Makan and Shopping Trip to Bangkok

twtan14

Sesame & Soy Pork Salad did not left an impression as the pork wasn't tender and more toward dry.

118-Dine_7.JPG

Crispy Soft Shell Crab Salad - But it wasn't crispy already by the time we ate it. This kind of dish is best served on the spot after making it.

119-Dine_7.JPG

Glass Noodle Salad with Minced Pork & Shrimp

120-Dine_7.JPG

The single dish I liked best of the night was this Chang Mai Chicken Curry. Unlike our spicy curry, this was was a little bit sweetish and the boneless chicken was very tender and absorbed all the flavours of the spices. Best eaten with bread or rice.

121-Dine_7.JPG

OKCATYEON

Where you buy those vouchers? Can SIC? May be useful for my december trip there :D

twtan14

Bread Station - Limited selection to choose from.

122-Dine_7.JPG

Roast Pumpkin & Carraway Chunks

123-Dine_7.JPG

A view of the buffet spread - The salad station does have a wide range of condiments.

124-Dine_7.JPG

The Dessert Station had some nice gems for the sweet tooth but more of that later.

125-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

Oreo Cheese Cake - This does look kind of soggy to me.

126-Dine_7.JPG

Prune Cake - Don't like preserved prune so I skipped this.

127-Dine_7.JPG

Taro Cake

128-Dine_7.JPG

Hazelnut Cake

129-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

Lemon Cream Cake

130-Dine_7.JPG

They used the coconut juice to make the jelly for this Coconut Tart which also have generous amount of coconut flesh in it. Best of all the pastry shell was still firm and not soggy.

131-Dine_7.JPG

Chocolate Rum Ball - The alcohol taste wasn't too strong so you can still savour the dark chocolate which coated the inside of your mouth. Plus the almond flakes gave it the extra crunch.

132-Dine_7.JPG

Watermelon Jelly, Cherry Pannacotta & Mango Yoghurt Jelly

133-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

Assortment of Exotic Thai Sweets

134-Dine_7.JPG

Apple Strudel - This was in a covered container so I guess the pastry would have been softened due to steam.

135-Dine_7.JPG

Assorted Fresh Fruits - They even took time to cut some designs onto the fruits themselves, nice. Pineapple and jambu are also very sweet.

136-Dine_7.JPG

Ice Creams - Four flavours were available and they are clockwise from top right: Taro, Mocha Chip, Lemon Sherbet and Chocolate. They are far too soft to the point of almost turning into liquid when you scooped them into the bowl. I only tried the Lemon Sherbet which was on the sweet side rather than sourish.

137-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

Flora Arrangement

138-Dine_7.JPG

Complimentary Red Wine - Each diner was entitled to an glass of beer, white or red wine. Since some of our dining companions does not drink, so I got to down two glass.

139-Dine_7.JPG

Confit Duck Legs, Smoked Salmon & Leek Pancake, Steamed Dory Fillets and Beef Borginon

140-Dine_7.JPG

Smoked Duck Breast with Blueberry - Interesting combination of both salty and sweet ingredients but it doesn't came across as exciting as it look in the taste department.

141-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

Chang Mai Chicken Curry and Bread - Mildly spicy and sweetish to the taste, this goes very well with the bread I had in there. One of the better dishes of the night if not the best.

142-Dine_7.JPG

BBQ Big Head Prawns - Peeling away the shell revealed a small tiny flesh which was at best soft and toward powdery. Not a good sign of freshness.

143-Dine_7.JPG

BBQ Slipper Lobsters or crayfishes which you called it. Although the texture was firm but it had a very "fresh" taste which was far too overpowering. You need some heavy sauces to mask that taste.

144-Dine_7.JPG

BBQ Beef - There are two types of beef for BBQ but I can't remember the name. The whiter beef was to dry to be edible while darker one fared much better.

145-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

BBQ Sausage, Slipper Lobster and Big Head Prawn

146-Dine_7.JPG

BBQ Beef - My dining companions asked for the fatty cuts and medium doneness.

147-Dine_7.JPG

148-Dine_7.JPG

Chicken and Seafood Skewers - These were so bland, it had no seasoning at all.

149-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

Chocolate Rum Ball, Coconut Tart and Luk Chup

150-Dine_7.JPG

These miniature versions of various kinds of fruits and vegetables are called Luk Chup. This dessert whose name translates as "dipped fruits" are made from a mixture of mung bean, sugar and coconut milk. They're coated with a thick jelly that forms a skin on the fruit. The bright colors come from natural pigments like turmeric for yellow and screwpine for green. In my opinion, I do not find them nice to eat.

151-Dine_7.JPG

152-Dine_7.JPG

Coconut Tart - A well made dessert with coconut jelly and coconut flesh in it. Topped with a dollop of whip cream and sprinkled with grated coconut. I had a few of this wonderful tarts.

153-Dine_7.JPG

twtan14

Dark Chocolate Tart - Another very yummy dessert. The dark chocolate was mild bitter and not too sweet plus the pastry shell buttery.

154-Dine_7.JPG

Mango Yoghurt Jelly

155-Dine_7.JPG

Assorted Fresh Fruits - Nothing better but sweet juicy fruits to end the buffet.

156-Dine_7.JPG

Overall this wasn't a good experience for us, the foods was just average at best though service was good. My appetite doesn't seem to be healthy that night maybe due the types of foods or was still tired from the late night.

Since the night was still young, we decided to check out some of Bangkok's night scenes and to aid with the digestion so off we goes to the nearest BTS station.

157-Bangkok.jpg

Toons

At 5.30pm, we met up to go for our dinner. To our surprise, my friend came back with a 800 baht worth of "birdnest". Mind you, we are not talking about the edible birdnest here but the one on his head, err... hairdo. :D Apparently, some miscommunication due to language barrier resulted in the hairstylist perming his hair.

Well, at least i can say i had birdnest in BKK =:p Ppl eat liao, pass out the next day. I get to bring mine back to SG :s13:

twtan14

BTS - From the few days I was there, their train frequency seem to be much faster than ours, not to mention the aircon was so much cooler. And it was also not as packed as our trains during peak hours. Thumbs up for their clean, efficient and cool train system.

158-Bangkok.jpg

As it was a warm night, we popped in to Starbucks for a drink. This was one of the drink we had - Red Bean + Green Tea Frappuccino Blended Beverage. Thanks to my friend's sister for the treat.

159-Bangkok.jpg

Passed by a roadside hawker selling these Deep Fried Grasshoppers. I wouldn't try it even if you gave me a million bucks. :s16:

160-Bangkok.jpg

One of the Japanese restaurant had a Godzilla model outside the front entrance.

161-Bangkok.jpg

As it was getting late, we parted ways and called it a night.

End of Day 2

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.