How much money in the bank before this person can quit his job and become full-time investor?

mosaic1979

Can you pass me 1% if I can assure you get 2-3% per annum?
I kid.

Anyway, OCBC 360 can already hit 3% if you fulfil the criteria, most people can fulfil at least 2% there. SO risk free 2 %, why pay private bankers to get?

If you don't mind cpf, it's even a higher guaranteed 3.5% or more depending on where you put your $$.

If I'm paying private banker, I expect him/her to do much better than me. A minimum 6% averaged over 10 years. Come to think of it, STI already returns 8%+...

I think there are some caveats to the options you stated, which limits the amount one can get. ocbc 360 i believe there s a limit? can i put 1 mil and get 30k a year? As for cpf 2.5+ 1 is only for the first 20k of your cpf oa. Besides you can t get your cpf money out until 55, and that is if you fulfil the criterias....

Perisher

I think there are some caveats to the options you stated, which limits the amount one can get. ocbc 360 i believe there s a limit? can i put 1 mil and get 30k a year? As for cpf 2.5+ 1 is only for the first 20k of your cpf oa. Besides you can t get your cpf money out until 55, and that is if you fulfil the criterias....

Yup, almost everything has it's pros and cons. But those 2 option are fail safe. Giving money to private banker isn't. Retiring and taking on risk? So I suggested some of the safest options. CPF, OCBC 360, and if for minimum management investing STI ETF if you DCA, heck you could throw in S&P 500 and DCA too.

cybercom8

Can you pass me 1% if I can assure you get 2-3% per annum?
I kid.

Anyway, OCBC 360 can already hit 3% if you fulfil the criteria, most people can fulfil at least 2% there. SO risk free 2 %, why pay private bankers to get?

If you don't mind cpf, it's even a higher guaranteed 3.5% or more depending on where you put your $$.

If I'm paying private banker, I expect him/her to do much better than me. A minimum 6% averaged over 10 years. Come to think of it, STI already returns 8%+...

ocbc 360 got limit lei...and cpf i try to limit my contribution because who can predict so far into the future with different govts, rules etc.

guess i am not investment material...even cpc asked me to invest and they will help me monitor but in the end also lose money and no picture no sound and now asked me to invest again :(

Perisher

ocbc 360 got limit lei...and cpf i try to limit my contribution because who can predict so far into the future with different govts, rules etc.

guess i am not investment material...even cpc asked me to invest and they will help me monitor but in the end also lose money and no picture no sound and now asked me to invest again :(

You didn't read my reply?

Here:
Yup, almost everything has it's pros and cons. But those 2 option are fail safe. Giving money to private banker isn't. Retiring and taking on risk? So I suggested some of the safest options. CPF, OCBC 360, and if for minimum management investing STI ETF if you DCA, heck you could throw in S&P 500 and DCA too.

IronMac

1 in 10 sinkie are millionaires due to housing boom, if property adjust down 30% down many will fall off the millionaire radar.

Actually, the ratio is much higher...it's 17% of SG households are millionaires and that is defined as investable assets...not including property.

Perisher

Actually, the ratio is much higher...it's 17% of SG households are millionaires and that is defined as investable assets...not including property.

I feel damn poor.

limster

10% is the current figure, down from 17%, so hwmook is correct.

PUBLISHED: 9:26 PM, JUNE 10, 2014
SINGAPORE — Millionaire households in Singapore formed 10 per cent of the population in Singapore last year, down from 17.1 per cent in 2012, according to the latest report from Boston Consulting Group (BCG). The latest findings mean Singapore’s density of millionaire households ranks third globally, behind Qatar at 17.5 per cent and Switzerland at 12.7 per cent.

cybercom8

10% is the current figure, down from 17%, so hwmook is correct.

why the huge drop?? :s22:

is it due to ft leaving? properties didnt really drop so much. stock markets are near all time highs...so how can this be?

focus1974

is it due to ft leaving? properties didnt really drop so much. stock markets are near all time highs...so how can this be?

depends on the definition of millionaire households ..
is it only restricted to singaporeans? or does it include PRs and non-PRs?

If your assumption of high property prices and good stock mkt hold water, then one plausible explanation for the drop from 17% to 10% would be the government have open the flood gates for around 7% of population (ie, around 340k foreigners either new citizens,prs, or non-prs) have come into singapore since then.

so 2012 to 2014... it's around 100+k people coming in .. should be inline with the stats..

frenchbriefs

full time investor as in dividend warrior but with 1 million dollar portfolio so can sit at home shake leg and collect 3k dividend every month?

frenchbriefs

it just mean 154th media and ministry of finance like to gong jiao wei.take all published facts by garmen with a huge pinch of salt.

frenchbriefs

Characteristics of this person:
- 42 years old
- Monthly expense $3800
- In good health so far

As a first guess - I'd say pretty much bang on $1.5 million SGD. Those expenses work out to $45,600 per year; if you use a nice conservative 3% withdrawal rate on $45,600 you get $1.52 million.

Call it two million if you want to be really conservative.

Had I the heaven's embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light;
I would spread the cloths under your feet:

But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

focus1974

oh ..just an afterthought...
TS, you do not really need to do investment in stocks/bonds to get retirement.
I think if you looked at your existing resources...
maybe a fully-paid up HDB? ... you will be able to retire also..
Or if you got a fully-paid up hdb ...and you have the cash... just buy a property when the time is right.

I feel property is a more suitable form of retirement vehicle for most people.

cybercom8

oh ..just an afterthought...
TS, you do not really need to do investment in stocks/bonds to get retirement.
I think if you looked at your existing resources...
maybe a fully-paid up HDB? ... you will be able to retire also..
Or if you got a fully-paid up hdb ...and you have the cash... just buy a property when the time is right.

I feel property is a more suitable form of retirement vehicle for most people.

as in buy property for rental income? a little worried that the property taxes may be raised even higher for owners with a few properties.

on additional properties, say you have $3M to invest, would you recommend buying a $3m unit or 3 $1M units? but absd pay till saio of pick 3 units :(

highsulphur

as in buy property for rental income? a little worried that the property taxes may be raised even higher for owners with a few properties.

on additional properties, say you have $3M to invest, would you recommend buying a $3m unit or 3 $1M units? but absd pay till saio of pick 3 units :(

ABSD will hit in any case....

focus1974

Yes, I believe in timing everything.. :)
Property likewise.. if you asked me.. I would just wait till govt unwind ABSD and other cooling measures (a few measures, not just one). This one is tell-tale signs property market is already near bottom and govt is trying to revive it.

For investment, it all depends.. even for property market, there is sector movements like in stock market. So have to make judgement call on which sector move first and go in that sector and wait.. then that sector moved already... u have to sell and go into another sector and wait.

And if you can only afford 1 unit of $3mil , i would suggest buying 3 units of $1mil or 2 units of $1.5mil. 2 units or more give you more options in terms of allocating your capital. It will not become a decision of ALL or NOTHING as in 1 property.

WindBoi

Minx99

as long as your passive income covers your daily expenses
This is not correct. Your passive income should exceed all your expenses, not just daily expenses plus a buffer for unforseen expenses. This buffer is up to you to vary depending on your comfort level. You also need to be aware that you might make losses in some of your trade. To cut a long story short, few would have the privilige to trade full time, sad but true. C'est La Vie :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.