Keep up the level of moderation in edmw

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Hi Derrick,

I agree with you and it's the kind of mutual understanding we've been running EDMW for a long while now.

Cursing out of frustration or just exclamation, we've long ignored all of these to give the community a little room around the rules. If we go by the rules, there's really no leeway for that. But, we understand there needs to be some allowance.

But what we'll not tolerate is directing these unacceptable words at someone as that's clearly contravening the rules.

Thank you.

Indeed. The word f*ck for e.g. can be considered vulgar but if it was used as an expression of frustration e.g. f*ck it lah, perhaps its still okay.

But if someone said to you "go fornicate your mother", while there is nothing wrong with the word fornicate, the context in which it was used makes it totally unacceptable.

So banning someone for using the word "cheespie" while not banning someone for telling another forumer to go f*ck his mother totally makes no sense. Just one example of how mods need to look deeper into things and not just act like machines who only know how to ban based on certain key words.

Ohayo!

should infract every single user who uses the word 'sinkie' :s8:

since it is derogatory in nature

like how people say sinktel = singtel

cute_togepi

should infract every single user who uses the word 'sinkie' :s8:

since it is derogatory in nature

like how people say sinktel = singtel

Yah lor, the argument for censoring all those terms is a problem in itself, where do you know where to stop? If the grey area was left as it was, there wouldn't be a backlash.

dennis7w7

What I have noticed is the people who chose to leave this place are those who are trying to be a smart aleck, occasionally trying to play around the rules. For example, posting explicit content like a picture with nude women posing with her hand covering her boobs. If caught, they would argue that it's not considered pornographic because they didn't expose the nipple. Like many other local forums (except the bike forum) it will still considered to be an indecent post therefore the infraction.

Dragon

Administrator
What I have noticed is the people who chose to leave this place are those who are trying to be a smart aleck, occasionally trying to play around the rules. For example, posting explicit content like a picture with nude women posing with her hand covering her boobs. If caught, they would argue that it's not considered pornographic because they didn't expose the nipple. Like many other local forums (except the bike forum) it will still considered to be an indecent post therefore the infraction.

We noticed this phenomenon too. Please report such posts if you spot them and deem them offensive or lewd. :)

p_eppermint

don't worry, they will be back soon. :vijayadmin: it is mostly those attention seeking ones who feel the need to boost their egos thru such photos/threads...somehow it makes them feel good abt themselves when ppl comment positively (those fap fap comments etc). :s22:

Sent from Samsung SM-G920I using GAGT

Death4ngel

We noticed this phenomenon too. Please report such posts if you spot them and deem them offensive or lewd. :)

Actually... isn't it just wrong to post other people's photos online unless they are celebrities?

runforyourlife

Actually... isn't it just wrong to post other people's photos online unless they are celebrities?

My idea of "wrong" depends on few factors.

Whether the pics are posted by those individuals in the public or private domain. e.g.: in IG, there are tons of "lewd" pics that are available publicly (not private profile).

In addition, depends on the intention of the poster. Sharing for awareness or having an intention to "destroy" them, based on personal vendetta.

Dragon

Administrator

This issue has been discussed at lengths before, both on forums and internally.

Most agree that, if the photos are from publicly accessible public domains it becomes regarded as publicly distributed so it is ok to share and repost. However, if the owner of the photos or the authorities wish them removed, we usually oblige.

Of course, this is granted that the photos do not go against our TOS to begin with. Otherwise we will act upon them accordingly when users report them. :)

ethan89

It was based on context and user reports.

If it was based simply because of the acronym itself, more users would have been infracted. I'm sure you can still see posts with the said acronyms. To pick out posts based simply on acronym itself is easy, just do a search for posts with the specific keyword and that's it. However, we are not clamping down to that extent. :)
But apparently some users were infracted when they merely used the "cp" acronym in their posts in typical chiobu threads without additional words or phrases attached to it that can lead to different interpretations.

While I understand that u will only take action against users using crude terms in an offensive context, that wasn't the case for the latest incident coz that particular mod/admin acted contrary to what u have said.

Anyway I hope u can help to remind your team to be more sensitive and exercise careful judgement before becoming trigger-happy to deliver infraction (and taunting) just because someone reported em. I do appreciate the hard work u guys put in and I understand moderating forums is no easy job and u guys can get labelled as double standards and other awful names.

But to that particular mod/admin on the recent "clamping" exercise (especially on the "cp" acronym), do allow me to emphasise on this saying (as well as to newly joined mods/admins),

"With great power comes great responsibility."

That's all I wanna say and thanks for working hard and listening to our feedback with great patience.

(Heard that dragons are mythical creatures with the highest HP means max endurance aka patience :s13: )

Have a great new year ahead!

Sent from "It is only through labor and painful effort, by grim energy and resolute courage, that we move on to better things."
- Theodore Roosevelt using GAGT

derrickgoh

I beg to differ. If the picture only shows the woman's upper body (i.e. we don't even know whether her lower body is exposed or not since its not even in the pic) and her hands are covering her boobs, then how is that considered indecent exposure? Her boobs are not exposed. If one chooses to mentally undress her that's that fellow's problem.

There is another thread in the feedback channel. Apparently the poster's thread was deleted as it had a picture of a lady showing off her long legs and there was a water bottle placed over her privates. Suggestive it may be but was any private part exposed? No.

As for "indecent" posts, I think that word is way too general as people have different degrees of tolerance. Some people will even make noise when they see a pic of a woman in a swimming suit. So where do you stop? Are you going to ban every single post containing pics of women who expose anything more than their calves? :s8:

In Afghanistan its considered "indecent" if a woman exposed ANY part of her body. In certain states in the US, its fine for a woman to go around topless and not violate any laws. So again how do you define "indecent"?

To me, as long as there is no exposure of private parts or in the case of women, breasts, there is nothing wrong.

For those more sensitive forumers, simply don't click on threads related to women. :s8:

cute_togepi

I beg to differ. If the picture only shows the woman's upper body (i.e. we don't even know whether her lower body is exposed or not since its not even in the pic) and her hands are covering her boobs, then how is that considered indecent exposure? Her boobs are not exposed. If one chooses to mentally undress her that's that fellow's problem.

There is another thread in the feedback channel. Apparently the poster's thread was deleted as it had a picture of a lady showing off her long legs and there was a water bottle placed over her privates. Suggestive it may be but was any private part exposed? No.

As for "indecent" posts, I think that word is way too general as people have different degrees of tolerance. Some people will even make noise when they see a pic of a woman in a swimming suit. So where do you stop? Are you going to ban every single post containing pics of women who expose anything more than their calves? :s8:

In Afghanistan its considered "indecent" if a woman exposed ANY part of her body. In certain states in the US, its fine for a woman to go around topless and not violate any laws. So again how do you define "indecent"?

To me, as long as there is no exposure of private parts or in the case of women, breasts, there is nothing wrong.

For those more sensitive forumers, simply don't click on threads related to women. :s8:
Crazy self righteous conservatives trying to impose their own warped form of political correctness into this forum. Maybe next time need to cover until see eyes then can be considered ok.

Or maybe their mindset is still stuck at 10 years old, not grown up enough to know what click and what not to click.

Dragon

Administrator
But apparently some users were infracted when they merely used the "cp" acronym in their posts in typical chiobu threads without additional words or phrases attached to it that can lead to different interpretations.

While I understand that u will only take action against users using crude terms in an offensive context, that wasn't the case for the latest incident coz that particular mod/admin acted contrary to what u have said.

Anyway I hope u can help to remind your team to be more sensitive and exercise careful judgement before becoming trigger-happy to deliver infraction (and taunting) just because someone reported em. I do appreciate the hard work u guys put in and I understand moderating forums is no easy job and u guys can get labelled as double standards and other awful names.

But to that particular mod/admin on the recent "clamping" exercise (especially on the "cp" acronym), do allow me to emphasise on this saying (as well as to newly joined mods/admins),

"With great power comes great responsibility."

That's all I wanna say and thanks for working hard and listening to our feedback with great patience.

(Heard that dragons are mythical creatures with the highest HP means max endurance aka patience :s13: )

Have a great new year ahead!

Sent from "It is only through labor and painful effort, by grim energy and resolute courage, that we move on to better things."
- Theodore Roosevelt using GAGT

Thank you for your kind input. We will remind the team to exercise careful judgement when handling user reports and user offences. :)

derrickgoh

Crazy self righteous conservatives trying to impose their own warped form of political correctness into this forum. Maybe next time need to cover until see eyes then can be considered ok.

Or maybe their mindset is still stuck at 10 years old, not grown up enough to know what click and what not to click.
Precisely because some junior mods are self righteous conservatives while others are power hungry despots which is why there should be clear guidelines for all mods to follow.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.