[OFFICIAL] Oppo Reno Ace

Computeron

I had called Oppo Singapore, email them, and also check with Oppo China.
All confirmed that the Gundam edition is only available in China.

Btw, how do we install GMS if I managed to get the Gundam Edition?
And i installed the GMS, will it remove the Color OS?
Cos i really like the Gundam edition & the theme, and I am going to pre-order it when it is available for pre-order...

a... i just about to ask too.. going to hoot the gundam edit from china

it wont remove colourOS.. as GMS is only an "app/service"

where u saw the gundam theme? i only saw the wallpaper n charging animation. inside homescreen never see b4.

u going to use ezbuy to ship over?

Computeron

oppo-game-controller-c1.png

Computeron

izzit me? i think the gundam edition back is silver. it should be white, no?

feryox

a... i just about to ask too.. going to hoot the gundam edit from china

it wont remove colourOS.. as GMS is only an "app/service"

where u saw the gundam theme? i only saw the wallpaper n charging animation. inside homescreen never see b4.

u going to use ezbuy to ship over?

I'm buying via Taobao, then ship to my China colleague's house.
as for how to bring in to SG, if during that period I have other colleagues going to China after receiving the phone, will ask them to hand carry over.
if not.. will have to arrange courier service.
I wana try to avoid giving GST for the phone. lol
cos confirm will kena GST, unless hand carry over.

BTW, u know how to install GMS into the phone?
I'm a noob on this...

Computeron

I'm buying via Taobao, then ship to my China colleague's house.
as for how to bring in to SG, if during that period I have other colleagues going to China after receiving the phone, will ask them to hand carry over.
if not.. will have to arrange courier service.
I wana try to avoid giving GST for the phone. lol
cos confirm will kena GST, unless hand carry over.

BTW, u know how to install GMS into the phone?
I'm a noob on this...

if using forwwarderer... can underdeclare. just see dare anot.:s13::s13:
wat i have read from google is just install GMS apk... then can liao.

feryox

if using forwwarderer... can underdeclare. just see dare anot.:s13::s13:
wat i have read from google is just install GMS apk... then can liao.

erm... the phone price is listed on the website.. so cannot under declare lor...
SG tax ppl not stupid, even though i wish they are...lol

do you have the website/weblink for the steps on how to install the GMS on Reno Ace?

Computeron

erm... the phone price is listed on the website.. so cannot under declare lor...

do you have the website/weblink for the steps on how to install the GMS on Reno Ace?

when u ship the parcel to forwader.. they do not know what is it mah. no?
but of cuz they check , u tio caught lan lan.

Apparatus

90Hz will consume battery faster and that's why OPPO gives you a super fast charger.

So, if outdoor and the phone runs out of juice you'll need to quickly find a AC power point to charge ah?

Can the refresh rate be changed to normal 60Hz?

BTW, how's OPPO firmware and security updates? Regular or need to wait a long time?

🙄

Computeron

have u PO last night 12am?

xonix

90Hz will consume battery faster and that's why OPPO gives you a super fast charger.

So, if outdoor and the phone runs out of juice you'll need to quickly find a AC power point to charge ah?

Can the refresh rate be changed to normal 60Hz?

BTW, how's OPPO firmware and security updates? Regular or need to wait a long time?

Yes, can be changed. Can been seen in many Reno Ace unboxing videos.

Although, owners of 90hz phones aren't likely to turn it down unless running out of battery.

I have never used Oppo phones before. But given it's such a heavy skin, I doubt major OS updates will be swift.

s7460597

Realme X2 Pro specs look very similar to the Reno Ace. Could be slightly cheaper.

feryox

have u PO last night 12am?

last nite totally forgot abt it.
but this morning try to buy, managed to put 1 in the Taobao shopping cart.
However, need to pay 100RMB as deposit, but can only use Alipay, which somehow cannot b linked to credit card.. so i cant buy.. :(
now have to wait for next monday, n asked my china col to help me buy...

kyleongwl

normally, SG will be launch the "1st"
(our spending power is something that is needed)

Today, the economical SD855+ are only
- Oppo Reno Ace
- Realme X2 pro
- Redmi K20 Pro (Updated ver)

24thchromosome

- Oppo Reno Ace
- Realme X2 pro

I almost placed order on K20 Pro 12gb/512gb variant yesterday and by chance saw a youtube video on realme x2 pro which then led me to more videos on oppo reno ace. So right now am back to the drawing board since these two are serious contenders.

In terms of pricing on their highest spec model...(based on tmall/JD/TB):
  • K20 Pro 12/512gb => 2999rmb => sgd$577 (need another 22rmb for direct shipping very convenient)
  • Realme X2pro 12gb ram but only 256gb storage => 3299rmb => sgd$635 (no direct shipping need to find 3rd party forwarder somewhat inconvenient)
  • Opp reno ace 12bg ram but only 256gb storage =>3799rmb => sgd$731 (no direct shipping need to find 3rd party forwarder somewhat inconvenient)

Spec-wise...
  • K20pro wins over the other two in terms of (1) price, (2) 512gb storage and (3) no notch. Is that all?
  • X2pro is around $60 more expensive than k20pro but wins in terms of
    1. 90hz refresh rate
    2. 50W charging
    3. UFS 3.0
    4. stereo dual dolby atmos speakers
    5. dual wifi (meaning can use both dual band 2.4GHz and 5GHz at the same time to increase overall wifi speed)
    6. faster fingerprint sensor than k20pro. face unlock also much faster apparently.
    7. L1 widevine
    As for its 64MP camera this is not a plus point compared to k20pro's 48MP (search youtube can see for yourself), hopefully gcam can fix that later on. Lastly, ColorOS not sure improve by how much over its previously over-bloated versions, need to see more upcoming reviews to verify this aspect on usability and how frequent and for how long will its software update last after it got its android 10. Therefore big question mark.
  • Oppo reno ace almost $100 more expensive than realme x2pro and $160 more than k20pro. Seemed to be the same spec as realme x2pro except for 48MP cam and 65W charging. Anyone knows for Oppo phone usually how long will its software update last? For how many subsequent android versions? Or for how many years?

So from this brief comparison, I am currently more inclined towards realme x2pro since reno ace's 65W charging is not much of an appeal based on reviews comparing their charging speed so far:
  • X2pro from 0% to 100% in 35mins
  • Reno Ace from 0% to 100% in less than 30mins

But then... after I saw the reno ace gundam edition... hehehe... all logic gets thrown out of the window...

Spladox

- Oppo Reno Ace
- Realme X2 pro

OP 7T also around the same price no?

xonix

OP 7T also around the same price no?

Reno Ace will be probably similar to op7t in pricing. My gut tells me, realme might be a bit cheaper than both but more expensive than k20 pro

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.