The Intel LGA1150 Haswell Owners Thread & Survey (H.O.T.S)

Are you buying Haswell? If possible, explain your choice in a post

• Total voters

MacClipper

Well, it is finally almost here so here we go again... :)

Haswell (microarchitecture), as defined by Wikipedia
Haswell is the codename for a processor microarchitecture under development by Intel's Oregon team as the successor to the Ivy Bridge architecture.[1] Using the 22 nm process,[2] Intel is expected to release CPUs based on this microarchitecture on June 4, 2013.

Predecessor Sandy Bridge (tock), Ivy Bridge (tick)
Successor Broadwell (tick), Skylake (tock)

Socket(s)
Haswell-DT ie. LGA 1150 (main target of this thread)
Haswell-MB ie. rPGA 947
BGA ie. BGA-1364

Haswell in the eyes of others
aka. sprinkling of organised consolidated info overload

Wiki - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haswell_(microarchitecture)
Ars Technica - Intel’s high-performance, low-power secret: the Haswell SoC | Ars Technica
MaxPC - haswell | Maximum PC
Engadget - Haswell Articles on Engadget
HardwareZone - Haswell Articles on HWZ, and more here
Techspot - Haswell - TechSpot
CNET - haswell posts on CNET
Anandtech - AnandTech | Haswell
wccftech - You searched for haswell - WCCFtech.com
and so on and on and on etc...

Currently known potential issues thus far
1. CPU/Mobo socket format incompatible with predecessors
2. USB3 S3 errata
3. potential PSU issues with certain power saving CPU states
4. non-soldered IHS, taking into account the new FIVR feature

LGA1150 Motherboards and CPUs have been spotted on sale and web leaks are almost everywhere
By right, NDA. By left, seems anything goes.

Mobos on retail and web
ASUS Official Z87 Motherboard Series
ASUS Intel 8-Series Motherboard Technical Seminar - Going for Gold
Preview: MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming Motherboard - HardwareZone.com ... by Wong Chung Wee
Taobao Haswell Offer!
http://i1236.photobucket.com/albums...k/Z87 Extreme4/Nobao_zpsebb8ff30.png~original (click here if sales link ever goes 404)

CPUs on retail
Buy Intel Processor, Core i7-4770K Processor Upgrades BX80646I74770K today at PC Connection

Leaked Photos/Screenshots
- way too many to list eg. ChinaDIY , wccftech etc...

All Haswell owners and users are warmly welcome to share their photos, screenshots, rigs, findings, benches and clocks etc in this thread.

To be contd...

MacClipper

I voted Yes cos I got to do some Haswell mobo testing as well as move on with the flow of new technology.

:)

snipes14

Yes. Because my motherboard is dying, my main use case (video encoding) will have a tangible benefit, and x264 benefits a lot from the new instructions in Haswell.

Edit: Ditto the reduced power consumption.

P.s.: Isn't "Definitely maybe" an oxymoron? =:p

Edit2: Btw, your opening post is really well laid out, good work MacClipper!

MacClipper

Thanks for noticing and appreciating the intensely careful effort put into phrasing the 1st post. :)

Well, "Definitely Maybe" is for those who like to sit on the fence, you know... there is even a Hollywood movie (and a few TV series) with this name
Definitely, Maybe (2008) - IMDb

Got to cater for the in-betweeners mah. :D

MacClipper

LGA1155/6 Mounting - Proven Compatibility
Ancient Thermalright LGA1155/6 backplate as perfect fit demo

IMG_6147Copy_zpsf44e335a.jpg~original

IMG_6148Copy_zps12405fcb.jpg~original

HTH

MacClipper

1st Blood Mobo Sales Photos From Taobao... And More
Employing the latest beta of Abode Photochop NDA release, these photos were occasionally super enhanced whenever possible to show other viewpoints and close-ups with extra-interpolations.

Zoom_Mobo_zps79fa5344.jpg~original

IMG_6142Copy_zpsbe27fa9f.jpg~original

IMG_6134Copy_zps5a13f3ed.jpg~original

IMG_6135Copy_zps0cd1e6b8.jpg~original

Socket_zps9dffda3d.jpg~original

IMG_6137Copy_zps3088f407.jpg~original

IMG_6138Copy_zps1f9fb1b3.jpg~original

IMG_6140Copy_zps011d197d.jpg~original

Abode (eh-bo-dee) Photochop is not bad, huh?

MacClipper

You are welcome to your viewpoint.

eminus' thread is mainly showcasing mobos to come, this thread is for local forum owners to share their findings and results. I am not sure how many local forum Haswell owners you can count in eminus' thread so far.

If you still can't tell the difference, maybe then it is the same thing for you.

HTH

xkiller213

You are welcome to your viewpoint.

eminus' thread is mainly showcasing mobos to come, this thread is for local forum owners to share their findings and results. I am not sure how many local forum Haswell owners you can count in eminus' thread so far.

If you still can't tell the difference, maybe then it is the same thing for you.

HTH
haha ok then, coz the watermark are all the same...

MacClipper

Alamak, my own m@c watermark must be way too faint for you to see. I just took this photo today so no way you can spot it in any other thread but mine... pengz!

So sad, this photo really no good ah or you really cannot tell my photos from the Taobao ones? :(

Elijahonli

Alamak, my own m@c watermark must be way too faint for you to see. I just took this photo today so no way you can spot it in any other thread but mine... pengz!

So sad, this photo really no good ah or you really cannot tell my photos from the Taobao ones? :(
so far u tested the purity sound yet?

junialum

Maybe for me.

I'm still on a i7 920. I waited for IVB and it wasn't enticing enough to upgrade. Maybe Haswell will be the right time to upgrade.

Waiting for benches first and also avoiding the first batch of chips / chipsets / motherboards.

Calvin.Lee

I will be interested to go for Haswell if I can find the root cause of my desktop issue and sell off my CPU and motherboard... :)

One thing is quite sure is that my CPU and motherboard are not the root cause...:D

yukita

Maybe for me, im looking for ivy-e actually..... But been dragging ....

Dr_ARCHer

I voted yes. Am changing job. Pay is going to be lower, but hours should be more decent. Means more time to play with hardware. But first, need to fix up the 980X ......

iZoneSG

I have to upgrade my system from the aging X58 platform liao. Need more SATA ports... so more hard disks can put in.

tony_ong

Maybe. If the socket is same as ivy den will mostly be yes. But too bad its different. I just got my system not too long ago leh. Maybe 4 to 6 mths old

MacClipper

so far u tested the purity sound yet?
Too early days, no chance for testing yet.

Let me see what I can dig out for you and yet keep within the Now Don't Ask mess.

I will be interested to go for Haswell if I can find the root cause of my desktop issue and sell off my CPU and motherboard... :)

One thing is quite sure is that my CPU and motherboard are not the root cause...:D
iirc, your old nick was something like No Luck Guy.

I voted yes. Am changing job. Pay is going to be lower, but hours should be more decent. Means more time to play with hardware. But first, need to fix up the 980X ......
Bravo!

Maybe. If the socket is same as ivy den will mostly be yes. But too bad its different. I just got my system not too long ago leh. Maybe 4 to 6 mths old
Sadly incompatible as pointed out in post #1

As you know, Intel has been slowly pulling off pins the past few years liao mah 1156 -> 5 -> 0 with total incompatibility in between series.

For the past few months, many had been posting advice to anyone willing to listen that LGA1155 is going EOL soon so hold on if you can, just too bad (or consider AM3+/FM2) if you can't.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.