This is why Singaporeans are losing jobs

Gamerz8

Recently a company of a friend was looking for an IT Engineer because the previous engineer left. The person doing the sourcing is a foreigner.

During this time of bad economy, many applications were received, many were from locals as well. Guess what?

They hired a PH fellow & gave him a monthly package of $5K+. Now, it's obvious Singaporeans were not inferior in anyway. I guess the main reason is because an FT was doing the sourcing.

Now, is this what we want for our economy? I'm not against FT but giving jobs away even when local Singaporeans are just as good or even better is not justifiable.

Any of you guys here know of such cases as well?

gamerx

First question that came to mind when I saw the 5k figure. Is that is it an entry level position? For a salary this high, I doubt so. If it's a position requring a certain amount of experience in a specific area, you need to provide the details to justify your claims otherwise it just isn't convincing enough I feel.

chriscel

I didn't know that IT Engineer could get a monthly package of $5K+ nowadays. Over paid lah.... some of co-worker only get $3K+ for the same job. Maybe this PH fellow is talented..

tequila_powered

Recently a company of a friend was looking for an IT Engineer because the previous engineer left. The person doing the sourcing is a foreigner.

During this time of bad economy, many applications were received, many were from locals as well. Guess what?

They hired a PH fellow & gave him a monthly package of $5K+. Now, it's obvious Singaporeans were not inferior in anyway. I guess the main reason is because an FT was doing the sourcing.

Now, is this what we want for our economy? I'm not against FT but giving jobs away even when local Singaporeans are just as good or even better is not justifiable.

Guess, guess, guess on a hearsay could be is as good as a mile. :s11:

Know of hirer a non-citizen, hired a non-citizen; yes. Know if it was case of intentional discrimination by hirer for fellow citizen; dunno.

ps how did you know of someone else's personal confidential information like.....pay package?

tequila_powered

I didn't know that IT Engineer could get a monthly package of $5K+ nowadays. Over paid lah.... some of co-worker only get $3K+ for the same job. Maybe this PH fellow is talented..

Yes, can and more (without revealing details) before CPF. Some worth it, some overpaid. Usually Sr grade and above; but lower grade specialized functions like IT Security Architect may command that too (but personally, I think this part due more to shortage and smoking than due to commensurate experience).

chriscel

Yes, can and more (without revealing details) before CPF. Some worth it, some overpaid. Usually Sr grade and above; but lower grade specialized functions like IT Security Architect may command that too (but personally, I think this part due more to shortage and smoking than due to commensurate experience).

Too bad...i'm not talented....Operator only... no future..:D

gamerx

That's surprisingly good. What does it take to qualify for such positions?

belmont_a

What is the base of your assumptions that he got the job because of FT bias and not because of his talent?

tequila_powered

That's surprisingly good. What does it take to qualify for such positions?

Confluence of many factors

1. Big company (and rich) eg foreign MNCs, banks. Even better if you see adverts for post with names like Staff Engineer at such coys.
2. Specialization
3. Talent
4. Experience (3 and 4 are different hor)

But some ppl do smoke their way in somehow, so may add (5) 5-min-elevator-speech ability?

chriscel

Confluence of many factors

1. Big company (and rich) eg foreign MNCs, banks. Even better if you see adverts for post with names like Staff Engineer at such coys.
2. Specialization
3. Talent
4. Experience (3 and 4 are different hor)

But some ppl do smoke their way in somehow, so may add (5) 5-min-elevator-speech ability?

add (6) carry your boss's ball.:D

Inix

$5K is not difficult if you're doing the right job in the right company, even for IT.

Paper_Dragon

There are a lot of employers who hire foreigners as they are the more economical choice. Hiring them for 5k salary is something new to me. However, I agree that having a FT doing the recruitment does make a difference. I've seen Malaysians pulling in more Malaysians all the time. (I'm not specifically targeting Malaysians. It's just an observation of mine. I guess other FTs may also do the same.)

tequila_powered

add (6) carry your boss's ball.:D
IMO, its a talent to be able to carry your boss's ball :D

talent or cowhide? :D

but conversely, many employees do not understand the difference between not carrying balls and not supporting the boss. It is fine to speak out clearly your objections in direct challenge to your boss but after all the debates and arguments are over and final decision is made by your boss, regardless your opinion against the decision, you have to support your boss to the hilt [except where the actions required are illegal, immoral, unethical and those sorts of thingamajigs]. You won't go far if insubordination [esp covert rearguard/sniping ones] are mainly due to just plain disagreement over opinion. Even your fellow peers may become wary of your backhand-saboteur personality despite generally disagreeing with despotic bosses.

Emo My Ass

Isn't it the same, when you see any estabishment, having a manager or someone with the authority to hire staffs, the in charge will usually hire the people of his/her same race, nationality? Its happening everywhere. Even in my company, those bloody burmese starts recommending their fellow friends all the way from their home country. Basically, EVERY single thing can be link to those retards, procuring, they get from their friends working in another co, outsourcing, same story, transport, basically EVERY bloody thing...

We have to thank our gov for this actually...

NTB2DO

talent or cowhide? :D

but conversely, many employees do not understand the difference between not carrying balls and not supporting the boss. It is fine to speak out clearly your objections in direct challenge to your boss but after all the debates and arguments are over and final decision is made by your boss, regardless your opinion against the decision, you have to support your boss to the hilt [except where the actions required are illegal, immoral, unethical and those sorts of thingamajigs]. You won't go far if insubordination [esp covert rearguard/sniping ones] are mainly due to just plain disagreement over opinion. Even your fellow peers may become wary of your backhand-saboteur personality despite generally disagreeing with despotic bosses.

Employees yearn for understanding and supportive bosses, similarly, bosses also yearn for understanding and supportive staffs.. No diff one lor..

windwaver

Isn't it the same, when you see any estabishment, having a manager or someone with the authority to hire staffs, the in charge will usually hire the people of his/her same race, nationality? Its happening everywhere. Even in my company, those bloody burmese starts recommending their fellow friends all the way from their home country. Basically, EVERY single thing can be link to those retards, procuring, they get from their friends working in another co, outsourcing, same story, transport, basically EVERY bloody thing...

We have to thank our gov for this actually...

I have to agree with this. Seen an entire IT dept turned from chinese to indians :s13:. Nothing against them but it's how it works when your head is not local.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.