Asus Crosshair VIII Hero WIFI (X570) Motherboard & AMD Ryzen 9 3900X - Killer Combo!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Rashkae

pikoman

how come the price difference is so huge? On newegg, the GB Master, MSI ACE and Asus Hero all within the same price range $35X. In SG, the HERO with WIFI is like $725, thats $200 less than MSI and GB. Thats quite a premium.

Ya sia wtf is avertek or Asus asia thinking. Newegg sell only 380 USD, even with GST and shipping, its nowhere near 700 sgd. Avertek thought can scam early adopters ah? Crazy.

MacClipper

hi mac, jus curious as a bench for comparison against other cpu, shud hyperpi be run single threaded instead of multi threaded?
cuz i just tried on my office pc, i5-4440 1x8gb ddr3 1600, and it was slightly faster at 13m+...

zrzh4Wi.jpg

still not the soln, like mac has posted other hyperpi results before, but they can't be simply compared to each other since different instances used
like, https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...z390-motherboard-5921115-2.html#post117368980

Yeah, and looking at the results database online, SuperPi seems to be very unreliable. Some of the fastest scores are single threaded DDR3 platforms.

Nice questions and discussion! :s7:

HyperPi 32M is better known to old timers though not really as a benchmark but more as a quick and dirty RAM stability stress test.

Click to read more
Corsair said:

It is a multicore spin-off from SuperPi which is a lousy benchmark program itself cos it incorporate x87 code which is almost not used in any other modern programs. As such, you can't realistically compare across AMD and Intel platforms cos AMD chips suck at processing x87 code (no big deal since no other app uses it).

Ya sia wtf is avertek or Asus asia thinking. Newegg sell only 380 USD, even with GST and shipping, its nowhere near 700 sgd. Avertek thought can scam early adopters ah? Crazy.
I just checked PCT pricelist and don't see what you see. The higher price is for the Formula cos the Hero model is only coming in later.

Click to read more
PCT said:

Hope that helps.

MacClipper

VP seems to advertise the Hero at the price you guys mentioned so guess it is up to VP and/or Asus to explain that.

I would much rather go for the Formula if that is the official Hero price. :)

KWSW

Have you encountered any ram errors? Seems like some Crosshair Hero users across the 6,7,8 series have that.

Kinda worried abit esp since on my C6H the bios version is the older 1.0.0.2

MacClipper

Thankfully none so far, RAM sync and overclocking is much better this time around. I just choose XMP, choose 3600MHz and it booted right up. No double POST as well even when overclocked which is very welcome.

I am also using a AGESA 10.0.0.2 BIOS for now.

Someone said that AGESA 10.0.0.3 releases are restricted to X570 mobos for the moment, dunno real or not. So guess got to wait for the new AGESA to trickle down to the older mobos once the heat of this launch sizzles out.

Koenig168

Didn't see the X570 Crosshair WiFi on Newegg.

Amazon does not have it in stock and the single third party seller is selling at USD449.

MacClipper

KWSW

Thankfully none so far, RAM sync and overclocking is much better this time around. I just choose XMP, choose 3600MHz and it booted right up. No double POST as well even when overclocked which is very welcome.

I am also using a AGESA 10.0.0.2 BIOS for now.

Someone said that AGESA 10.0.0.3 releases are restricted to X570 mobos for the moment, dunno real or not. So guess got to wait for the new AGESA to trickle down to the older mobos once the heat of this launch sizzles out.

That's good to know :)

MacClipper

Anyway it is understandable some may feel local pricing is too high, maybe just get whatever wherever you feel most comfortable with.

Besides not everything is available easily or locally, this is my imported cheap new gadget for conveniently moving around the nvme SSD while testing multiple mobos.

Click to enlarge
IMG-5287.jpg

wiwi

I also couldn't find the Newegg price they were talking about either.

But I did manage to find the Malaysian RRP online here
https://www.tech-critter.com/asus-x570-motherboards-price-announced/

And it works out to be SGD727.24 after GST (using 1 SGD = 3 RM), comes with Malaysian wty only though

BsfzTUT.png

If they link doesnt work, you need to see it to US instead of SG.
https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?d=x570&N=50001312%2050001314%2050001315%2050001944%204019%208000

Anyway the 7XX pricing is from here. https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tec...oard-asus-gigabyte-msi-asrock-price-singapore

hlots123

Nice questions and discussion! :s7:

HyperPi 32M is better known to old timers though not really as a benchmark but more as a quick and dirty RAM stability stress test.

Click to read more
https://www.corsair.com/ww/en/blog/corsair-dominator-platinum-performance

It is a multicore spin-off from SuperPi which is a lousy benchmark program itself cos it incorporate x87 code which is almost not used in any other modern programs. As such, you can't realistically compare across AMD and Intel platforms cos AMD chips suck at processing x87 code (no big deal since no other app uses it).
oicic, thanks mac for the clarification :)

MacClipper

Not sure if you realise that you are talking about 2 different models.

The local one is the model highlighted in this thread - ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)

Works out to be about S$600 when we include GST and shipping. It's up to the individual whether to risk a lemon or pay the extra S$100 for peace of mind.

Anyway, we seem to have derailed OP's thread. :)
I usually divide the premium over 3 years of local warranty... does anyone else calculate this way? =:p

oicic, thanks mac for the clarification :)
You are welcome, no need to thank me lah cos your question also gave me an opportunity to refresh my memory about HyperPi too.

Now it's my turn to thank people who have contributed one way or another to supporting this thread. In no particular other of merit or chronology - CY/DS of Asus Global, JT of Convergent, AMD SG, ZC of TechRevo amongst others who prefer to remain anonymous... this thread is simply not possible without you great people and your continuous support.

Both sample and loaner are now in!
Ryzen%2B3900X.jpg

MacClipper

CPU-Z Bench
Ryzen Gen 3 vs Ryzen Gen 1, both CPU stock clocks
6C/12T > 8C/16T - possible?

Click to enlarge
CPU-Z-Bench.png

The R5 3600X scores wins in both ST (44%) and MT (4.3%). :angel:

MacClipper

Cinebench R20
Probably a much more intensive bench than its R15 predecessor which is nice.

Single Core
Ha, a budget Ryzen 3000 is beating the i7-7700K, Intel's flagship Crabby Lake processor

Cinebench-R20-SC.png

Multi-core
And clearly killing it here.

Cinebench-R20.png

Note: 2nd hand asking prices for the 7700K may yet be higher than BNIB Ryzen 3600, very funny hor! :s13:

MacClipper

Switch over to play Ryzen 9 3900X mode...

... 12C24T mode activated, song dah! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.