Wireless IP Camera thread

geckoSG

Never mind, take it that I never asked... Think I'll have to ask Marix to see if factory can improve it... Dr_Archer, your D-Link still working very well for 10x optical zoom?

Fuzzywuz

And Hardcore, you still need to learn some manners. This is a public forum so please do not conduct personal attacks on forum readers. Thanks.

Dr_ARCHer

Never mind, take it that I never asked... Think I'll have to ask Marix to see if factory can improve it... Dr_Archer, your D-Link still working very well for 10x optical zoom?

Both my Dlink DCS-6620 and Level One WCS-2040 have died. They share a common OEM and differs slightly in the firmware. If you look at one of the first few posts in this thread, you can find my comments about the cameras.

Both cameras gave off a lot of heat and since they are on 24/7, I suspect the heat contributed to their death. I had to change the external antennae for both cameras because the plastic became brittle and the antennae dropped off.

My 3 Dlink DCS-5635 are still working, although two of them have speaker/microphone problem.

Core2max

My kids turn off and on the power adaptor of my Ip-cam again... now I could not see from internet (almost a week already)...

I would like to suggest to Vstarcam to improve their free DNS server... I hope they hear the feedback from the customers. Thank you.

geckoSG

Core2max, they r moving away from ddns liao. Now they only keen on the UID PNP technology which uses super client to watch. U try to disable/enable ur DDNS from home n see if it forces an update tp their server.

The default DDNS for T series is not enabled out of factory, now even motion detection is not enabled as well. This was told to me by one of MARIX's tech guy.

Core2max

Thanks for the info geckoSG...

Actually I still have account in dyndns but I am not sure how to config this model...

mg_lim

I have my PT331V replaced but it still has the same problem where recording stops after some time. Found yet another bug: the alarm log time fast forwarded by 10 hours even though the device time shows correct time. Need to reboot to get everything back to normal. Will ask for a refund...

Sambuca78

Hi Experts,

Went to challenger, the DLink 5222l are selling at $259 quite expensive anyone know where can get at a lower price?

And how is Aztech WIPC408HD? I read that there are some drop in the Wifi connection has it been resolve?

Lastly is Aztech easy to configure? I had configured DLink camera before (Port forwarding, DDNS and stuff) and I find it rather easy to configure.

Thanks!

geckoSG

U can consider PnP cameras. Plug in scan n see via mobile. No port forwarding required if u dun need web access. Much simplified to use and easy to resetup if u need to change router often

Dr_ARCHer

Hi Experts,

Went to challenger, the DLink 5222l are selling at $259 quite expensive anyone know where can get at a lower price?

And how is Aztech WIPC408HD? I read that there are some drop in the Wifi connection has it been resolve?

Lastly is Aztech easy to configure? I had configured DLink camera before (Port forwarding, DDNS and stuff) and I find it rather easy to configure.

Thanks!

Mediapro is selling the DCS-5222L at a cash price of $249.

If you are not using the 'cloud-type' of setup, then the Aztech setup is identical to the dlink setup I.e. you configure the DDNS (not needed if you already have it configured for another camera) and the portforwarding rules.

Sambuca78

Mediapro is selling the DCS-5222L at a cash price of $249.

If you are not using the 'cloud-type' of setup, then the Aztech setup is identical to the dlink setup I.e. you configure the DDNS (not needed if you already have it configured for another camera) and the portforwarding rules.

Hi Dr_ARCHer,

Thanks for the reply, I need to configure a IP camera which are able to access via the internet using iPhone or Android therefore DDNS and Port forwarding are needed.

Do you know if the Aztech still having the Wifi drop issue? Do you recommend this camera?

Thanks!

Dr_ARCHer

Hi Dr_ARCHer,

Thanks for the reply, I need to configure a IP camera which are able to access via the internet using iPhone or Android therefore DDNS and Port forwarding are needed.

Do you know if the Aztech still having the Wifi drop issue? Do you recommend this camera?

Thanks!

What DDNS does is to 'assign' your router's public IP to a URL name. Your router only has one public IP. You can have multiple cameras behind your router, but it still only have one public IP. The cameras are distinguished by the ports e.g. camera 001 may be referenced by yourddnsname.homeip.net:50001 while camera 002 may be referenced by yourddnsname.homeip.net:50002. Thus only one DDNS is needed (yourddnsname.homeip.net) but your portforwarding rules would be needed for ports 50001 and 50002. For me for example, I have only one DDNS client, but I have over 20 cameras.

There are many reasons why WiFi will drop. I am not expert enough nor do I have the tools to ascertain the cause of WiFi drop. The drop could be coming from the router side or the camera side. It could be caused by external interference such as channel congestion and even microwave ovens.

I do have the 408 model but haven't set it up to run 24/7, so I do not know if that model has any WiFi drop issue. I do have the older model (402} and that one has the occasional WiFi drop. But then all my cameras have the occasional WiFi drop which requires a power on/off reset. Sometimes, I even have to reset my routers, but that is probably a different story.

Dr_ARCHer

Just noticed that Aztech has a new Homeplug IP camera. In one of my previous posts, I've mentioned that if there is a camera that can work on homeplugs, then we can locate the camera anywhere near a power socket without having to worry about wireless connectivity or Ethernet connectivity. Well, looks liked Aztech has come up with such a design. The model is HIPC700.

geckoSG

Just noticed that Aztech has a new Homeplug IP camera. In one of my previous posts, I've mentioned that if there is a camera that can work on homeplugs, then we can locate the camera anywhere near a power socket without having to worry about wireless connectivity or Ethernet connectivity. Well, looks liked Aztech has come up with such a design. The model is HIPC700.

Actually I saw this design quite a while ago on a Chinese powerline manufacturer, but think it shouldn't be practical due to the design. Why? It is only upright mount direct into the socket, so view down angle will be limited, correct me if I am wrong cos the last I saw about that cam, it cannot be upside down mount. Most new HDB or Private housing have power points near the floor, I don't think we want to see the camera so accessible to babies/children/pets or domestic helpers.

Can the camera do upside down flip of image? Maybe someone who owns it can give us a review of the product.

Dr_ARCHer

Actually I saw this design quite a while ago on a Chinese powerline manufacturer, but think it shouldn't be practical due to the design. Why? It is only upright mount direct into the socket, so view down angle will be limited, correct me if I am wrong cos the last I saw about that cam, it cannot be upside down mount. Most new HDB or Private housing have power points near the floor, I don't think we want to see the camera so accessible to babies/children/pets or domestic helpers.

Can the camera do upside down flip of image? Maybe someone who owns it can give us a review of the product.

From the picture, it shows that the camera can be mounted upside down. The picture also shows that you don't plug the camera directly into the wall socket, but via a cable. In other words, the design of the housing is like the traditional IP cameras.

Googling for the camera, it seems to share the same OEM as Devolo. Devolo was reviewed on the following:

Devolo dLAN LiveCam review | Expert Reviews

geckoSG

I think for WIFI drops, maybe can try to setup a single band (Pure-N) with WPA2-PSK (AES) encryption, this works very well for my IP Cameras that I am using. Seldom have drops unless, I hook up the IP Camera's wireless to do mass downloads.

For me, I dedicate 2 router/AP throughout my house for wireless cameras on Pure-N. This splits the load and ensures I have smoother streaming over 8 cameras on WIFI. 6 cameras on wired.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.