Air purifier?

chuanz

Ok, maybe I would share a paragraph about 2015 Haze here.

I have about 1900 m3/hr airflow from the 7 APs in my own house, including 3 x 3M Filtrete for the aircons which I'd estimate 3pcs = about 100 m3/hr clean air. Floor area = 95 sqm.

What I noticed about the 200 ug/m3 peak is that the PM load is really high and it really affects the air quality in the house. I mean, your toilet windows usually can't be closed (though I close them whenever it gets close to 300 ug/m3 external) and the yard door usually is left slightly ajar coz others need to do laundry and put dirty clothes.....hence if someone forgets to close properly, the internal ug/m3 concentration sky rockets. Or when you open the main door to throw the rubbish, or someone leaves the house.

What I noticed is that 1000-1900 m3/hr of airflow is just barely enough. I mentioned 1000 ug/m3 is when some of the machines would be operating in medium speed, due to noise. Barely, as in yes ..... after you clos the yard door and toilet windows properly, after 1hr the levels would go below 20 ug/m3. I can hit 5-10 ug/m3 after a period. But with regular acitivities, it usually hovers around the 20-30 ug/m3 range.

In my house, I have 1 x 18" fan and 1 big air circulator operating in low speed to circulate the air around.

This I agree... I got ~1600m3/hr for "regular" hazy days, with capacity to ramp up to ~2200m3/hr (not counting Filtrete)... 110m2 HDB.

Due to the 2yo and pregnant wife, I try to keep it below 10ug/m3. During the worst times (so far in 2015) still can suppress it below 20ug/m3.

WussRedXLi

I mentioned 1900 m3/hr.

For my house of 95 sqm, that is 6.9 ACH. Which I found to be barely enough during the really hazy days like yesterday (above 200 ug/m3 for a few hours). Don't say 300+ ug/m3 days. Internal levels hover at ard 20-30 ug/m3.

Sometimes someone forgets to close the yard door, it rockets to 50-60 ug/m3. Which is PSI 100.

Just for reference.

WussRedXLi

This I agree... I got ~1600m3/hr for "regular" hazy days, with capacity to ramp up to ~2200m3/hr (not counting Filtrete)... 110m2 HDB.

Due to the 2yo and pregnant wife, I try to keep it below 10ug/m3. During the worst times (so far in 2015) still can suppress it below 20ug/m3.

I wanna buy 2pcs of AX40 @ $200. Don't know if got the chance or not. :crazy:

derazor

Actually, especially in this 2015 haze season, airflow/CADR/whatever-you-wanna-call-it, output is king. I have currently 7 APs around my house (and 3 others in parents and grandma place) and I found with my meters that even with 7 APs in which 4pcs are 300+ m3/hr machines,then at 300+ ug/m3 (last Wed-Thur) concentration, high fan speed is barely sufficient. My house is not leaky type, but for normal living, you just cannot afford to keep all doors/toilet windows closed......and you need to air things every few hours.

For 2014 haze, Samsung AX40 in the living room is somewhat ok only.

Or maybe it's coz my standard is more like 10 ACH, for allergic rhinitis sufferers. But no matter what, do not go below 5 ACH.

The saving grace for the AX40 is that it's silent (45dBA) at high speed, and consumes very low energy at that speed (slightly below 30W), and still does 300+ m3/hr airflow.

The LG 459 or 379 in High speed (1 level below Turbo) consumes 20 watts, if I remember my measurements correctly. At an airflow output of 200 m3/hr and probably just 40 or 41dBA.

But its Turbo mode SPL is fairly noticeably higher than the AX40. I suspect it's about 47dBA.
It's also a bigger unit than the AX40. I've got 3pcs of those, is only coz they are so cheap. First one $220 brand new retail (display set), second set 379 is used at $60. Third set BNIB from carousell at $120. :D
Not because I like it better than the AX40. You can't find AX40 deals on gumtree/carousell or even SG retail.

Yeah I have one of those Sharp IR diode sensors for air quality readings, only used it for 2014 haze season. This year I am using laser particle counter based ones liao, much more sensitive for PM2.5 values.

But the Sharp is still ok, just that the lower-level ug/m3 sensitivity/resolution is not there.....and mainly it is sensitive above 1 micron so basically you are reading the PM10 readings, which at least in Singapore bears a pretty close curve to PM2.5. (check NEA 24-hr PM2.5 and PM10 values for N S E W C)
But if you are using for higher-level ug/m3 "haze application", that is fine.

Indon biomass haze in Singapore has a particle size range from 0.15 microns to 1 micron, and have a very large peak at 0.5-0.6 microns range.

I nearly got a Sharp 840 and 850 for just $100 for both. :crazy:
Wanted to get a Shao C100, which is something like the A50, $70. But then I don't like the humidifier models due to their large size. :crazy:

I have a 840.

Seems like can shop around at carousell duringoffpeak period

mindgamey

小米

Noise (dbA): 61, 54, 46, 44, 43
Flowrate m3/h: 406, 271*, 174*, 93*, 68*

Ok I calculate the ACH for those interested.

5 ACH / Air Change per Hour. Don't worry about the furniture in your room taking up volume, just leave it and let it be....

2.9m HDB ceiling.

406 m3/hr. 61dBA
Supported area = 28 sqm

271 m3/hr 54 dBA
Supported area = 18 sqm (typical new BTO master bedroom)

174 m3/hr 46 dBA
Supported area = 12 sqm (typical new BTO bedroom)

Great calculation, only problem at high speed (271 m3/hr 54dbA) is too loud for a bedroom or study. Living room is ok.

I am a light sleeper and ard 45 dbA is the max I can go with my standing fan turn on.

derazor

After the haze season, if those folks are interested, you can also aim for the Midea KJ30FE-NV.

I got I on Sep 11th polling day for $100 Brand new in box, delivered. I regularly see folks selling for $99, before the haze season of coz.

The original filter on TB is just RMB99.

Not get more A40 or LG meh? :s13:

mindgamey

Just collected my Xiaomi AP
Saw a lot of people asking for opinion

This is the noise data compared to my Sharp A50.
All noise taken @ 1m distance

Xiaomi, Jet, High, Med, Low, Sleep.
Noise (dbA): 61, 54, 46, 44, 43
Flowrate m3/h: 406, 271*, 174*, 93*, 68*
*estimated

Sharp A50, High, Med, Low
Noise (dbA): 50, 44, 41
Flowrate m3/h: 306, 216, 60 (Published Spec)

Pros:
Cheap upfront cost.
Cheap original replacement filter.
Air quality sensor.
Can control remote as long as there is an internet connection.
Aesthetically pleasing.
Small footprint relative to same ap in class.

Cons:
Loud,
Needs wifi to control speed toggle button only available for 3 modes, jet, auto and sleep.
High power consumption relative Sharp/Samsung. (42W vs 75W max rated power)
A bit difficult to set up due to very basic instructions provided.

For comparison I just measured my vacuum cleaner: Bosch 2000W GL-30

73dbA @ 1m at max speed

derazor

Assume no on air cond and seal up balcony and kitchen.
95m2 maybe will drop to 70m2 ( typical ). So maybe get a bigger AP in living room ( abit loud also ok as can placed at far far away ) and turn on AX40 in rooms whereby ppl is inside ?

chuanz

Assume no on air cond and seal up balcony and kitchen.
95m2 maybe will drop to 70m2 ( typical ). So maybe get a bigger AP in living room ( abit loud also ok as can placed at far far away ) and turn on AX40 in rooms whereby ppl is inside ?

I leave the floor area as it is although aircon ledge, also build up area, furniture etc takes up some space. Reason is because as the AP starts to clog, airflow (m3/hr) will drop also. So just just assume the "used up" floor area is additional buffer to compensate for the airflow drop lor, makes things less complicated... hehe

Working

Tested 2 plantower, 2 oneair sensor.
- 家用PM2.5检测仪 空气质量监测粉尘雾霾测量PM2.5传感器激光原理
- 益杉 B4激光pm2.5检测仪 激光颗粒物浓度检测仪 空气质量检测仪

Plantower: slightly more consistent, most likely because of the averaging of the values by the program. Lags 3 seconds because of averaging. But closer* to NEA. Does not look friendly to bring outside house. Feels like battery efficient, cuz it's using a cheap LCD. Between the two, the variation can be about <~5 ug/m3. Better than the oneair definitely.

B4 (oneair): Hit and miss perhaps. Two sensors I got do not agree with each other by about 5-10ug/m3, and very sensitive (jumps around). QC stamped, but I wonder. Looks decent. Sucks battery because of TfT large color LCD.

Put together: values tally approximately for 2 plantower, 1 B4. Will probably use the last B4 for emergency only. (The last B4 has exaggerate readings higher than 100ug/m3. Eg, plantower says 144, the bad B4 may potentially say 290.)

Maintenance: I don't know how long those little fans will last. Most likely also not going to provide the most consistent airflow over months or years of use.

Note: all tests are spot, one off, done at 40ug/m3 levels, and may not be accurate for the whole range of measurement. Always take forum posts (at least mine) with a pinch of salt. :)

Right after writing this, the difference for plantower stretched to 10 for a moment. Still think it's better than oneair. Remember, these are like tourist thermometers, they are useful to a point.

chuanz

Tested 2 plantower, 2 oneair sensor.
- 家用PM2.5检测仪 空气质量监测粉尘雾霾测量PM2.5传感器激光原理
- 益杉 B4激光pm2.5检测仪 激光颗粒物浓度检测仪 空气质量检测仪

Plantower: slightly more consistent, most likely because of the averaging of the values by the program. Lags 3 seconds because of averaging. But closer* to NEA. Does not look friendly to bring outside house. Feels like battery efficient, cuz it's using a cheap LCD. Between the two, the variation can be about <~5 ug/m3. Better than the oneair definitely.

B4 (oneair): Hit and miss perhaps. Two sensors I got do not agree with each other by about 5-10ug/m3, and very sensitive (jumps around). QC stamped, but I wonder. Looks decent. Sucks battery because of TfT large color LCD.

Put together: values tally approximately for 2 plantower, 1 B4. Will probably use the last B4 for emergency only. (The last B4 has exaggerate readings higher than 100ug/m3. Eg, plantower says 144, the bad B4 may potentially say 290.)

Maintenance: I don't know how long those little fans will last. Most likely also not going to provide the most consistent airflow over months or years of use.

Note: all tests are spot, one off, done at 40ug/m3 levels, and may not be accurate for the whole range of measurement. Always take forum posts (at least mine) with a pinch of salt. :)

Right after writing this, the difference for plantower stretched to 10 for a moment. Still think it's better than oneair. Remember, these are like tourist thermometers, they are useful to a point.

Plantower IIRC the laser diode can last 1 year for continuous operation. I tried to find the sauce but can't remember where I read it, so take with a huge dose of salt.

Also, there's a 10% variation in the Plantower spot readings (also remember reading it somewhere but cannot find it, maybe in my dreams). This is roughly true as during high readings, the variations from sample to sample is increased.

beibei

Hi, can anyone help? Can I ask for AX40 if we customised we need to customised the carbon filter as well? Do we customized the carbon filter with the same seller? As for 3M filtrate, do we order from same seller as well or any recommend tb seller? How long should we change the carbon filter? Appreciate your kind answer.

Working

Plantower IIRC the laser diode can last 1 year for continuous operation. I tried to find the sauce but can't remember where I read it, so take with a huge dose of salt.

Also, there's a 10% variation in the Plantower spot readings (also remember reading it somewhere but cannot find it, maybe in my dreams). This is roughly true as during high readings, the variations from sample to sample is increased.

Thanks for the info, will keep that in mind. I think arduino nano does the averaging for us, as we can see when we turn it on. It jumps fairly broadly during startup (maybe fan starting up included). Not pouring over the datasheets yet, since the device itself is already not exactly calibrated. But it's definitely good enough to predict the next rough NEA readings, and measuring if I can open windows. :)

Btw, I am dependent on fuzzy. Love the hourly graph. Keep it up (literally).

Tryg2015

Bro wrx

3M filterate medical grade red packaging 38x180cm roll type
On TB selling ard rmb100
Good buy?
Never buy before so I haven't pulled the trigger yet...
If the price is reasonable I'll just buy on TB, since Singapore oos at the places I can reach without car...
Same seller even has the round type for fan, will order too if i really order.

On a side note:
I'll definitely try to source for Samsung AX40 when people sell on carousell before cny
Hahaha
Only thing is must try to find place to store when it's not haze period.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.