SIP settings for Starhub Digital Voice

CISC

Upset over the fact that starhub does not allow you to use your preferred SIP phone for your digital voice service? Fret no more! While this is not a method to unlock your IAD, you now have the means to look up your login credentials of your digital voice service, from there you are free to use any SIP device, your nokia phone, softphone or PAP2.

*Username: Your digital voice service phone number
*Authorized username: "to be discovered"
*Password: "to be discovered"
*Network port: UDP 5060
*SIP Proxy/Server/domain:
DV travel: sipproxy1.starhub.com
DV Home: dvrproxy12.starhub.com
Realm: Registered_Subscribers Or Xener.com
Register Expires 600
public username: yourdigitalvoicenumber@sipproxy1.starhub.com

Depending on your SIP phone, you don't really have to fill in all parameters, those with asterisk are required for provisioning of all SIP phones!

How to find out your authorized username & password?
  1. Download cain password recovery tool from http://www.oxid.it/cain.html
  2. (Skip this step if you're using a softphone) Connect both your laptop and your IAD or VoIP cable modem via a network hub. Alternatively, a passive network tap or a cisco switch that support SPAN will work! Do not power up your IAD or VoIP cable modem yet!
  3. Start sniffer on Cain
  4. (Skip this step if you're using a softphone) Power up your IAD or VoIP modem
  5. Sniffer will capture on SIP
  6. Sent to cracker
  7. Go to cracker
  8. Go to SIP Hashes
  9. Set Charset Prefined to 0123456789
  10. Set password length to Min 6 & Max 6 (Digital Voice Travel/Global)
  11. Set password length to Min 8 & Max 8 (Digital Voice Home)
  12. Click start
  13. You'll find you password within 10secs
Enjoy!

Note that G711 codec is required for outbound call to landline/mobile, but if you're calling between Digital Voice numbers, G729 codec is fine. It is recommended to set your 1st codec order to G729 follow by G711 to save bandwidth

Config guide for nokia N/E series phone with built-in SIP client

1. Create and name SIP profile as Digital Voice XXXXXXX (your number)
2. Service profile set to IETF
3. Set default access point to your WIFI at home or whatever
4. Set Public user name to yourdigitalvoicenumber@203.116.2.68
5. Compression: No
6. Registration: when needed (Save battery) You can set to Always but your WIFI will always be switched on
7. Use Security: No

Proxy server address: sip:203.116.2.68
Realm: xener.com
User name: your authorized username
Password: your password
Allow loose routing: Yes
Transport type: UDP
Port: 5060

Registrar server address: sip:203.116.2.68
Realm: Registered_Subscribers
User name: your authorized username
Password: your password
Transport type: UDP
Port: 5060

8. Go to Internet telephone, create profile & set to the sip profile that you've created

And you're good to go!

Many people had PM me on stuffs like whether can use a router or switch...I'll like to set things straight!

You can only use a network hub, a switch that support port mirroring/SPAN feature or just make your own network tap (http://www.instructables.com/id/Make-a-Passive-Network-Tap/)! Regular switch or router will not cut! And if you have no experience with network analysis, you are on your own. Do not expect clear cut answers! And finally, this hack will only work for IADs - Motorola VT1005 or Linksys VoIP devices, it will not work for routers with VOIP features unless somehow you manage to capture traffic through the wan interface which seems quite unlikely for VoIP cable routers.

Update!
If your SIP phone get disconnected every few minutes, that because Starhub has recently migrated to a new softswitch, (Xener Systems.), and some settings has changed. Register Expires Parameter must not be less than 600

At around 5th July 2015, for unknown reason, Starhub reset the logon password and decommissioned DNS servers configured for Motorola VT1005

Thus, you'll have to repeat the procedures above to discover your SIP password

Credits to bkcleung
Instructions for recovering IAD Motorola VT1005:
1) Connect notebook to PC LAN port at the back of the IAD box;
2) Boot up notebook and IAD;
3) Open the webpage at 192.168.102.1/admin.html;
4) Add VOIP DNS server 202.156.1.16 and 202.156.1.38;
5) Save;
6) Reboot;
7) Wait for the IAD to load Starhub Setting during reboot;
8) If it still does not work, open the basic configuration webpage;
9) Add DNS server 202.156.1.16 and 202.156.1.38;
10) Save;
11) Reboot;

richneo

Are you pissed why starhub do not give you, your right to provision and use your own SIP device? Here's a democratic resolution!

*Username: Your digital phone number
*Authorized username: You have to find out
*Password: You have to find out
*Network port: UDP 5060
*SIP Proxy/Server: sipproxy1.starhub.com
Realm: Registered_Subscribers
public username: yourdigitalvoicenumber@sipproxy1.starhub.com

Depending on your SIP device, you don't have to enter all information, those with asterisk are required SIP parameters!

How to find out your authorized username & password?
  1. Download cain password sniffer from http://www.oxid.it/cain.html
  2. Connect both your laptop and your IAD or VoIP cable modem via a network hub. Only network hub will work! Do not power up your IAD or VoIP cable modem yet!
  3. Start sniffer on Cain
  4. Power up your IAD or VoIP modem
  5. Sniffer will capture on SIP
  6. Sent to cracker
  7. Go to cracker
  8. Go to SIP Hashes
  9. Set Charset Prefined to 0123456789
  10. Set password length to Min 6 & Max 6
  11. Click start
  12. You'll find you password within 10secs

Enjoy!

Note that G711 codec is required for outbound call to landline/mobile, but if you're calling within Digital Voice network, G729 codec will work! It is recommended to set your 1st codec order to G729 follow by G711 to save bandwidth

dun think it will work with cable modem wor cos the sip is in the modem itself.. unless there is coaxial hub else i think hard to sniff from cable modem.

for iad i noe its encrypted but hope ur method can decrypt =p

CISC

dun think it will work with cable modem wor cos the sip is in the modem itself.. unless there is coaxial hub else i think hard to sniff from cable modem.

for iad i noe its encrypted but hope ur method can decrypt =p

I affirm that this method works on IAD...you're right...i suspect that it won't work for cable modem as the SIP traffic is within the modem mostly likely...anyway...somebody give it a go and see how it'll turn out.

seowbin

cannot leh, confirm + chop, just tested

can SIC the password u found bo? PM me.. i using cable modem :(

sian half...

seowbin

anyway, i try to register to the proxy directly with my phone number (cable modem's series)

i tio error 404 : address of record not managed

liangtam

Actually ah, its more fun to crack the IAD then the config detail wor...

trigoz

Actually ah, its more fun to crack the IAD then the config detail wor...

Yeah but must know how to do. If something goes wrong, then it will be difficult to restore it back to default settings.

Hope the SIP settings given by TS works. If it does, then it wise to invest on a Linksys VOIP ATA soon.....:s22:

liangtam

IMHO, its the device that needs liberation, afterall the person had paid for it without substantial discount, unlike the case of USA VoIP providers selling even the Linksys PAP2Ts for 20 odds.

yuri2

IMHO, its the device that needs liberation, afterall the person had paid for it without substantial discount, unlike the case of USA VoIP providers selling even the Linksys PAP2Ts for 20 odds.
Just like those who pay for hubstation...you need liberation to get all the channels for free?

CISC

cannot leh, confirm + chop, just tested

can SIC the password u found bo? PM me.. i using cable modem :(

sian half...

Please clarify what do you meant by cannot? Are you able to find any SIP hash using the mentioned tool? Everyone's password & username is unique, therefore my login details will not work on yours.

CISC

anyway, i try to register to the proxy directly with my phone number (cable modem's series)

i tio error 404 : address of record not managed

are you using softphone or SIP device to register? Please post screenshot if possible

seowbin

i using softphone to register, it can't even register cause my number not in the database most likely

the cable modem will directly use sip thru the HFC network liao(that cable thingy)

impossible to send sip packet out using LAN

CISC

i using softphone to register, it can't even register cause my number not in the database most likely

the cable modem will directly use sip thru the HFC network liao(that cable thingy)

impossible to send sip packet out using LAN

Have you already found out your authorized username & password? what softphone are you using to register? with your cable modem connected, you should be able to register and make outbound calls if all your settings are correct.

dk2000

do i really need the voice-enabled modem to make calls or do i just need some other device?

seowbin

Have you already found out your authorized username & password? what softphone are you using to register? with your cable modem connected, you should be able to register and make outbound calls if all your settings are correct.
how u find out? when the sip packets will be send thru HFC network directly??

i did sniffing on lan upon bootup till operating, nothing is found.. no sip packets :(

Wo0t

how u find out? when the sip packets will be send thru HFC network directly??

i did sniffing on lan upon bootup till operating, nothing is found.. no sip packets :(
Seowbin,

don't bother, the voice packets running over the voice modem is not using SIP protocol and its operating on the HFC network and transparent to the ethernet interface presented to us.

seowbin

that's y :(

so TS information is not accurate :s13:

anyway, i already figure out before i test out just that i'm just hoping there is miracle..
cause some routers it's bios(firmware) got bug den during initial bootup, it will bridge both it's interfaces

i'm hoping that will happens :s13:

CISC

do i really need the voice-enabled modem to make calls or do i just need some other device?

it's recommended to get the digital voice travel instead of using the voice-enabled modem because it's not portable. You'll be able to extract your login credentials using the procedure mentioned if you want to use some other device to login to starhub digital voice network.

CISC

Seowbin,

don't bother, the voice packets running over the voice modem is not using SIP protocol and its operating on the HFC network and transparent to the ethernet interface presented to us.

I think the voice modem uses SIP, but it is not exposed to the ethernet interface. It is not cost effective and senseless to maintain two type of voice network.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.