HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

A Few Random Ideas For Singapore's Economic Future

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By cherry6

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2014, 06:58 PM   #1

A Few Random Ideas For Singapore's Economic Future

(BTW this is my first post. I didn't see an introductions forum)

ROUGH DRAFT

A Few Random Ideas For Singapore's Future Economy.

Hey Hardwarezone/Singapore,

I heard a couple of people were discussing my blog on this site. I've
only spent a couple of weeks in Singapore, so I'm far from an expert.
But I lived in London most of my life, and spent some time in Hong
Kong.

London, Singapore, Hong Kong.

All hyper expensive city states (H.E.C.S.) with large immigrant underclasses. The social strains are similar. This essay could work in HK or London just the same.

Social problems are similar in all fortress economies:

i) Severely overcrowded population with infrastructure barely meeting
the demands of the populace (cramped public transport, no affordable
healthcare etc);
ii) Tensions between "citizens" and foreigners -- severe lack of integration;
iii) Lack of communcaition between policy makers and the citizenry,
between policy makers and folks on the ground like social and health
workers.

New Revenue Streams

I won't bore people with a long expatriate beer fuelled socio-economic essay. I just want to show young people some interesting grassroots technology. Ideas that might indirectly solve a few social tensions over the coming decades.

This short essay is taken from a collection of longer essays. I cut it right down.

Future Grassroots Technology

Hydroponics, Aquaponics, Fog Collectors, Liposomal Vitamin C, Vertical
Axis MagLev Wind Turbines, Magnesium Oil, Low Tech Vertical
Farms.....and more. Over 50 underreported technologies at last count.

A lot of these ideas can cost less than one hundred US dollars to set up.

[Sorry, no links, I don't have enough post count!]

Hyper Expensive City States