Advice on Insurance investment proposal

winorlose

Its very interesting though to see that a LOT of people knows all these, but only like 10-30% of them will invest in ETFs (including me). I was introduced to stock investment through Andrew Hallam who advocated buying ETFs through my friend but I did not buy any ETFs at all at the start.. Only after 1 year + did I decide to start a POSB Invest SAver ETF account

Sometimes I wonder why.. is it because of the feeling of losing on opportunities from other stocks ? It seems to be a great play on psychology.

Yea i have never bought any etfs before.. Sometimes when alot of penny stocks or mid caps go up like 20-30% but your blue chips sti etf perform like sh*t then u feel damn dulan. Like what is this sh*t man.. Other stocks already bing bing piang piang up 20-30% then ur bloody ****ing etf so slow. Really waste time buy etf.. Haha

Shiny Things

Yea i have never bought any etfs before.. Sometimes when alot of penny stocks or mid caps go up like 20-30% but your blue chips sti etf perform like sh*t then u feel damn dulan. Like what is this sh*t man.. Other stocks already bing bing piang piang up 20-30% then ur bloody ****ing etf so slow. Really waste time buy etf.. Haha

Don't forget, those crappy-ass penny stocks can go down as well as up. The people who bought Blumont or Hanergy Thin Film weren't feeling so smart when the stock prices halved in a day.

The point of buying ETFs is to sit on them for 20 or 30 years. You're not in this to compare yourself to the guy at the party who brags about how he bought TSLA at $30 or whatever (he's probably lying anyway). You're in this to retire rich, and buying-and-holding big, low-cost ETFs is the single best way of making sure you retire rich.

havetheveryfun

well if we had the time like you to sit in front of the computer and monitor stocks and follow up on stock news then of course etfs may not be the best options for that person. and even if the person had the time he may not be that interested in doing so.

so ETFs are sort of like for these people who don't want to waste time picking and monitoring stocks.. sure the growth may be slow but at least it's still growth and you don't have to worry so much about checking prices everyday.

E.g If you had bought oil stocks like Keppel and SCI last time but you didn't have time to read news, etc.. because you were too busy with your work, you might not even know oil prices have plunged and you might only know it like 1-2 weeks later.. by then the prices of those stocks have already dropped and you can't sell earlier even if you wanted to at a higher price.

Or like if something happened to the fundamentals of a company like Noble, then you might be late to the party also because you didn't follow up on news that much.

Bedokian

well if we had the time like you to sit in front of the computer and monitor stocks and follow up on stock news then of course etfs may not be the best options for that person. and even if the person had the time he may not be that interested in doing so.

so ETFs are sort of like for these people who don't want to waste time picking and monitoring stocks.. sure the growth may be slow but at least it's still growth and you don't have to worry so much about checking prices everyday.

Different strokes for different folks. For myself I have a mix of individual counters and ETFs, and I do read up on the general economy, markets and company news of my holdings periodically. Reading is one of my hobbies. =:p

jnashville

thanks for all the advices people!

i will go read up on shiny things thread.

before i do so when i am off work, this ETF thingy you guys mention, its low risk? What is the average returns and its for long periods?

anyway i told my insurance agent friend that i will like to just get term instead and he recommended me this plan called secure term plus from AIA. He told me its expensive and for my age, around 30. will cost around $700 - $900 a year, and the money will go down the drain every year. Is that the amount? I also ask for my wife (who is younger than me) regarding this and he say for her, the minimum is 1k.

That much for term insurance?

jnashville

i search for shiny thing's thread and came up with a few that he started.

which subject thread should i look at?

wts2013

before i do so when i am off work, this ETF thingy you guys mention, its low risk? What is the average returns and its for long periods?

anyway i told my insurance agent friend that i will like to just get term instead and he recommended me this plan called secure term plus from AIA. He told me its expensive and for my age, around 30. will cost around $700 - $900 a year, and the money will go down the drain every year. Is that the amount? I also ask for my wife (who is younger than me) regarding this and he say for her, the minimum is 1k.

dun throw your money into the drain, talk to another insurance agent, compare, hahaha

Bedokian

Can't answer on the term insurance part, but my take on your question on ETFs.

All investments carry an element of risk, same goes for ETFs. Markets may go up and down, you gain some and you lose some. Which is why if you read the other threads in Money Mind, almost all advocated having a pot of emergency fund (like fixed deposits and savings accounts) before you start investing.

To go a bit in depth (hope I am not confusing you too much) is to know about having an investment portfolio, with different mix of investable items (we call it asset classes) so that you will not lose all at the same time (called risk diversification).

Do read up on some books and websites (Investopedia is a good start) on investments. You could follow other people's models but ultimately you make the final call on what is comfortable for you.

hogrider88

why dont go compare first website and look at the DPI (direct purchase insurance)? AXA covers around $559 one year for 200k (death/tpd incl CI) for 30 yr old till 65.. $559 annually all the way no change.

i am planning to cancel my ILP too.

STI ETFs answers are mostly in the ***OFFICIAL shiny things thread***.

winorlose

my tokio marine term insurance per year is $2.4k for 600k coverage.

Includes Waiver of Premium Rider & TPD Rider

Pay & covers until 99years old.

Even i live till 99years old, my premiums paid will $163k only.. but death benefit is 600k

so the plan is to cash out all the rest of the insurance saving plans and just keep this till i die.

Nowadays life is fragile.. fatal accidents are getting common. :(

heymee

Just adding my thoughts about Insurance Company selling policy with investment....never like it...
I always share with the younger generations why let someone use your $$$ to invest????

At the end of the day , they can claim they lost all your $$$$...

We buy Insurance is to protect ourselves and our loves ones against risks.

Look at local Singpost...is it a Post Office?? It provides TT/loan service/payment service/selling goodies:s22::s22::s22:

doody_

I am quite amused that he said it's expensive. I pay 1.2k/year for 500k coverage for death, TPD, CI. He has any ILP for 1.2k/year and 500k coverage too? I would like to sign up for one immediately.

wts2013

And with only 20% of the counters dedicated for postal services... :s22:

hahaha, boh pian mah, times are different, they are not govt owned, need to answer to shareholders, need to survive, so need to diversify, look for other services to survive mah, hahaha, everyone cutting done on postal/mail services liao mah, all go internet liao mah, hahaha, not a good source of comparison lah, hahaha

a better one maybe smrt, focus so much on making money in retail services, until train services deterioriate, blame on privatisation lor, hahaha

w1rbelw1nd

Check this website first for the cheapest term prices.

http://www.comparefirst.sg/wap/homeEvent.action

Anyway, this friend of you is toxic and giving a very wrong impression about term insurance. Ignore him because he sucks.

Darkzi0n

TS, u can eliminate him from ur friends list Liao. He is milking you for his own gains

Mecisteus

this is the kind of friend that you must stay far far away. dont commit just because he is your friend unless you have done your due dilligence.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.