The Watch Thread - Part 6

Watch dials on different types of watches appeal to different people.

What you find fugly might be considered a beauty to another

Why cant such a dial be on a PAM? I think it looks absolutely fine. The dial is still clean and not too noisy

Maybe applied indices should have been used instead of painted numerals

PANERAI-Luminor-Submersible-Left-Handed-Titanio-PAM569-41.jpg

panerai_image.3661398.jpg

PAM535-Luminor-1950-3-Days-Automatic-42mm.jpg

10387947_247628045429877_1949839720_n.jpg

The look is very different.

One looks higher quality than the other.

Optrex

Anyway, i'm probably jumping ship to the 392. I dont need the gmt and found out that it is not a true gmt cos it rotates only 12hrs instead of 24hrs (please correct me if i am wrong about this). Basically similar watches but at a premium.

hope dun have to pay more than 8.6k =:p

2vx3wba.jpg

UGEdClVl.jpg

Spartanz.

Just want to share with u guys my exp with swatch service centre ,,,

1st trip: send my omega po 8500 to remove a particle in caseback after seeking advice that it should be removed to prevent it from entering movement. Was told need to send in for a week for a simple job. Fine...

2nd trip:got my watch back, went home, found out there is a big piece of dirt sticking on the dial.

3rd trip: send it in to service centre, they check on the spot, open up caseback, told me can't be removed, in addition add in a few more big pieces of dirt in crystal. I told them to remove those new dirt pieces n also check wad could be done with the dirt sticking on the dial,

Got a call a few days later saying they will change the dial n it will take 2 months.

4th trip: got a call after 2 mths , watch is back, went back took watch, found out a few more dirt in crystal, dirt in hour marker ,scratches on the hour hands, scratche in caseback, scratches on lugs behind.

I finally decided send to a private watch repair shoop to remove those dirt . Those that can be removed r already removed. Those that stick to the hour makers can't be removed . As for the scratches in hour hands I decided to leave it alone since it's pretty small. Those scratches in caseback n lugs I also decided to accept it.:s8::s8:

Was told by this watch repair guy that it's normal cause authorized service centre do not have the best facilities n they simply do not care,

Luckily for this shop, they have a suction hood to do all their work , so their quality is much better.

As for my watch, there are still dirt sticking to the hour marker n dial, scratches to the hour hands n caseback n lugs which can't be solved,. Decided to just wear the watch instead of sending it in..:(

So if u guys want to service yr watch,don't send it to authorized service centers if u want good outcomes.send it to private watch repair shops that r trustAble instead.. Not only their quality is much better, their price is also quite decent

1st trip: send my omega po 8500 to remove a particle in caseback after seeking advice that it should be removed to prevent it from entering movement. Was told need to send in for a week for a simple job. Fine...

2nd trip:got my watch back, went home, found out there is a big piece of dirt sticking on the dial.

3rd trip: send it in to service centre, they check on the spot, open up caseback, told me can't be removed, in addition add in a few more big pieces of dirt in crystal. I told them to remove those new dirt pieces n also check wad could be done with the dirt sticking on the dial,

Got a call a few days later saying they will change the dial n it will take 2 months.

4th trip: got a call after 2 mths , watch is back, went back took watch, found out a few more dirt in crystal, dirt in hour marker ,scratches on the hour hands, scratche in caseback, scratches on lugs behind.

I finally decided send to a private watch repair shoop to remove those dirt . Those that can be removed r already removed. Those that stick to the hour makers can't be removed . As for the scratches in hour hands I decided to leave it alone since it's pretty small. Those scratches in caseback n lugs I also decided to accept it.:s8::s8:

Was told by this watch repair guy that it's normal cause authorized service centre do not have the best facilities n they simply do not care,

Luckily for this shop, they have a suction hood to do all their work , so their quality is much better.

As for my watch, there are still dirt sticking to the hour marker n dial, scratches to the hour hands n caseback n lugs which can't be solved,. Decided to just wear the watch instead of sending it in..:(

So if u guys want to service yr watch,don't send it to authorized service centers if u want good outcomes.send it to private watch repair shops that r trustAble instead.. Not only their quality is much better, their price is also quite decent

the way I see swatch group service center I know they cmi...

last time at wheelock place, have to queue for 1 hour to get the watch serviced.

then over at the service facility itself, it is so exposed to outside environment. People keep on entering and exiting the room.

Once of my experiences is that my seamaster earned a few deep scratches on the inside of bracelet when I never wear a ring lol.

The problem is, there are simply too many repair order requests and their staff is limited

Jeremy1

Yeah lah. Havent tried the 44mm. A bit paiseh leh. Haha. Just went to 'disturb' them at the boutique last saturday. This week must go and disturb again. Haha. Cos not going to buy immediately. But the odds are on the 42mm.

How big is your wrist size ?

I am also small at 6.25" find that my 44mm is just nice and the 47mm will be too big.

I think the 42mm should also be OK.

Jeremy1

Not quite really the case.

I really regret sending my UN for servicing to a private watch shop. Coming to 10 months now and it's still not OK yet...................:s22:

Should have send it back to UN through THG for servicing..................:o

Just that u must remember, 42mm vs 44mm.

Certain watches need to be of certain size if not will look out of proportion
when reduced/increased in size

Not quite really the case.

I really regret sending my UN for servicing to a private watch shop. Coming to 10 months now and it's still not OK yet...................:s22:

Should have send it back to UN through THG for servicing..................:o

you should ask for your watch back ;)

pwillie

Stay up last night to do a quick clean and wind on my vintages
I realized the moral of the story is not to succumb to impulse buying... :o

qpIDWeS.jpg

BERSERK1980

How big is your wrist size ?

I am also small at 6.25" find that my 44mm is just nice and the 47mm will be too big.

I think the 42mm should also be OK.
Its not always about the wrist size, depends on the height, attire and the way you carry it. 47mm on a 6.25" is doable.

Sent from GAGT Android App

Henabi

Both look equally nice to me. But of course, this is the perfect example of "One watch doesn't fit all"

There will be people who wants indices and then there will another group of people who wants painted numerals... Then there will be others who wants Arabic... and the list goes on and on and on... :s8:

Both look equally nice to me. But of course, this is the perfect example of "One watch doesn't fit all"

There will be people who wants indices and then there will another group of people who wants painted numerals... Then there will be others who wants Arabic... and the list goes on and on and on... :s8:

Do both of the watches below look equally nice to you?

cheers

380 vs 183

pam380blacksealN01.jpg

RADIOMIR%20BLACKSEAL.jpg

Henabi

Yup. Around that. Was hoping for cheaper source though. Lol

you can check with Azrielsc, Paladium and also Yatto dai kor... they are really into PAMs...

with a cup of coffee or tea, I am sure they are more than willing to share with you their stories on PAMs...maybe hold some hotdogs..walk over to ION PAM AD :s8:

walk out from the AD shop a happy man, with a few PAM hoots to celebrate Xmas :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.