Rim change advice/recommendation

ZhuTou!

I have to say this ...

I think some of the folks in here think way too highly of ALTC.

Said this before - They are the only tyre shop I know of in this country that want to test your old rims before taking them in on a trade-in, and the moment they say "got a bit 歪" even if you can't see it, they will knock $10-$20 off the quoted take-in amount on each rim.

They never test my rim
Simply look at it and quote me liao

CaressOfVenus

Just stock rim without tyre is not worth much. Even with tyres, stock rims trade-in value is only high if you trade-in from a brand new car fresh from showroom.

If trade-in value is at $40 you might as well take them home and advertise them on a Nissan or Latio forum or whathaveyou for a better price, but be prepared to hold on to them for a long time.

Friendly advice - If you are planning on going through a whole list of tyre shops to see who can give you the best trade-in for your rims, I think you're going to be very tired ;)

Nah.. Will just choose 3-4 reputable shops and take the best rim price + trade in combo. If on the spot they really want to test and said it is faulty I will 'LL loh.

Selling the stock rims at Latio forum is a good idea but too much work.. and think the missy will probably made noise if I put 4 rims in our small store room..

HeadQuarters

I am considering if I should change my Civic's stock rim to a lighter one to improve FC...

Some say the stock rim may be heavier, but it's more durable.

How huh? Worth the change? Dunno if savings on petrol will be more than the cost of the new rims after 2 years boh... :o

Keromond

stock rim cfm heavier, though new n lighter rims saves ur FC...but dun know much drive how long then can break even....

CaressOfVenus

H-Tyre is the local distributor for Rota, all the other tyre shops get their stock from them. If you buy a set brand new, I doubt you'll get it much cheaper elsewhere, if at all. I'd suggest going straight to H-Tyre if you're getting the same size and retaining your tyres. If you go to other tyre shops, they may be selling some other made-in-Taiwan brand replica of the same design rather than Rota (kinda ironic to say this I know, considering the Slipstream is a replica as well).

The ad in the link says 15x7 though, you might want to make sure that they get you 15x6.5 ones - if they don't have stock on-hand get them to place an order rather than settle for 15x7.

Reviving this thread...

More or less decide to go for the change so call up few shops..

H-Tyre - $684 (after GST)
ALTC - $450 (includes GST)
Cheng Jin - $520 (includes GST)

How come H-Tyre is distributor but so much exp than the rest? I asked them and both said they are selling original brand new Rota rims... possible? Can believe anot?

And by the way, just notice the ad i posted is from H-Tyre and they quote me the same price.

CCCustom

How come H-Tyre is distributor but so much exp than the rest? I asked them and both said they are selling original brand new Rota rims... possible? Can believe anot?
Can't really give you a definite answer. Thing is, at the end of the day, the original Rota is also a replica (i.e. of the Spoon rim). And there are many, many replica makers who also made this Spoon replica.

There is no marking on an original Rota that indicates it to be so, so honestly, only the tyre shop will know whether what they're selling you is a Philippines Rota or another Spoon replica from Taiwan. But as mentioned, H-Tyre is the distributor for this brand of replicas, if the distributor themselves sell at X price, logically would a retailer be selling the same brand for so much cheaper?

Personally I say tyre shops will just sell you anything that looks the same that they have in stock since to them they're all replicas anyway. It's your call whether or not to trust the dealer.

CaressOfVenus

Ya.. even for noob like me, the price difference for the same product is too much to not feel suspicious..

But $684+ make me think twice again.. haiz...

eurofunk

I'd for one would not pay 400+/per rim for a "replica" or "oem" made in Philippine rim no matter how it is advertised that its used for drifting or wat how tough

match89

rotas also replicas, choice between Philippine, taiwan or china replica. i will choose taiwan
Philippine i think rota is the only wheel manufacturer- technological wise, rota got nothing to wow about.. design wise, same as china and taiwan- just blatantly copy and put own brand name on it.
Taiwan and China has many manufacturer, personally I belief that with a whole industry in a country, it encourages competition for quality,designs, techniques(forge,hybrid forge, low pressure cast) etc. something like why we prefer Japan/Germany vehicles over Malaysia made vehicle..

Then between Taiwan and China, i believe should be quite similar, but obviously I will go for taiwan made with some brands like RM, LEAGUE, AVANTI, CAD and many more..

Reviving this thread...

More or less decide to go for the change so call up few shops..

H-Tyre - $684 (after GST)
ALTC - $450 (includes GST)
Cheng Jin - $520 (includes GST)

And by the way, just notice the ad i posted is from H-Tyre and they quote me the same price.

fuzzerly

sorry to bump this thread. Looking to upgrade my toyota vios rims, but unsure which brand to get.. anyone can recommend? Interested to get mattle/black rims. Also do shops do trade in for stock rims??:s22:

Dragon

Administrator
sorry to bump this thread. Looking to upgrade my toyota vios rims, but unsure which brand to get.. anyone can recommend? Interested to get mattle/black rims. Also do shops do trade in for stock rims??:s22:

It all depends on your budget, rims can range from $50 to $1000 or more a piece. Yes, most shops accept trade in but don't expect too much in return for stock steel rims.

Hope this helps. :)

Rota rims are definitely better than taiwan rims. But then again, the price is just too high for replicas.

Unless you really want rims like TE37SL/CE28N, then cheaper option and most similar to those would be rota rims i guess?

If you daily drive normally, I think taiwan made products are good enough. Some of my friends uses taiwan rims/coilovers/brakes to track, no issue so far. I guess taiwan products are getting better as compared to the past, and more and more well accepted.

Fyi - Rota rims are better than taiwan because it is more dense in terms for casting, but sibeh heavy.

fuzzerly

Just to check, if i intend to stick to 15" and i only wanna change the rims, can my old tyres fit onto the new rims?

match89

Just to check, if i intend to stick to 15" and i only wanna change the rims, can my old tyres fit onto the new rims?

I think as long as 15" and the width even if slight difference, it is acceptable according to rim-tyre width recommendation table.. see link below, copy and pasted it out abit messy:s13:

RM Team Rims recommended tyre widths for given rim widths.

Rim width Min tyre width Ideal tyre width Max tyre width
5 .0 inches 155 mm 165 to 175 mm 185 mm
5.5 inches 165 mm 175 to 185 mm 195 mm
6.0 inches 175 mm 185 to 195 mm 205 mm
6.5 inches 185 mm 195 to 205 mm 215 mm
7.0 inches 195 mm 205 to 215 mm 225 mm
7.5 inches 205 mm 215 to 225 mm 235 mm
8.0 inches 215 mm 225 to 235 mm 245 mm
8.5 inches 225 mm 235 to 245 mm 255 mm
9,0 inches 235 mm 245 to 255 mm 265 mm
9.5 inches 245 mm 255 to 265 mm 275 mm
10.0 inches 255 mm 265 to 275 mm 285 mm
10.5 inches 265 mm 275 to 285 mm 295 mm

*This table serves only as a guide, you should always consult your local tyre specialist for best tyre fit size.

Source : Rim to Tyre Width Recommendation Table - RM High Performance Racing Sport Wheels :: Singapore

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.