Pet food (Dog Owners PLEASE READ)

prettygal

for dogs that r eating their won s**t...mayb its becos they r still hungry or becos they r sick...when my dog is feeling unwell he will tends to drink his own p**s....but lucky for me he doesnt eat his own s**t ...mayb they pick up the habit frm the pet shop they comes frm cos some pet shop owners feed very little to the puppies...

ermm as for dry food ya my dog used to eat eagle then change to anf then nw have to cook for him cos doc says he cant take dry food..have to take rice...so i bo bian everyday muz cook for him like his personal maid...heard dat a certain brand p******e is not healthy for dogs as they normally used bypass or left overs frm slaughter hse..hw true i dunnnoe but i dun like the brand personally...

theres a society dat i like to bring up here call action for singapore dogs (ASD)

www.asdsingapore.com

quite a cool society

QooQooJiao

Izit ok to feed my doggies with GNC Vitamin C pills? some vet recommended my doggies to take Vit C. Please advise.

mgirl

prettygal said:
....so i bo bian everyday muz cook for him like his personal maid...

Ha! ha! Loved the way you expressed it! Just like my dog. But I think they're all worth every bit of effort 'cos they're the best creatures in the whole world.

My dog eats dry food plus cooked food too - dry for breakfast and we leave it out throughout the day for him when he gets hungry or wants a snack. The cooked food (beef and rice, or fish and rice) is for dinner.

prettygal

haiz....ya ya..though im like his personal maid..but i love to do it lor...cos yes..hes my very precious baby.....i think cos hes fed on rice (best if its brown rice) he doesnt hv the prob of fur droppin...i dun see lumps of furs on the floors..n he seldom drop furs oso...diet is very impt...dun feed yr dogs with high salt content products....n dun feed them chocolates....i give my dog supplements though....used to buy calcium pills frm the vet n fed him with those low lactose milk powder (for human babies) when hes was young...nw hes very healthy i think...goin 7 yrs old liao...

n ya ..saw the report on pedigree products..told u guys dat brand not gd liao....pple who buy them cos they cheap will regret nw cos they dun realise by buying cheap food for their dogs they r goin to pay more for the medical expenses in the future...n oh...got a clinic to intro...quite gd but a little X...Animal recovery centre..(ARC) ...the vets there r quite frenly n they tell u wat happen n etc etc....

Z_Assassin

I own a Maltese that is coming to 3 years old. I swear by Eagle Pack, the formula that comes in the blue packaging.

Used to feed it chicken breast meat, but as someone said, not enough fibre, caused stomach upset. Tried to add rice/porridge as advised by vet, but didn't really work. Plus bird flu biz, now I've totally dropped chicken breast meat.

Caesar is also good, but I use it more as a treat than a daily meal. Must keep my dog looking forward to it.:laugh:

Hacker

luxurious said:
My schnauzer had bumps and my vet recommended eukanuba prescription.
The coat now is good.
Can only be bought from pet clinics.
Cost $28 for 6 lbs i think.

Same for me...my doggie is eating Innova and the coat is now super....

The last time I sent for grooming, had to shave it botak. Now it really looks like a mini schnauzer :).

pew

quicklime said:

i'll recommend innova, california natural, or abady.
Tried the first 2 before..good...poo also not so stinky.
the new brand azmira supposedly very delicious..haben tried thou..

wah!! All super premium food....if I feed my 2 boys these, I'll probably be eating grass myself.

try not to feed abady long term....heard that abady is too concentrated nutrients....many dogs cannot take it.

Now my 2 boys are on Avoderm Active care Lamb and brown rice. Gotta switch to something cheaper already. going to adopt 2 more dogs....

Astro

how abt science diet dry food? 'most vets recommended it --->de package stated'
itz oily to the touch, contains oils for great looking hair ar?

pew

Astro said:
how abt science diet dry food? 'most vets recommended it --->de package stated'
itz oily to the touch, contains oils for great looking hair ar?

science diet is one of the oilest among most common brand. Smells very good also (one of the strongest smelling ones as well) most dogs I encounter love science diet.
Can't remember, there is one ingredient inside science diet not safe, or something like that, because of that, alot of ppl don recommend.

distindra

eh what about cat food?
i feeding my kitty science diet
his fur like become fuzzy leh... feeding him this for about 6 months liao.. is it time to change???? what brand is good ah?
he likes to eat raw beef also
he is a bengal so he is suppose to eat raw meat .
he likes chicken wings also

so what cat dry food and canned food u all recommend?

charvet

My 9mth old schnauzer is on Pinnacle Trout and Sweet potatoes with abit of Solid Gold Seameal. So far so good. :) I switched her from SD to Pinnacle as SD uses by-product chicken meal which is not good.

Every Saturday, I'll feed her Pinnacle Chicken & Veggies canned food. :cool:

DonalkDuck

My 3 JRTs are taking Eagle Pack (dry) and the can one I forgot the name. All I remembered it was mock food. I'm thinking to change the dry one as they seem to have some skin problems... Asked the vet at ARC b4, told me JRTs are known to have this problem...

Any suggestions? :confused:

OscarKa

seahch2 said:
There so many different kind of solid gold dry and can food in the pet shop. Which one is actually suitable for my 10 old golden retriever who had been eating pedigree for all his life !

Solid Gold, Holistique(deep green package) is excellent for older dogs. Had been feeding my adopted Shih Tzu on Pedigree previously, with no idea how 'good' it was since he's my first dog. He had skin problem when he came too, the common type from heat, pretty bad shape. But after some recommendations, we switched to Solid Gold, Holistique. It's natural fish , gives proteins and does wonders for his coat. Really thankful. The skin problem cleared up after some medicated shampoo baths. Put on weight with excellent appetite ever since. We feed him on rice+chicken breast meat+carrots(for eyes)+SG fish(10~15%) everday cuz he refuses on a pure dry food diet. Sometime my mum change menu and give boiled egg, minced pork etc.

Here's the description on the dry food from solid gold's webbie for your convenience:

Dry food formula made with Oatmeal, Rye, Menhaden Herring and Potatoes. Ideal for less active adult or senior dogs, to maintain total health. Perfect for those dogs who require less protein and fat.

Protein, Min 18%
Fat, Min 6%
Fiber, Max 4%
Moisture, Max 10%
Calories per cup, 336

Ingredients
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oatmeal | Rye | Menhaden Fish Meal | Potatoes | Salmon Oil | Sesame Oil | Almond Oil | Lentils | Dried Sea Vegetation | Green Tea | Garlic | Spearmint | Pumpkin Meal | Quinoa | Cranberry Meal | Apple Meal | Taurine | Carotene | Choline Chloride | Calcium Carbonate | Vitamin E Supplement | Iron Proteinate | Vitamin A Supplement | Zinc Proteinate | Niacin Supplement | Folic Acid | Thiamine | Pyridoxine Hydrochloride | Manganese Proteinate | Ethylenediamine Dihydriodide |

LordInuyasha

Solid Gold Holistic Is The Best

Well, I'm feeding this to my 3 dogs; Jack russell / Shetland / Malamute... all with this godly Solid Gold Holistic... Its a fish diet.... Its so gd my dogs love it and they never have any skin problems/poop problems or anything... try it...

YOU'LL LOVE IT.... ;D Pay abit more for Quality food...

I went to some pet shops and they recommend me some bull**** brands... I dont wanna mention the brands... well, and the worst thing is, they start complaining that Science diet and solid gold are the worst brands... WOW...

Why would everyone be using them if they are the WORST... and why are they're companies so much larger then those bull**** brands...

Well, I still believe in top BRANDS... :)

BlueWaterr

anyone who feeds their doggie lots of fish? mine seems to like fish very much (though without bones of course)

SkullzZ

Not me , anyone knows how come my JRT has hotspots over her belly ? But juz a few , not a lot , izzit becuz of e weather or ? Oh , DUN FEED UR DOG RAISINS ! IT KILLS ! read it somewhere b4 ! beware of raisins !!

_m0r0n_

my dog got alot of those pimples on his back leh...
suspious food problem...
do u guys tink if i change the dog food from solidgold puppy lamb to this solidgod holistic...will it help??

tellim

I fed my golden retriever ANF and the **** was smelly...until we switched to Eagle Pack, then **** smell is near undetectable haha.

one of my frens feed his golden retriever w Pedigree for 10+ yrs and never has any problem w the dog. I do find Pedigree packet meat cubes smell delicious to me also.

carey

distindra said:
eh what about cat food?
i feeding my kitty science diet
his fur like become fuzzy leh... feeding him this for about 6 months liao.. is it time to change???? what brand is good ah?
he likes to eat raw beef also
he is a bengal so he is suppose to eat raw meat .
he likes chicken wings also

so what cat dry food and canned food u all recommend?

How old is your kitty?

I feed my 6 year old cat a mixture of iams chicken and science diet SD (prescription only)...

I occasionally mixed in whiskas wet food for him

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.