isky Fly & Drive Hokkaido

isky

Hi guys, just to share some pictures & experiences of my recent trip with everyone here. :)

After much preparations, took the plunge last month and brought my family for a 18-days Fly & Drive trip to Hokkaido and Tokyo.

Our Itinerary
May26 - Night flight from Singapore.
May27 - Tokyo Haneda.
May28 - Monbetsu - Kamiyubetsu Tulip Park
May29 - Biei (drove from Monbetsu) - Takinoue Moss Pink Park.
May30 - Biei - Farm Tomita, Biei's Panorama Route.
May31 - Biei - Patchwork Route, Asahikawa city.
Jun01 - Sapporo (train from Biei) - Sapporo city.
Jun02 - Sapporo - Otaru.
Jun03 - Sapporo - Old Govt House, Clock Tower, Sapporo TV Tower, Odori Park, Shiroi Koibito Park.
Jun04 - Noboribetsu (drove from Sapporo) - Hell Valley, Onsen Street.
Jun05 - Hakodate (drove from Noboribetsu) - Hiyoriyama, Lake Kuttara, Lake Toya.
Jun06 - Hakodate - Goryokaku, Trappistine Convent, Mt Hakodate.
Jun07 - Hakodate - Hakodate Asaichi, Kanemori Red Brick Warehouse.
Jun08 - Tokyo (fly from Hakodate) - Shinjuku.
Jun09 - Tokyo - Akihabara, Asakusa.
Jun10 - Tokyo - Lake Kawaguchi (Mt Fuji).
Jun11 - Tokyo - Ueno, Tokyo Tower.
Jun12 - Tokyo - Tsukiji, Nakano.
Jun13 - Fly back to Singapore.

Transit - Haneda

On Day 1, flew to Narita then transferred to Haneda by bus.
Spent the night at Haneda Terminal (Tokyu Excel) and flew to Hokkaido the next morning.

p1000861l.jpg

A380, always a pleasure :D

p1000973y.jpg

Haneda Terminal 2. You'll only find ANA, Airdo etc here, JAL is at Terminal 1.

p1010012g.jpg

First time I can see planes landing & taking off right from my room.
Refreshing! :D

isky

First Stop - Monbetsu

Monbetsu airport is very small, only 1 flight a day from Haneda.
The reason we chose to fly here is becos it's nearest to our destinations - Kamiyubetsu Tulip Park.

p1010090m.jpg

Shot from the plane, it was drizzling and only 4 degrees celsius!

p1010102pi.jpg

p1010108c.jpg

My ride for the next 3 days. The model made famous by a director here. :D

p1010098.jpg

Nipon Rent-a-car and Toyota Rental are the 2 most common car rental agencies.
You can find them in all major cities, usually conveniently located near JR stations and airports.

isky

Kamiyubetsu Tulip Park
http://www.town.yubetsu.lg.jp/tulippark/index.htm
Mapcode: 404 489 729

After picking up the car, drove to our first destination directly from airport, only about 30min away.
It was still drizzling and freezing cold when we got here but the view was just too spectacular to be missed.

p1010280o.jpg

p1010239u.jpg

p1010145.jpg

p1010163j.jpg

p1010195eh.jpg

The best time to visit the Tulip Park is around the period May 20th to June 6th each year.

isky

Spent the night at Monbetsu Prince Hotel, one of only three major hotels in this small city. Monbetsu Prince is known for their natural onsen hot spring.

p1010370o.jpg

Picture shot the morning after cos previous night too cold & forgot to take pic.

p1010326sv.jpg

Not many other guests at the hotel except a group of high school students on excursions.

p1010336m.jpg

Monbetsu is known for the famous Hokkaido crabs but we didn't place our orders in advance. :(
The bento doesn't look like much but tasted great, especially after a long day out in the cold! :D

isky

Takinoue Moss Pink Park
http://www.town.takinoue.hokkaido.jp/
Mapcode: 570 699 352

Next morning, headed out for the Moss Pink Park at Takinoue-cho, about an hour's drive from Monbetsu.

p1010469n.jpg

p1010419i.jpg

p1010635o.jpg

p1010689pb.jpg

p1010537ss.jpg

It's really a beautiful place, worth the time and trouble we took to go all the way there.

droozy

OOOO!!!! I like the tulips and the pink moss also aimming at tat ! Envy u !! dun know when I can go for 18days trip in Hokkaido.. the most i did was 11 days in hokkaido..

isky

OOOO!!!! I like the tulips and the pink moss also aimming at tat ! Envy u !! dun know when I can go for 18days trip in Hokkaido.. the most i did was 11 days in hokkaido..

11 days good enough lah, the 18 days include 5 days in tokyo, so it's actually only 13 days in hokkaido :D

droozy

oh haaa... i email u numerous questions leh.. post more photos ! all so nice and pretty !

stars87

+1.

dont mind me. im bookmarking this page. its nice. keep the pictures coming :D

isky

Thank you for your kind words, guys. :)

More pictures coming right up.

fuschia

very nice pictures. the flowers are so lovely, especially the tulip. hope can see such nice flowers when i go to hokkaido next year (hopefully). :)

fuschia

may I ask if haneda airport sells japanese tidbits (e.g. tokyo banana, royce, etc)? those that can be found in narita airport?

VD

When I was at the tulip park, I only saw the leaves :( and no pink moss too

isky

may I ask if haneda airport sells japanese tidbits (e.g. tokyo banana, royce, etc)? those that can be found in narita airport?

Haneda (local nickname: Big Bird) is a big busy airport, there are many shops selling many types and brands of 銘菓.
Here are pics of just a few shops that I saw at Terminal 2, there are more there and in Terminal 1 too.

p1000890r.jpg

p1010036.jpg

p1010022zv.jpg

p1010032y.jpg

isky

When I was at the tulip park, I only saw the leaves :( and no pink moss too

You must have been there in the earlier part of May?

I probably know how you feel. Biei/Furano were so bare & barren during this trip compared to my previous visit (July).
The best time to see flowers in Hokkaido is still July/August.

VD

no choice, was there for sakura.. so can't have everything so perfect :p

Chitose airport has alotsa local products at their departure.. great for last min shopping

isky

Biei 美瑛
http://www.biei-hokkaido.jp/en/index.html
Mapcode: 389 010 626

After seeing moss pink, we drove abt 2 hours to reach Biei, our pit stop for the next 3 days.

Biei is a nice little town located between the more metropolitan Asahikawa and the more famous Furano.
Known for its beautiful landscapes, friendly locals and local produce (milk, wheat), it's a favorite among many backpackers & DIY travelers.

p1030271.jpg

Town central, just next to the JR station.

p1010895h.jpg

You can actually see the alps in the background.

p1030168x.jpg

p1030805st.jpg

Biei JR station

p1030860yo.jpg

Biei Town Office

p1030383d.jpg

Spent the next 3 nights at this peaceful lovely hotel - Hotel Lavenir
http://www.biei-lavenir.com/

p1030211q.jpg

Simple but delicious breakfast served by the hotel, made with locally produced ingredients.

fuschia

thanks, isky for the info and pictures. me will be travelling via haneda. good to know that i can get my food stuff when departing from the airport :)

isky

Farm Tomita ファーム富田
http://www.farm-tomita.co.jp/en/index.html
Mapcode: 349 276 743

Farm Tomita at NakaFurano, is one of the most famous landmark of Biei/Furano during summer, at the peak of the floral bloom.
There is no admission charge at Farm Tomita, which make it a hotspot for tourist buses.

If you've going there by JR train, the nearest train station is the Lavender Station, which is only operational from early June to end Sep iirc, better check the JR East website for the actual dates.
If you're driving, Tomita is slightly less than an hour's drive from Biei. There are several car parks at Tomita, just dont park at the main entrance as there will many tourist buses.

p1020163k.jpg

Was there end May, not the best time, only a few rows of flowers in full bloom.

p1020156kt.jpg

p1020154d.jpg

p1020227q.jpg

p1020235.jpg

p1020330.jpg

In the greehouse

p1020378f.jpg

Nice view of the alps 十勝岳 from Tomita

p1020353v.jpg

One of my favorite shots

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.