MSI Wind

doody_

Specifications:

Intel Atom 1.6Ghz "Diamondville"
For those of you wondering why CPU-Z shows Silverthorne, read the Wiki entry on Silverthorne: Link
Basically,

On March 2, 2008, Intel announced the new processor (code-named Diamondville) to be used in Classmate PC/Netbook. It is used in Intel's low-cost Mini-ITX motherboards (code-named "Little Falls"). It will supersede Conroe L by using Diamondville as single-core Silverthorne core (4W TDP) or dual-core Silverthorne core (8W TDP) running at 1.6Ghz each.

Also note that it's reported as "Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N270", which further confirms that this is using Diamondville, as that is the code number for Diamondville. Silverthorne will be the Z series.

It has a slower SuperPI 2M timing as compared to the Asus Eee PC (900Mhz Celeron M), but as reported in CPU-Z, Diamondville has 1 core but 2 threads. So we might expect the MSI Wind to perform better while multitasking as compared to the Eee PC. It also seems to have Intel Speedstep, which lowers the clock speed of the processor when idle. This might further help to conserve battery life.

Shelton '08 platform - 945GMS + ICH7M chipset
Intel's site on 945GMS
RAM operates on single-channel, and a maximum of 2GB is supported by this chipset. Only SATA I is supported.

My sample was using Intel 945GME, which supports up to 4GB of RAM. Hence, consider this unconfirmed

1GB RAM (onboard) + 1 free RAM slot
The free RAM slot accepts up to 1GB of DDR2 667Mhz RAM for a total of 2GB RAM.

80GB 5400RPM 2.5" SATA HDD
The model is WD800BEVS - Link

5400RPM HDD, with a 12.0ms seek time. This HDD is running on SATA1 - 1.5Gbits/s. The weight of this is 0.117kg, so it's likely to be one of the major components adding to the weight of the MSI Wind.

1.3MP Webcam

802.11 B/G Wifi (Atheros)
It's using AR5007EG - Link

It's a mini-PCIe card, similar to the one used in the Asus Eee PC. Supports WEP, and WPA in Windows 2K, XP and Vista.

Model not confirmed, but it's a mini-PCIe card, with the antenna running up to the screen.

Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR
The sample is using one from Toshiba.

10.2" WSVGA screen (1024x600 resolution)
LED Backlighting - used by the MacBook Air as well.

3 x USB 2.0 ports
2 on the left and 1 on the right.

1 x RJ45 Ethernet port
Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC - Link

Looks like it's only a 10/100 controller - so no gigabit ethernet for the MSI Wind.

Model not confirmed, but it's definitely a 10/100 controller.

1 x VGA-Out port, Mic-out jack, and Audio-out jack

Built-in stereo speakers (HD Audio) and mic

4-in-1 card reader (SD, MMC, MS, MS Pro)
Unlike the Eee PC, SD cards do not insert fully into the card reader. Approximately half of the SD card will be protruding.

3-cell battery (11.1V, 2200mAh)
3-3.5 hours of battery life with Wifi and Bluetooth switched off
2-2.5 hours of battery life with Wifi switched on

Windows XP Home preloaded
My sample was also running XP Professional, so I'm not too sure what's going to be on the final retail product.

1.1KG with 3-cell battery / 1.3KG with 6-cell battery

Dimensions: 260mm x 180mm x 19-31.5mm

Price: $859
Pink in stock now, black arriving soon.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review of the Singapore MSI Wind sample with the 3-cell battery:

BIOS screenshot
Device Manager
Chipset + Southbridge
SuperPI
HD Tune result
3DMark03 score

A walkthrough for the MSI Wind on a 3-cell battery:

Post 1
Post 2
Post 3
Post 4
Summary Post

Some information on the MSI Wind's battery, and a comparison to the Eee PC's battery:

Post 1

Battery test on the MSI Wind with a 6-cell battery:

Post 1

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

doody_

Close-ups:
Taken from local sample

Resolution.jpg

The MSI Wind next to the 7" Eee PC. You can easily compare the screen size and keyboard size. The MSI Wind has a keyboard that's much wider, and it's a lot easier to type on it. The trackpad of the MSI Wind is about the same size as that of the Eee PC, plus half of the recessed border around it ie it's bigger :).

EeePCandMSIWind.jpg

The Eee PC on top of the MSI Wind, which lets you see the difference in dimensions. The MSI Wind is only slightly bigger than the Eee PC, and this is because Asus wasted a lot of space around the LCD of the Eee PC. While the difference in length is quite obvious, the width is actually quite similar. The curves of the MSI Wind do help to give it an illusion of being smaller than it really is.

SDCardslot.jpg

And finally, SD cards can't be inserted fully into the card slot, so it's rather inconvenient if you want to put a SD card in permanently. Then again, with the 80GB HDD of the MSI Wind, who needs to use a SD card as permanent storage?

Gaddy23

ill have to wait for benchies regarding the battery life. if its 3-4 hours then it would be good. We dont know much about the screen or keyboard. I want a glossy screen! lol. Hmmm 1.6ghz would be really misleading. Intel better advertise it as ULV or something.

idiort

yar,i waiting for benchmark test on processor and batt life but hell,with xp.. damn attractive.. lol

wil1986

why preorder only black and pinkie.. lol.. shd hav blue.. chioer..

but wait till we see black.. mayb nicest of all haha

idiort

no pic of black yet... maybe its glossy?? i dun wan matt i think.. lol...

i saw one website say the 3 cell batt rated 2.5 hrs lehz

doody_

no pic of black yet... maybe its glossy?? i dun wan matt i think.. lol...

i saw one website say the 3 cell batt rated 2.5 hrs lehz

Most of the time the surfaces are all the same. Does the blue, pink and white one look glossy? Then the black probably is :).

billovee

3 cell only 2.5hrs sian liao

Complain complain.........maybe they give us 6 cell.

cancel order

idiort

dunno also.. but then again,there's no real review done yet... so we still have to wait for the real reviews... lol..

doody_

omg. if thats true.. really sian. i was praying for 3hr++ batt life...:slant:

There's always a 6-cell battery... :).

But yes, 2.5 hours of battery life sounds disappointing. Now that the Eee PC 900 has a 5800mAh battery it can hit 3 hours.

idiort

my eeepc 701 with 10400mh batt weigh abt 1.12kg,last 4 hrs only... lol..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.