extra to invest

guowei

Hi all, i got stock($1000), forex($1000) and unit trust($1000) liao. wanna spread out abit more.

please dont ask me to buy precious metal(brought alot liao, now regrets). also got endowment plan from AXA liao so no agents please. got saving plan from SCB and uob.

50% of my money in my saving account( investment : saving ratio 50%:50%)

age old question, got 1000 extra to invest where to place arh?
:s11:

archcherub

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/new-investment-4765804.html
the above thread shld be good for u too

do it regularly... not lump sum.
but any extra bonus, lump sum, stocks is pretty good.

btw, as ur investment amount is small, does not make sense for u to diversify into forex... unless u meant it as a practice account to get trading experience, then its ok i guess

personally i wont touch unit trust.
i stick to usa and sgx stocks...

kazejin

It sounds like your funds are a bit all over the place.
Would suggest converting unit trusts/forex for example into cash.

I personally keep >=6 months living expenses in OCBC high interest account.
The rest can invest in STI index etf.

guowei

It sounds like your funds are a bit all over the place.
Would suggest converting unit trusts/forex for example into cash.

I personally keep >=6 months living expenses in OCBC high interest account.
The rest can invest in STI index etf.

FOREX is for carry trades, earning 20% interest annually.
Unit trusts is for backup.

basically i'm going for highest risk(FOREX), high risk(stock) and low risk(unit trust). with saving on the side.

kazejin

FOREX is for carry trades, earning 20% interest annually.
Unit trusts is for backup.

basically i'm going for highest risk(FOREX), high risk(stock) and low risk(unit trust). with saving on the side.

What stocks do you hold?

Considering your available investable funds of ~4k, its probably wise to take on less risk.

guowei

What stocks do you hold?

Considering your available investable funds of 3k, its probably wise to take on less risk.

holding XMH, not sure why i brought at last time but i did :s13: brought at 0.20, now 0.30 but noone want to buy from me :s13: volume too low liao. maybe one day someone will :s12:

I only got 1k leh why become 3k :eek:

Knight_Rider

$1000 forex you only can do 0.01
You can open another so you got 1 a/c for Aussie and 1 a/c for kiwi.

guowei

$1000 forex you only can do 0.01
You can open another so you got 1 a/c for Aussie and 1 a/c for kiwi.

I using oanda, they let me buy micro unit.
Buying 1000 unit of nzd every time it drop. Now got 7k units lol

Wanna spread from forex ba, everyday I worry market crush. Better put in different places ba

Knight_Rider

I using oanda, they let me buy micro unit.
Buying 1000 unit of nzd every time it drop. Now got 7k units lol

Wanna spread from forex ba, everyday I worry market crush. Better put in different places ba

For 0.01 two trades is okay but 3 is pushing it. To survive a crash (if it comes) to below 0.7980 for kiwi you need more then $1000 to tahan the margin and to have buying power at the bottom. Normally it's 20 cent drop so that is 2000 pips. Every 0.01 is $200 and if want to insert one trade every 200 pips then definitely you need more firepower to tahan the margin and to buy a bigger lot at the bottom. I might not be right but do have a thought. :)

In terms of crash forex is the best place to be in. $2000 per lot is better then any stock. SGX the most give you double.

guowei

For 0.01 two trades is okay but 3 is pushing it. To survive a crash (if it comes) to below 0.7980 for kiwi you need more then $1000 to tahan the margin and to have buying power at the bottom. Normally it's 20 cent drop so that is 2000 pips. Every 0.01 is $200 and if want to insert one trade every 200 pips then definitely you need more firepower to tahan the margin and to buy a bigger lot at the bottom. I might not be right but do have a thought. :)

In terms of crash forex is the best place to be in. $2000 per lot is better then any stock. SGX the most give you double.

Think my 1000 unit is Ur 0.001 lot lol, I got one nzd trade negative 200 pip but only negative 20 dollars.
For each 1 dollars I invest. I got 1 dollar saved arh. If need be I can rebalanced and move my saving around so no worry.

I super low risk, take home pay less than 2k, take me forever to have this extra 1k for invesment. Better spread around ba, don't wanna risk all on forex.

But very excited for crash! Maybe can buy my first blue chip!

Knight_Rider

Sometimes diversify too wide might not be such a good idea. You will not know the correlation of the crash and how many or how much the instruments will be affected. You are in better shape if 1 out of the 3 sank then 3 out of 4 sank.

I was in that awkward position when my banker recommend a basket of unit trusts. ****i no matter market up or down overall still negative. I fire her and do my own. :D

Knight_Rider

going downnnn, ur scouts out liao ma?

Nope not yet. Pending buy at 0.8395
Today wed double swap so normally positive swap counters are a sell.

Brokers NORMALLY won't let you benefit hahahahahaha. Buy tomorrow bah see how.
Next level buy at 0.8335 and if that breaks it's 0.7980. Yeah yeah yeah it's all in the head. See too much charts liao. :s13:

guowei

Nope not yet. Pending buy at 0.8395
Today wed double swap so normally positive swap counters are a sell.

Brokers NORMALLY won't let you benefit hahahahahaha. Buy tomorrow bah see how.
Next level buy at 0.8335 and if that breaks it's 0.7980. Yeah yeah yeah it's all in the head. See too much charts liao. :s13:

ooo lol, i send mine out liao, got another 2000 unit(0.002 lots). now got 25.5% returns annually lol. :s13:

Knight_Rider

ooo lol, i send mine out liao, got another 2000 unit(0.002 lots). now got 25.5% returns annually lol. :s13:

biggthumpup1.gif
Now have to use fibo, trend lines, S/R, customized MA to see where is it going. Butterfly always tio pian. :s13:

frenchbriefs

i feel generous today
let me give FATA tips
TA good, FA good, can buy

I like companies with "value" in them. Innovalue, valuetronics. Both are value stocks:o
Z4fJmEm.png

why is it supervalue?is ho jinx about to induct it into her mahjong portfolio or is she about to bless it with billion dollar contracts?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.