The LEGO thread [STRICTLY NO SALES!] - Part 11

Recce5

Wah talk about this PP my blood boil. When I got this email (ok ok... I'm overspending), I ignored it a few, maybe 2 times, thinking it's a scam. Then I received a threatening email from them, telling me off in the line of ' we are asking for a very simple thing, is it that difficult to send photo ID proof?' NB, I was ready to bo hew, but then again, if I want to buy stuff then how?

So I called PP. In the end they verified the request and I sent the doc in. Recce bro, call them to verify before sending. Actually I'm pretty surprised you only received it now, seeing your spending!

I registered Paypal in less than a year I think, and only use it for overseas ebay (only a few small orders so far), BW and mums.sg purchases, all my other purchases from Amazon using CC direct.

ShopUSAFreely

I did sent in the Photo ID front and back.So they verified and send me the email. Maybe you may call PP SG to ask for more detail..i am worried later my purchased get blocked..so i fast fast sending in the verification without much thinking..

Paranoid

For the PP thingy i did it a 2 years ago.
No need send NRIC or driving license.
I just sent my starhub bill statement.
Just to verify your address and details.

Disclaimer: not sure if requirements had changed since then till current.
Dun flame me if this does not meet PP requirements

Recce5

Now I'm also a bit boiling.

Called them via my residential phone, they asked for a one time password, which I don't have so requested for my mobile number, which I've entered, should know my details already right? Nope.

Asked for my credit card number, which I entered, now should have all the details to cross reference with my paypal acc? Apparently not.

When the CSO pick up the phone, ask for my name again and also my email address. By now they already have more details of me than my closest friends or even my family members.

On a tehnical level, at this point they have ALL the info to validate my account, period. But no, they still want me to send photos of IC front and back, AND to call them back once I send the files!

Seriously, after I send the files I'm pretty sure their system will pick them up and notify the respective people to do the checking, why even need me to call them back one more time and go through all of the above queries all over again?? :s11:

Out of a score of 10, I would give the customer support experience a... negative 5, and I considered it generous already.

As to the so-called security measure, they waited until someone spent over 7500 for over a time period of a year or longer BEFORE even taking action to validate the account?? If whoever spent the money is a hacker, they would have long gone by now. I have to seriously question the logic, or the apparent lack thereof, of this measure. :s8:

Buckbrick

Now I'm also a bit boiling.

Called them via my residential phone, they asked for a one time password, which I don't have so requested for my mobile number, which I've entered, should know my details already right? Nope.

Asked for my credit card number, which I entered, now should have all the details to cross reference with my paypal acc? Apparently not.

When the CSO pick up the phone, ask for my name again and also my email address. By now they already have more details of me than my closest friends or even my family members.

On a tehnical level, at this point they have ALL the info to validate my account, period. But no, they still want me to send photos of IC front and back, AND to call them back once I send the files!

Seriously, after I send the files I'm pretty sure their system will pick them up and notify the respective people to do the checking, why even need me to call them back one more time and go through all of the above queries all over again?? :s11:

Out of a score of 10, I would give the customer support experience a... negative 5, and I considered it generous already.

As to the so-called security measure, they waited until someone spent over 7500 for over a time period of a year or longer BEFORE even taking action to validate the account?? If whoever spent the money is a hacker, they would have long gone by now. I have to seriously question the logic, or the apparent lack thereof, of this measure. :s8:

When I called, I half expected some ang moh or call centre. But a Malay guy answered and simply asked me to send photo id proof. No Q&A /lie detector test /interrogation.

Recce5

When I called, I half expected some ang moh or call centre. But a Malay guy answered and simply asked me to send photo id proof. No Q&A /lie detector test /interrogation.

The CSO did mention that the measure is by SG government, so I guess non-SG paypal acc will not have this.

Buckbrick

The CSO did mention that the measure is by SG government, so I guess non-SG paypal acc will not have this.

Yeah. It's some gov regulation as monetary transactions are involved. Plus remember PP is not a bank.

ultiminute

Small saga brewing in the SG AFOL facebook page.
Some people Bricklinked the SG50 minibuilds for close friends for <$100 and posted their bulk order arriving.
Meanwhile there was already a mass order organised and being coordinated and the estimated price was ~$140..

Small order needs cheapest bricks only
Big order needs cheapest bricks + less cheaper bricks etc what..

Recce5

Some people Bricklinked the SG50 minibuilds for close friends for <$100 and posted their bulk order arriving.
Meanwhile there was already a mass order organised and being coordinated and the estimated price was ~$140..

For MO if they accepted the price in the first place then no reason to complain?

Especially for BL, there are so many sellers with such a vast range of prices from all over the world at any point in time that there are bound to be differences in final price due to number of BL sellers you buy from, the cost per part, shipping, or even the time you place your order etc not to mention the exchange rate variation.

ultiminute

Admin see liao also find something not right with the comments by those not happy with the price and voiced out in the MO page

3KKerD6.png

rainbow123

For MO if they accepted the price in the first place then no reason to complain?

Especially for BL, there are so many sellers with such a vast range of prices from all over the world at any point in time that there are bound to be differences in final price due to number of BL sellers you buy from, the cost per part, shipping, or even the time you place your order etc not to mention the exchange rate variation.

it actually depend on the view point of the buyers.
If join mass order , the thinking is to join force to get the best deal out of shipping and nego price with the bricklink sellers etc .
So leave sour taste loh. LOL

chiokcc

The $100-140 is for all 4 builds?

Like wat I said in one of my post, you get one of the 4 SG50 minibuilds with $50 purchase. Given that the best discount is ~20% (TRU last offer was 28%). This means I pay ~$10 (=20% of $50) or max of ~$15 (=30% of $50) for each minibuild.

That is why I build during the minibuild period, not spending extra and save time

blacklotus

in edmw , the head got chopped off :eek:
no nerves to speak off . LOL

Depends on whether one wants to be Roberto or not loh. :D

Then again, I sold my 2 free dragon sets with backdrop at 60sgd each to some lady who missed out on the "limited edition" lego backdrop. :crazy:

willing buyer willing seller.

as recce said, prices fluctuate greatly on bricklink. and the forex also fluctuates like mad nowadays.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.