Your personal experience during financial crisis?

wahkao3

Ultimately reits rely heavily on borrowings to finance their properties. Things to check:

1) debt levels
2) cash levels
3) what kind of debt and at what rates (floating or fix)
4) major tenants occupancy expiry

Not just see Yield %, NAV , Gearing.. if yield so good but price dont move..means.... what? You may be attracted to yield.. give you 1 or 2 times div then company start to chu pattern liao.. then you spit saliva

You see maple logistics, so over valued over NAV but still can move up. :o
I think FFO and AFFO are also important, more important than PEs! :o

but hor, not easy to calculate. Need to dig annual leepork self calculate

felixleong

for those of you who think dividend will save you during recession, remember :

total return = dividend gain - capital loss

if the capital loss is -100 and the dividend gain is 80, you make a net loss of -20. Its still wiser to sell off and buy at cheaper price. dont be fooled by the dividend. dont be hard up over dividend!

ya good point there on capital loss

that's why also good to diversify, have some gold and bonds

for garmen bonds, harder for capital loss especially if u have no problems holding to maturity

if young, 100% stocks is fine too, since u still got income and can take capital loss
if old man liao want to retire then should stick more to bonds and defensive stocks for passive income and prevention of capital loss

w1rbelw1nd

ya good point there on capital loss

that's why also good to diversify, have some gold and bonds

for garmen bonds, harder for capital loss especially if u have no problems holding to maturity

if young, 100% stocks is fine too, since u still got income and can take capital loss
if old man liao want to retire then should stick more to bonds and defensive stocks for passive income and prevention of capital loss

100% stocks over the advantage of having some bond and gold allocation to do rebalancing? I think not. Too dangerous also...

felixleong

100% stocks over the advantage of having some bond and gold allocation to do rebalancing? I think not. Too dangerous also...

ya depends on one's risk appetite ba, for most people best to strike a balance between different classes towards one's level of comfort

I have been investing for 7 years le, currently still 100% equities
in the past was 80% stocks 20% bonds (had genting, CMA and SGS but sold all off as they were all trading way above par value)

focus1974

I was in my final year when the 08-09 crisis strike, lost around 30 k in a week. Hand shake when I was washing test tube. And due to some emotional problem, I din dare to look at the stock screen for almost a year. Still remember that time vested in spc and some commodities counter. The next year, I was quite lucky because the oil price rebound strongly and spc get some privatization offer, eventually sold almost all my holdings with slight profit of few k.

Feel lucky coz I experience all this in my earlier year. I dunno what will be the situation like when the loss is 6 digits.

it's all relative.. to your networth..
i lose high six digits on portfolio.. but i slept well.. lol
coz my daily portfolio movement is five digits..

Perisher

dont be fooled by the dividend. dont be hard up over dividend!

I think the way to look at dividends is not to look at it as just interest a company pay you for holding the stocks.
It's also an indication of strength, weakness and all things in between.

A lowering of dividend y-o-y can be a sign of trouble.
A cut in dividend too.
An increase to ridiculous level is a red flag too.
Steady Yearly growth of dividend is a good sign of strength.
Decreasing Compound Annual Growth Rate of dividend is a warning sign if prolonged.
If dividend stays the same but price falls, yield increase dramatically, it's a warning too.
If dividend yield deviates too far from historical norm, it's also a reminder to find out what's going on.

Dividends can tell you a lot about a company, of coz, it can mislead you too.

MCD right now is experiencing weakness in it's earnings, per store profit etc.
It's dividend yield is at the high end of historical norm, it's dividend is increasing yearly but decreasing on a CAGR. See the different signs all in there.

The dividends are already telling you it's story. Tread lightly.

felixleong

elite sia
yeah but really is relative

I think see % better ma

for one to be in stocks, be prepared to see 20%-40% declines during a bear~ its hard to predict when one will come
when faced with a bear, its often too late to run away... that's why having the temperament and holding power is important for investing success

felixleong

btw I assume you having a 7 figure or higher portfolio, are you a full time investor too?

havetheveryfun

Thats right bro - no exit, no money. Got exit, got money.

u cant say like u tired of waiting after 7 years, want to exit when still nobody buy over that land yet? just that maybe u get back only 50-70% of your initial investment (the others already eaten up due to commissions n other stuff)

wahkao3

u cant say like u tired of waiting after 7 years, want to exit when still nobody buy over that land yet? just that maybe u get back only 50-70% of your initial investment (the others already eaten up due to commissions n other stuff)
u say walton right?
they come and advertise their elite 12% track record?

let me show u fine print

=======================================
Walton land banking investment advertised 12%PA return,with fine print. What this fine print mean?

On the headline advertisement it says "Our Solid 30 year track record, 12% P.A" , then there is a small fine print to give details.

Anyone knows what this fine print means? :s11:

it looks really deceptive.

Internal rate of return
Who's internal rate of return? Walton's rate of return or the investor's rate of return. if walton had bought at cheaper prices, then marked it up and sell them to investors, obviously walton's IRR is higher. as an investor, we are concerned with our IRR, not walton's IRR. it would be downright deceptive to advertise walton's IRR and mislead investor to think its their IRR.

Fully exited projects
What about those unexited projects that got stuck!? OMG

Unaudited
Means just believe what I say. No 3rd party come in to inspect my books

Syndication value
"Syndication value" WTF is "syndication value" I bet its some really low value. Perhaps the cost price at which Walton bought the land? Perhaps walton teamed up with other companies to form a syndicate, and bought them real cheap? Again, another deceptive definition designed to confuse investors.

Exit offer value
Its probably some gross high numbers.
Is there any additional deduction on top of the exit offer value? Taxes? management fees? sales charges? marketing costs? I bet there sure is! Yet another deception

Anticipated closing date
projected closing date? What if projections are missed?

Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results
Fine, I can take this clause

oqzcMyR.png

limster

IMG.jpg

During the financial crisis, dividend yield was a major consideration (but not the only one) in deciding which stocks to pick.
Most of my buys were from this list were coincidentally from this list (i.e. I already bought into these counters earlier on before I saw this and had started averaging down), spread between all 3 categories. One of those not in the list was my portfolio's worst performer, ComfortDelgro, think average price was 1.45, which failed to move in price until recently...

You see this kind of yields, screaming buy buy buy, yet a lot of internet forummers paralyzed by fear...

It was so important that I even kept this printout. Can't remember whether it was businesstimes or an analyst report.

mikezuper

Never asked before - if I remember correctly can transfer to another guy who want to take over. Partial exit on any some at certain cut must ask again if possible.

Anyway the currency is on USD - I entered at 1.4 - if take out now, its at 1.323 - already lost 5 % :(

Wait lor .. hopefull exit in 1-2 years with some appreciation since US is recovering. I bought US land one.

mikezuper

IMG.jpg

During the financial crisis, dividend yield was a major consideration (but not the only one) in deciding which stocks to pick.
Most of my buys were from this list were coincidentally from this list (i.e. I already bought into these counters earlier on before I saw this and had started averaging down), spread between all 3 categories. One of those not in the list was my portfolio's worst performer, ComfortDelgro, think average price was 1.45, which failed to move in price until recently...

You see this kind of yields, screaming buy buy buy, yet a lot of internet forummers paralyzed by fear...

It was so important that I even kept this printout. Can't remember whether it was businesstimes or an analyst report.
DBS $6.90! Buy buy buy!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.