Sheng Siong *Official* (SGX: OV8)

stallony

im new to sgx, only recently read up quite abit, seeking advice from gurus here.so is now the best time to buy sheng siong?

Steyr69

im new to sgx, only recently read up quite abit, seeking advice from gurus here.so is now the best time to buy sheng siong?

you seeking dividends?

i dun see much potential upside....but I'm thinking of hooting 2 lots for keeps.
40c...looks attractive.

Wood4

ShengSiong is giving too much out of its TV lucky draws .
1000x , 100x ?
I don't mind if it makes hundreds of million profit per year.

Some-one

My heart bleed whenever I see them giving 6 or 5 figures amount of money every week. :(

Steyr69

Hooted 2 lots today @ 40c.

My strategy is now is buy mixed bag liao.....very scared punted in one stock n it slides....
The temptation is always great to buy more lots when see those < $2 div stocks.....but seeing there are many selections on offer...it is best i keep diversify.

Yup...I see the 100x 1000x.....also makes me want go SS buy groceries.....but my house nearby is only ntuc n ShopnSave.....no point.

But isn't this a good indication they can sustain the high div?

cheong79

ShengSiong is giving too much out of its TV lucky draws .
1000x , 100x ?
I don't mind if it makes hundreds of million profit per year.

brother, you go see SGX anoucement. director give out 30k lots share as gift.

the dividend was $17.7 per lot.

divide by 400$ and x 100% = 4.4% yield.

Some-one

Hooted 2 lots today @ 40c.

My strategy is now is buy mixed bag liao.....very scared punted in one stock n it slides....
The temptation is always great to buy more lots when see those < $2 div stocks.....but seeing there are many selections on offer...it is best i keep diversify.

Yup...I see the 100x 1000x.....also makes me want go SS buy groceries.....but my house nearby is only ntuc n ShopnSave.....no point.

But isn't this a good indication they can sustain the high div?

Dividends can be cut and I remember in the prospectus that they promise a high dividend payout ratio for the first year only.

Steyr69

Dividends can be cut and I remember in the prospectus that they promise a high dividend payout ratio for the first year only.

oh....i buy liao.....2 lots nia....not 20 lots.....
next time i can go their AGM n grill them.....:s22:

I read up a bit on this co. In their prospectus, they mentioned dividends up to 90% of net profit after tax for FY2011 and FY2012, future dividends depending on operating results, etc. They have already declared a first and final dividend of 1.77 cents which will be paid in end May.

The 30 m shares were gifts from the owners to the executive director by way of share transfer, so there is no dilution of shares.

I feel Sheng Siong is more recession-proof since everyone needs to buy groceries, their goods are not the high end type, should be more demanded in bad times, thus might generate decent profit with volumes, although analysts have based on their 1st quarter results to comment that the margin % is low.

Lately, many share prices are dropping, today especially almost all counters are dropping. I guess it is best for conservative investors especially to spread out our risks and not to dump too many lots in one counter. We also have to have holding power to ride out the bad times, as we do not know when it is the bottom and when the bad times are over. So invest carefully, don't gamble.:)

Steyr69

They have already declared a first and final dividend of 1.77 cents which will be paid in end May.

Lately, many share prices are dropping, today especially almost all counters are dropping. I guess it is best for conservative investors especially to spread out our risks and not to dump too many lots in one counter. We also have to have holding power to ride out the bad times, as we do not know when it is the bottom and when the bad times are over. So invest carefully, don't gamble.:)

Means no more dividend for 2012?
knn....$800 wasted.

Yup...I agree with you....spread out the $ to buy different counters.

Some-one

2 lot is not a lot and it is true that people would need to buy groceries even during a recession but I just find it difficult to accept that they basically market their brand by throwing huge money to the customers and it's like 1 year 3 times. There should be better ways to improve their business. Cold storage, NTUC, Prime don't go to such extent to attract customers. Key consideration should be store location.

Of course, I would be happy if I am a winner for the game show but on the other side, if I am the shareholder, I would be unhappy. I was wondering where they are going to classify the bai bei and qian bei expenses. Under marketing? If that is the case, one should be mindful on this volatile expenses in their financial statements.

Wood4

brother, you go see SGX anoucement. director give out 30k lots share as gift.

the dividend was $17.7 per lot.

divide by 400$ and x 100% = 4.4% yield.

If I am not wrong , he was the 1 staff who rejuvenated old ShengSiong .

Hong Fok as reported in the news , untouchable for my $.

Paul Lee

I see a lot of negative connotations on the Sheng Siong Show and the seemingly obscene amount of prices being paid. If you look at it from a marketing pt of view, it may be precisely that the 'lure' of winning 'bai bei and qian bei' is not only enticing people to shop at Sheng Siong but to spend more. So it may be money well spend in the end.

Honestly if you ask me, I doubt the group of people being 'lured' will be significant or in large numbers to make a significant difference to the bottomline.

All the supermarkets seems to be doing well regardless of whether its NTUC, Cold Storage, SS, SnS or Giant. Whichever chain I visit, no matter where I am, there always seems to be an endless queue at the cashier. So maybe the difference between the different chains are not very big to begin with.

Of cos each will have its 'die-hard' supporters but I suspect most people will just shop out of convenience. (Not vested)

Wood4

Do give cash prizes but need not give hundreds of thousand
, esp grocery retailer .
$5k as 1st prize is more than enough.

Not many of us shop at ShengSiong just hoping to win 1000x.

Dividends Warrior

I see a lot of negative connotations on the Sheng Siong Show and the seemingly obscene amount of prices being paid. If you look at it from a marketing pt of view, it may be precisely that the 'lure' of winning 'bai bei and qian bei' is not only enticing people to shop at Sheng Siong but to spend more. So it may be money well spend in the end.

Honestly if you ask me, I doubt the group of people being 'lured' will be significant or in large numbers to make a significant difference to the bottomline.

All the supermarkets seems to be doing well regardless of whether its NTUC, Cold Storage, SS, SnS or Giant. Whichever chain I visit, no matter where I am, there always seems to be an endless queue at the cashier. So maybe the difference between the different chains are not very big to begin with.

Of cos each will have its 'die-hard' supporters but I suspect most people will just shop out of convenience. (Not vested)

Thats why instead of buying the stocks of supermarkets, I prefer to buy the stocks of companies producing the goods in supermarkets. Hehehe =:p

Vested in Procter & Gamble (P&G). :D
Some of the brands of P&G:
- Gillette
- SK II
- Olay
- Oral B
- Head & Shoulder's
- Herbal Essence
- Vidal Sassoon
- Wella
- Pantene
- Cover Girl makeup
- Pampers
- Duracell
- Febreze
:s12:

Spirax

Sheng Siong ipo 1yr later, giving dividend and money x1000 giving, maybe having more tax rebate.

athletic91

5 days ago , i was in the red about $3000, today i sold off my lots for a profit of $3k plus

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.