Apple reporting earnings tmrw....

cybercom8

I've been holding AAPL for decades. It is still the 800 lb gorilla in my portfolio.

But, I am wondering how much longer it can keep on leading the industry?

:eek: you must be multi millionaire then just from apple shares :)

it will keep leading if it continues to have a good flow of products in the pipeline..."problem" with apple is that they are very secretive about new products etc...unless those big mouth companies who like to announce their vaporwares

Perisher

I've been holding AAPL for decades. It is still the 800 lb gorilla in my portfolio.

But, I am wondering how much longer it can keep on leading the industry?

You don't have to wonder, because it will be very obvious when sales of iphones drop. It will be like nokia obvious. Not enron that kind.
In the mean time, keep collecting dividends bah.

But not leading is quite a far fetch idea considering how far ahead in sales it is.
And even in the event that it becomes a stagnant company, it will be like microsoft, sleeping giant.
Cash rich companies has nothing much to worry.

Keverus

actually my dbs vichers can buy..but dun wann pay the commission :s13::s22:

btw apple price considered as high now???

and do u guys actually receives the dividends from us stocks? :s11:

got withholding tax rite? i treat it as dont have de. purely look at capital gain:o

Keverus

Actually, stocks like AAPL has been talk to death in seeking alpha... the number of articles and comments defending the bulls and bears are already all in there. Just whether you are hardworking enough to sift through.

Long term, I hold AAPL, cash rich till dunno what to do, finally start gaving dividend, gonna be the start of a dividend champion. If you are young, and the story doesn't change, just start accumulating now. 20 years later, YOC sure hit a decent sum de.

dangerous statement..no offence.

look at, for eg, Creative. last time touted best best best, sure bet, end up now? most tech companies have pretty short lifespans. if u check, unit trusts that were tech-based (a very common theme back in the 2000s), are mostly still sitting in the red after 2 decades.

mikezuper

look at, for eg, Creative. last time touted best best best, sure bet, end up now? most tech companies have pretty short lifespans. if u check, unit trusts that were tech-based (a very common theme back in the 2000s), are mostly still sitting in the red after 2 decades.

Comparing apple and creative is also dangerous.

Apple new product usually combine stickiness and $$. Look at Apple pay using nfc.

Nfc is at least 5 years technology but apple won't release its feature unless it has good use and $$ on it and try to stay relevant.

Perisher

Where did I say it is best best best or anything like that?
Btw, dividend champions are those who gave dividends for more than 25 years. I don't mean Apple is a champion. I also gave a caveat being that only if the story doesn't change.

I tend to be conscious of making my statement positive but always with a caution. But I'm still glad got people come out to warn against overly-bullish or bearish views. Must always keep perspective.

Bedokian

Don't forget back in the mid 90s, Apple was in the dumps, and the return of Steve Jobs brought the company back with the colourful iMacs and finally, the iPods (and also the oft-quoted rescue by Microsoft). During his tenure, he never declared dividends, becoming a cash rich company, and the rest is history.

Now, even after the passing of Jobs, Apple continues to be one of the tech innovators (forget about Android vs iOS for now) and a branding which everyone wants to emulate.

When I first stepped into the world of stocks and shares, Apple was the first counter that I looked at and bought (and sold just a few months later with a profit). The fundamentals and future potential is huge, and thus when I researched and overhauled my portfolio back in 2013 I had selected AAPL as one of the four counters for entry level exposure to the US market. I re-entered AAPL right after the 1 to 7 split and have been accumulating ever since.

Perisher

Quite decent yield lei...my fren's dividends from apple almost $30k, after withholding tax

1.69% only if you buy now and that's before tax... Even OCBC 360 can give u 3% and no tax. Not decent at all. He got 30k div, depends on how much capital he used and how early he bought the stock.

Yxy

AAPL blowout earnings...currently at $115 in after hours trading.
maybe can see $120 this week...

swgj86

:eek: you must be multi millionaire then just from apple shares :)

it will keep leading if it continues to have a good flow of products in the pipeline..."problem" with apple is that they are very secretive about new products etc...unless those big mouth companies who like to announce their vaporwares
but hor .. i think in 2013 and at least first half of 2014, those doomsday articles about Apple ... got the share prices dropping like flies ..

if you recall, it even hit 400 briefly before the stock split despite Apple announcing strong earnings quarter after quarter. then in the lead up to the launch of the iPhone 6 models, the stocks rebounded.

what i learnt from the past three years is that u really needs to stand firm in your belief of the company u buy into. the market sentiment may be wrong, but as long as the fundamentals of the company are strong, it will ride through.

Perisher

why did it drop to 109.14? the earning is a new high...

time to buy?

It drop because the whole US is dropping yesterday and before the earning news which may also cause some to believe the result not good. Then today it rise back lor.
*hintsight*

frenchbriefs

im not a stock speculator but is it a good idea to hold some stock in apple,facebook,google etc?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.