WheelThatFails

this will show the ******* bas.tard there is no such thing as globalization

china is playing protectionism

zoossh

As long as ah dou still here....we all know what happens.

What I mean is whatever else he says is inconsequential.

If a robber is out to rob u, he will do so regardless of whether u smile or not. Saying the wrong things may spite more violence. But that doesn't mean you should walk into the dark alley to be robbed.

Savantrainmaker

if you imagine a country torn and hurt by invasion, immediately invade another country once their own war ends, you know what kind of mentality these people have. And to be completely unremorseful and to be angry at others pointing for the truth, it's speaks volume.

Despite of all the apparent benefits, some of the unreasonable political terms are going to be on the table or under the table. It's basically having to give up our sovereignty in south east Asia. They are already asking us to break ties with taiwan and claiming international sea as theirs. If such ridiculous requests had already surface, we are complete idiots if we insist that things will not worsened.

See, the crux of the issue is this:

Singapore has consistently abided by 'One China policy': DPM Teo

Singapore and China have a common interest in building a peaceful and growing region, and this is 'much greater than any occasional differences of views', DPM Teo says.

26 Feb 2017 09:00PM

SINGAPORE: Singapore has consistently abided by its "One China policy" and been a consistent friend and supporter of China's peaceful development, said Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean in a written interview that was published on Sunday (Feb 26).

To be respected on the international stage and as a small island-state, Singapore's actions need to be consistent with her words, period.

Under LHL's administration, Singapore is seen by international observers as the "two-headed snake"; but before that during LKY's and GCT's administration, Singapore was known as "the interlocutor between US-China, who walked the tight rope, engaging and balancing both sides delicately".

See the subtle difference?

zoossh

Yes, Singapore needs to take a strong stance on the SCS issue, ensure our commercial trade routes remain open and not be cowed by China.

I will 100 percent agree with you on the rest of your post that a lot of things should not have been done but I do not think that china will be any much different if we did the above.

On the contrary, many had been using that as an excuse, hoping that the commercial trade routes to be surrendered.

Savantrainmaker

What I mean is whatever else he says is inconsequential.

If a robber is out to rob u, he will do so regardless of whether u smile or not. Saying the wrong things may spite more violence. But that doesn't mean you should walk into the dark alley to be robbed.

No, the public words and actions of a national leader is paramount!

When LKY and even GCT were not comfortable with the US' or China's policies or actions affecting Singapore, they reached out via the diplomatic channels, secured line phone calls.

Or if the situation warrants it, take a direct flight there, play a game of golf to trash out the issue or convey their concerns personally and directly; but all away from the public eye.

Come LHL's time, just observe his style of communications.

Instead of personal contact, he joked about China publicly in Washington, warned China of its vulnerabilities in Tokyo, mocked that the world no longer revolved around the "Middle Kingdom" in Peru.

These are all very offensive public words and actions from a national leader, and all the more offensive to the Chinese who had regarded Singapore as a friend since Deng Xiao Ping's time.

To the Chinese, LHL is just a two-headed coward who don't even dared to make personal contact and chose to use stand-off mockery, veiled threats and conduct international diplomacy via the loud-hailer.

zoossh

See, the crux of the issue is this:

To be respected on the international stage and as a small island-state, Singapore's actions need to be consistent with her words, period.

Under LHL's administration, Singapore is seen by international observers as the "two-headed snake"; but before that during LKY's and GCT's administration, Singapore was known as "the interlocutor between US-China, who walked the tight rope, engaging and balancing both sides delicately".

See the subtle difference?

I think sg should follow the Swiss in being neutral and stay out of the us-china relationship.

We should be open to trades with anyone. We should be free to make diplomatic links with anyone other than a terrorist regime. We should be free to build defense partnership with anyone other than a terrorist state the same as any company free to employ guards from any security agency company. All these are not taking sides

We can recognize that there is only one china but whether tw is or not a part is not our business nor our obligation to deal with. If Indonesia is to force on us one day, the only thing that can be wrong is if we name ourself as the true representation of Indonesia. Sometimes people turn a blind eye in order to protect themselves. it is a different story when you step in to aid the perpetrators

greenbubble

No, the public words and actions of a national leader is paramount!

When LKY and even GCT were not comfortable with the US' or China's policies or actions affecting Singapore, they reached out via the diplomatic channels, secured line phone calls.

Or if the situation warrants it, take a direct flight there, play a game of golf to trash out the issue or convey their concerns personally and directly; but all away from the public eye.

Come LHL's time, just observe his style of communications.

Instead of personal contact, he joked about China publicly in Washington, warned China of its vulnerabilities in Tokyo, mocked that the world no longer revolved around the "Middle Kingdom" in Peru.

These are all very offensive public words and actions from a national leader, and all the more offensive to the Chinese who had regarded Singapore as a friend since Deng Xiao Ping's time.

To the Chinese, LHL is just a two-headed coward who don't even dared to make personal contact and chose to use stand-off mockery, veiled threats and conduct international diplomacy via the loud-hailer.

That joker has never really step out of the ivory tower. With no common sense, he simply has no capabilities to deal with the rising power. Now China is giving him a lesson on being humble and diplomacy.

zensushi

Any official State-to-State invitation has got to be rejected diplomatically with an ostensible officially valid reason. Else, it will trigger a tick-for-tat diplomatic rebuff in the future.

LoL! Tic Tac diplomacy?

tic-tac-mint-single-uHcJJ25k.jpeg

Or this "tick" ✅?

newpaper2013.gif

:s22: :s13:

Savantrainmaker

I will 100 percent agree with you on the rest of your post that a lot of things should not have been done but I do not think that china will be any much different if we did the above.

On the contrary, many had been using that as an excuse, hoping that the commercial trade routes to be surrendered.

To achieve a more robust analysis on Singapore's stance and actions over the recent SCS issue, you would need to read up more on several developments around the period - TPP negotiations with the Obama administration, Obama's failed "Pivot to Asia", LHL's partition support of the Clinton's Presidential bid, difference between a ICJ and a PCA decision, change in the Philippines' stance in the SCS after Duterte became President and put a time timeline to all these events.

In short, the LHL's administration placed all of Singapore's bet on a Clinton victory that would ensure the passage of the TPP - a strategic Pacific Ocean trade pact to isolate and encircle China.

When the situation changes, LHL's administration was sleeping and cannot even detect and alert about changes in the Philippines's position over the SCS vis-a-vis China. Worse, they cannot even tell the difference between a ICJ and a PCA decision.

So all these 'human errors and failures" all contributed to Singapore being ostracised by China at the OBOR launch last week.

And do note, Singapore was originally slated to be a key participant of China's OBOR Initiative as late as 1H2016.

Medicated Oil

That joker has never really step out of the ivory tower. With no common sense, he simply has no capabilities to deal with the rising power. Now China is giving him a lesson on being humble and diplomacy.

PRC, being PRC, will do what they want to do now to those that are against them.

As for Pinkie, he already removed some of guys who can think independently and instilled useless zombies around him.
Even his nanny clean his hands and stay clear of him.
Not expecting him to do magic but at least dun sour the relationship.
Seems like his pet vivi is also not doing a good job to networking with the rest of the countries.
SG Inc is pretty isolated at the moment without any close relationship with any one but one big leech from south asia.

Savantrainmaker

I think sg should follow the Swiss in being neutral and stay out of the us-china relationship.

We should be open to trades with anyone. We should be free to make diplomatic links with anyone other than a terrorist regime. We should be free to build defense partnership with anyone other than a terrorist state the same as any company free to employ guards from any security agency company. All these are not taking sides

We can recognize that there is only one china but whether tw is or not a part is not our business nor our obligation to deal with. If Indonesia is to force on us one day, the only thing that can be wrong is if we name ourself as the true representation of Indonesia. Sometimes people turn a blind eye in order to protect themselves. it is a different story when you step in to aid the perpetrators

As far as Switzerland goes, Singapore can and should only emulate its economic development model and high standards of living for its citizens. (and even that, Singapore has already deviated from the Swiss during LHL's administration; but this's another macro-economic development model analysis altogether).

The Swiss could afford to be neutral because of its unique geographical attributes - protected by mountains and almost self-sufficient in its foodstuff and economy if the situation necessitate it.

Any aggressor could just land a boat in Singapore and we need to get our foodstuff from the two SLOCs (sea lines of communications); so we cannot reasonably expect that we can get by covering our ears in denial and just be "neutral".

Engaging and balancing the two superpowers - the US and China - is the only way to go. Much like standing in the middle of a see-saw, making active control to ensure the see-saw plank is balanced and straight in the air on both sides.

LHL decided to take the side of the Americans, cockily thinking that the TPP is a sure-deal.

But when you do that, one side of the see-saw board will definitely be crashing down with a loud thud.

And Singapore will have to bear that consequences of his poor judgement now.

MyWill

The main problem is china's mentality and behaviour. It thinks it has already attained superpower status and DEMANDS respect from weaker neighbouring countries. In chinese culture, the most powerful family is usually ACCORDED respect by villagers. Do note that such respect is not EARNED. Chinese are kumgong who respect rich ppl with largest plot of land or properties; not necessarily due to their morality or generosity.

Back to our story, SG is super jumpy about the need to obey international laws because they safeguard small countries like ours. On the SCS ruling, SG sided with its self-interest. It just happens that US share similar position understaken by us.

Now, u guys can lamblast LHL. Go ahead. But he made the right stand. China just got pissed that respect is not ACCORDED when SG did not align with them. And it uses trade, economic and diplomatic musscles to inflict punitive punishment on SG... to make us an example to ASEAN. This is the kind of china for u. Sorry to say this, but US and Europe have never behave as badly as china in ASEAN. They nvr punish countries for adopting desimilar diplomatic stance.

ASEAN and East Asia will suffer big in time to come. Thats my prediction.

orwell76

As far as Switzerland goes, Singapore can and should only emulate its economic development model and high standards of living for its citizens. (and even that, Singapore has already deviated from the Swiss during LHL's administration; but this's another macro-economic development model analysis altogether).

The Swiss could afford to be neutral because of its unique geographical attributes - protected by mountains and almost self-sufficient in its foodstuff and economy if the situation necessitate it.

Any aggressor could just land a boat in Singapore and we need to get our foodstuff from the two SLOCs (sea lines of communications); so we cannot reasonably expect that we can get by covering our ears in denial and just be "neutral".

Engaging and balancing the two superpowers - the US and China - is the only way to go. Much like standing in the middle of a see-saw, making active control to ensure the see-saw plank is balanced and straight in the air on both sides.

LHL decided to take the side of the Americans, cockily thinking that the TPP is a sure-deal.

But when you do that, one side of the see-saw board will definitely be crashing down with a loud thud.

And Singapore will have to bear that consequences of his poor judgement now.

Ah loong balancing kungfu boh LKY powerful, now buay balance liao, Tiong perceived ah loong to be biased

snowsakura

This is about build railway leading to China right? Sg surrounded by water,how to build railway to China
Mai spread fear

No not exactly.
One road one belt have plan for harbour too
But Malaysia will most likely get the benefit

And did you know that 60-70% that pass though here are China ship.
Malaysian port got China investment will you till think China will till call for sg port?

Mancunian2

No not exactly.
One road one belt have plan for harbour too
But Malaysia will most likely get the benefit

And did you know that 60-70% that pass though here are China ship.
Malaysian port got China investment will you till think China will till call for sg port?
Think what will happen when China stop using sg as a port.
Without China ship you think sg can substain for how long?
snowsakura Junior Member

almost 10 years, 1st post :eek: u must feel very strongly about this

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.