GamerSG said:
If you know how the financial system works, you will realise that banks have an elevated legal status which allows them to create money which no other legal entity can. If you print money at home, you will be jailed. Banks profit from the same activity.
Alamak, you do realise that leverage is different from printing money. Don't you?
And i would not say that our banking system is safe. >50% of assets in the local banks are in the form of mortgages, should the housing bubble burst either due to rising interest rates/recession/war in region, every local bank will have to declare bankruptcy if the default rate hits ~10%.
However i also have no doubt that the MAS will print to bail them out causing more inflation and a wider wealth gap leading to more political unhappiness.
What you're saying is totally invalid in the context of the country. There are several factors that makes your argument moot IMO.
Taking statistics from 2010 onwards, HDB transacted around 18+K HDB flats over the period of 3 years (2010 - 2012). And during this same period of time, more than 178K applied for HDB loan, which means only around 10-15??K leaked to the banks.
See -
Only 2 per cent of HDB loan applications rejected
So even if property market do come crashing down, the impact while still big, isn't going to crash the entire banking system.
As long as HDB isn't going to call back the loans which they offered (which they won't and they can't), there is no way the property market is going to suffer a significant (over 35% drop) crash soon.
Another reason that this does not really apply to us is CPF. Most of us use CPF to finance our homes and the smarter ones (which really is the vast majority of people) finance them with little or no cash monthly.
The couple of changes made to the housing rules only made it more difficult for people to take on leverage if they are not able to pay. Even if housing market do crash tomorrow by a significant 25%, banks will still not likely be required to call the loans, or even ask people to top up the loans. The fact is Bank loans require 20% down first (for 1 loan) and they require 40% down (for the 2nd or 3rd loan?)
While alarmists can argue that if interest rates rise significantly, people might not be able to afford it, but bear in mind that CPF interest rates WILL rise along, and the nett interest rates for these people (which at a glance look like over 95% of the HDB market) is still 0.1% of interest. And this affects the vast majority of the country.
And if the govt continues to pay 1% extra for OA and SA accounts, we are in fact, earning 0.9% interest in our 1st 20K in OA and 1st 40K in SA for our housing loan.
What you said IS applicable to the average western country, but IMHO, does not apply to us at all. Prior to 2007, the West went crazy with leverage. Banks were offering people crazy loans that were unsustainable at their income level. Heck, they even offered approved loans to people who were long dead.
This has never happened in this country owning to the fact that the Govt builds around 80-90% of the flats in the country lah..