[NEWS] Singtel to shut down ageing ADSL network in April 2018

adrianch

Just now, went to singtel shop with my dad. Successfully transferred ownership. But cannot upgrade to 500 mbps plan, only can upgrade to 1Gbps or above plan. The CSO serving us checked, told us 500 mbps plan is no longer offered. :s11:

Also asked to change from home analogue line to home digital line, was told there is a chargeable fee of $140 as already started the fibre bundle contract. I didn't agree and continue with the analogue line. If requested to change to home digital line when calling the hotline to do the migration, then it is free. Need their engineer to come to install home digital l line, cannot ownself install.

adrianch

So fast no more 500mb plan? humm... smt when ask diff ppl, diff ans...

Now only scared they give "free" upgrade to 1gb so tat when recon, they can charge higher fees.

For digital line, nth to install actually. if u see ur ONR box, there's a TEL port for u to plug ur telephone jack in. Backend just nid to enable the port.

Keep analogue line oso gd; can use fax machine, power outage still can call. Only nid pay for outgoing mins (less than a cent per min or 30sec, non/peak) with quarterly fee waived.

Digital line; nid to on ur ONR 24/7, can't work some fax machines though FOC. :s13:

That's what the CSO told me. I asked different people but get different answers. :s11:

I am keeping the home analogue line, don't want to pay $140 to change to home digital line.

Can I bring my service report and identification document to self-collect the singtel wireless router? Do you know where is the place to collect?

adrianch

i dun think u can self collect since the wireless router shuld be provided by the on-site singtel tech who did the fibre installation...

best to call up for advice/explanation on y u weren't given 1 in the 1st place...

Anyway, place 2 self-collect router:
+Serv @ Orchard Central (Open from 1 Mar)
181 Orchard Road
#04-08A, Orchard Central
Singapore 238896
Mon-Sun, PH: 12pm - 8pm
(Except on Christmas Eve, New Year Eve and Chinese New Year Eve: 12pm - 4pm) Closed on the first and second day of Chinese New Year.

Contact Tel. No.: 62953998

Do call up first, dun waste time kena ping pong by them... :s12:

Going to feedback to singtel first and wait for their reply.

chuppachop

Was it the actual Singtel shop you went to or those franchise retailer shop? If it's the latter, maybe the info given was not correct back.

Pocoyoz

Fibre installed liao but phone line still analogue :(

Sent from Pocoyo fan club using GAGT

adrianch

Fibre installed liao but phone line still analogue :(

Same as me. Now, if you want to change to digital line when contract already started, there is a charge of $140, the staff at singtel shop said that to me when doing the transfer of ownership.

Pocoyoz

Is The onr power consumption < 15w?

adrianch

On the contract agreement, under Telephony Service Information, the following are listed:

Service No.: 6XXXXXXX
Mode of Service: Normal
Types of Service Required: Fixed Voice
Line Type: Singtel Telephone Line

What does Fixed Voice means? Is it the same as home (analogue) line?

When I login to the onepass account, there is this add-on: Fixed STD Calls, there is an option to remove it, what does it means and should I keep it or remove it?

Those who has fixed voice line and caller ID, is your caller ID charge $12.84 quarterly?

adrianch

Got. Account show digital but during installation says analogue :eek:

Same as me. In the onepass account, title shows Home Digital Line but the details below it shows Singtel Telephone Line (meaning analogue line).

adrianch

Fixed STD calls is analogue line. Think if u remove, u can't make any calls.

dMn9qh.jpg

my analogue line doesn't have caller-id but i tried to add on n they show $12.84... but from a cached link https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:Twf7LC3P5X4J:https://www.singtel.com/personal/i/phones-plans/telephone-services/addons/all+&cd=10&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=sg, it seems there're 2 types of caller-id; normal n home line, with normal caller id at $2.14/mth n home line's at $12.84/3 mths... not sure the difference but guess they just wana jack up the prices...

My plan should be the same as yours except I'm on 300 mbps fibre broadband. Having analogue line but main title (beside the telephone logo) show as home digital line. :s11:

My caller ID subscription is $12.84 every 3 months. Thinking of getting the cheaper $2.14 caller ID but seems that there is no way to do it. :s13:

Pocoyoz

Mine also digital line-fixed std
But is singapore telephone line (residential) quarterly :eek:

adrianch

i see the trend for every VAS being doubled in cost after adding "home line" to it, likely revised pricing from singtel...

as for speeds, maybe singtel will offer "free" upgrade next time. if u stick with wifi, u won't notice the diff too. most impt, is to sort out the "missing" AC plus router.

my analogue line is for my dad's fax machine n caller-id isn't necessary. am alw trying to reduce profits for the telco! :s13::s13::s13:

I'm using wifi mesh (linksys velop). First node connected to the ONR, second node connected to the desktop PC via ethernet cable. Connection between the 2 nodes is via wifi. So if there is an upgrade to 500 mbps, not much difference?

adrianch

connection b/w 2 nodes via wifi? means ur ethernet LAN cable not directly connected to ONR? if like tat, u wont see much diff cause restricted to ur wifi speed... unless u plug Lan cable (at least cat 5e) direct to ONR, then b/w 500 n 300, u'll notice a diff during downloading huge files/torrents or upload, slight diff i guess... normal surf stream, u wont notice much...

my wired connection for my 500mbs plan seems to be lacking, hit 350-400 max, infd singtel but nvr get back to me at all... since i just rely on wifi, just heck care...

The main velop node (at living room) is connected to the ONR LAN port 1 using ethernet cable provided by Linksys. The sub velop node (at bedroom) is connected to my desktop PC using my own ethernet cable. Communication between the 2 nodes is via wifi as there is no wired connection.

Based on the speedtest app for desktop, average can get close to 300 mbps, maximum can get around 350 mbps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.