[GPU Review] Sapphire AMD r9 Fury X on the rise!

avsquare

1400-1450 still okay leh, U try push beyond 1450 for game stable quite hard ~ else silicon lottery liao.

ok lah beyond 1450MHz I agree

cos you say can't push beyond 1410MHz mah...

So far I've overclocked the 980Ti, 980 and 970, the highest clock with nvidia boost achieved without raising voltage was 1475MHz

Mikiberry

ok lah beyond 1450MHz I agree

cos you say can't push beyond 1410MHz mah...

So far I've overclocked the 980Ti, 980 and 970, the highest clock with nvidia boost achieved without raising voltage was 1475MHz

getting one more for sli? and get the evga bridge haha

avsquare

getting one more for sli? and get the evga bridge haha

One more need recharge $ for a bit lol. I not that loaded :s13:

Bonus come can hoot lor. Along with sleeved cables from Corsair and replacing my WD greens and Intel 750 SSD etc :s13:

idjekyll

i'm kinda new to OCing gpu. am i right to say that you can maintain the OC for everyday use as long as you dont meddle with the voltage? or is OCing just for curiosity's sake and benchmarking?

avsquare

i'm kinda new to OCing gpu. am i right to say that you can maintain the OC for everyday use as long as you dont meddle with the voltage? or is OCing just for curiosity's sake and benchmarking?

OC for everyday use lor.

Just the memory clock speed you might not want to push it too hard unless you are on WC. VRM/VRAM fries easier than the GPU

In any case your 980Ti is reference card, OC what sia :s13:

eminus

most of the non-reference card are overclocked, factory overclocked so you are right if you don't really add voltage to your GPU while overclocking you got a lesser chance in spoiling it. Some other GPUs though does not mind the additional voltage :)

idjekyll

OC for everyday use lor.

Just the memory clock speed you might not want to push it too hard unless you are on WC. VRM/VRAM fries easier than the GPU

haha why cannot? can still push even though reference mah albeit won't soar as high as custom. if can milk the card then why not?

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
2 main important questions in this thread:

1) Hows the OC?
2) Sapphire not under convergent?

2 less important questions in this thread:

1) Temp and power.
2) How long is the card.

monikernemo

most of the non-reference card are overclocked, factory overclocked so you are right if you don't really add voltage to your GPU while overclocking you got a lesser chance in spoiling it. Some other GPUs though does not mind the additional voltage :)

Sometimes need overvolt to stabilise the OC hmm but depends on silicon.

General consensus is that mild voltage increase is okay bah since you don't use your com 24/7 unless I am wrong hahah
a
OC for everyday use lor.

Bro Haha reference card that's why must OC ma Haha spend so much then still lose to custom card ish jin sad

:(
Like my 780ti...

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

avsquare

haha why cannot? can still push even though reference mah albeit won't soar as high as custom. if can milk the card then why not?

Can, you got thermal headroom to OC anot? Your reference cooler so cui :s13:

Full load can go 80-82C liao OC apa? :s13:

Bro Haha reference card that's why must OC ma Haha spend so much then still lose to custom card ish jin sad

Ref always lose to custom one what, buy custom lah :s22:

idjekyll

can la don't say until so impossible like that. it's not like i'm the only person who OC their reference card. my core clock offset 230mhz now playing witcher 3 high/ultra settings. temps never shoot over 78c. granted the headroom is lesser but then again why not OC?

trento

Depends on the card itself. For my 280, there's a lot of room for OC. I can push it another 300-400mhz. For the 270x, it can barely OC. Once u establish a safe OC, u can simply leave it unchanged. Google for these values. Btw, didn't know the 980ti is getting the high 70 deg. Looks like u should consider watercooling it.

idjekyll

Depends on the card itself. For my 280, there's a lot of room for OC. I can push it another 300-400mhz. For the 270x, it can barely OC. Once u establish a safe OC, u can simply leave it unchanged. Google for these values. Btw, didn't know the 980ti is getting the high 70 deg. Looks like u should consider watercooling it.

ahh one more question. everyone's getting skittish about cards going up to 75-80c for normal gaming but operationally speaking, is it still within acceptable range or has the WC enthusiasts influenced this unfounded paranoia since max temp is 92c?

enenyi

ahh one more question. everyone's getting skittish about cards going up to 75-80c for normal gaming but operationally speaking, is it still within acceptable range or has the WC enthusiasts influenced this unfounded paranoia?

Is this a new feature that Nvidia has included in Maxwell cards? My Gigabyte 670 is running in the way that the moment it reaches 'high temps' like 73 degrees, Nvidia drivers throttle its performance by downclocking it. So I dun get past 73 degrees but I dun get the performance that was intended. Was it only for Kepler?

babychimz

Don't like that look down on reference cards so much leh.. Make me sad only :(

idjekyll

Is this a new feature that Nvidia has included in Maxwell cards? My Gigabyte 670 is running in the way that the moment it reaches 'high temps' like 73 degrees, Nvidia drivers throttle its performance by downclocking it. So I dun get past 73 degrees but I dun get the performance that was intended. Was it only for Kepler?

i think the throttling starts at 80c if im not wrong. for me i try to keep my temps below that. actually my card stays within 70-74c range. only during certain cutscenes in witcher does it go to 78c. got one cutscene with smoke and all and it shot to 80c :s13: regarding the kepler/maxwell question, you have to ask the more informed gents here.

idjekyll

Don't like that look down on reference cards so much leh.. Make me sad only :(

yah la! :s13:

but anyway your set up needs a reference card anyway. SFF case and all that. reference card and custom have their own positives and negatives. Paul just did a video it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.