Minister Heng Swee Keat: General Election is “not the time for accounting and fault-finding”

Ohayo!

Being critical of the govt doesnt mean we are not appreciative of what they have done.

Simple fact, but PAP IBs main agenda is to reduce anything and everything which make the PAP look bad in public.

They themselves had admitted to their mistakes and tell the public to look over it. But why? We still see them continue to make mistakes after mistakes and wasting away public taxpayer monies to fix their mistakes.

dxdx999

So if what you say is true, is there a better team?

I am waiting.... Since the time LTK is elected into parliament and I am not eligible to vote yet.

Maybe when my little kid is eligible to vote something will come up?
The better team is a mix of the best people, incentivised to do the best for the people.

Not for one party to dominate and behave in the interest of said party.

I thought you high ses? How come simple management principle also don't know ?

Kumgong.

Sent from Rain Rain Go Away using GAGT

Ohayo!

We are thankful for the stability and safety which the current Govt bring us. However, that maybe the results of the PAP's old generation. We do not know.

Current generation's are paid highly, much more than the past leaders, however their performance so far has been sub-par.

Why should the public look past their mistakes when they wanted to hold WP to accountability over a small matter? All I see are excuses after excuses, finger pointing and blame pushing.

kyo_465

The better team is a mix of the best people, incentivised to do the best for the people.

Not for one party to dominate and behave in the interest of said party.

I thought you high ses? How come simple management principle also don't know ?

Kumgong.

Err... this is politics and there is a system. Not sure how your suggestion is implementable, but sure. I think you can if you are voted in.

Let me know where you are running. I will listen intently.

Bertrand Traore

Can i tell my boss not to find fault at year end appraisal when my kpi cui? Say it is about forward looking to reinforce the company togetherness

Multiversal

Yup

You are right

At some point, something went really wrong and the whole system has become a lumbering mess.

Covid is the largest wake up call now, shining light on their incompetence and arrogance. 4G so weak, 3G lan lan have to come in and save the day. KBW, tharman, TCH. Heck even LHL now have to come out even more.

It's like you tender resignation Liao want to clear leave, the boss call you back because the new hire is so shiet, he's actually destroying everything you built.

But then...but then....during GE 2011 and GE 2015, when 3G was younger, Teo Chee Hean still had black hair, and Tharman had more hair, and they were in charge, but every birdy said the 3G cmi.

George Yeo was even booted out! :s13:

Every birdy said, aiya! LKY last time not like this! The 3G so jiakliaobee! Vote them out!

And now GE 2020, the 3G suddenly become messiahs, and their appearance inspires AWE! :s13:

dxdx999

But then...but then....during GE 2011 and GE 2015, when 3G was younger, Teo Chee Hean still had black hair, and Tharman had more hair, and they were in charge, but every birdy said the 3G cmi.

Every birdy said, aiya! LKY last time not like this! The 3G so jiakliaobee! Vote them out!

And now GE 2020, the 3G suddenly become messiahs, and their appearance inspire AWE! :s13:
Which is even more sad right, because it just goes to show how bad the 4G is.

:(

kyo_465

And u think PAP is the only ones that are competent....
ROFL.

No. I think the competent people join the private sector, PAP and are in this forum.

And I also think your notion of the malaysian boats leaving because they are bored is cute.

Laneige

Being critical of the govt doesnt mean we are not appreciative of what they have done.

Simple fact, but PAP IBs main agenda is to reduce anything and everything which make the PAP look bad in public.

They themselves had admitted to their mistakes and tell the public to look over it. But why? We still see them continue to make mistakes after mistakes and wasting away public taxpayer monies to fix their mistakes.

Yes yes
Tw more critical of their govt
Their media even worse
See how they improve
But here I only see getting worse esp with how they deal with covid
N how the minister can still insist she is doing things. It only gets to see how those behind the planning didn’t think way ahead and thought the virus will be a gd one, stay put in one floor n building

Joe Mahmood

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/challenge-of-keeping-spore-together-amid-crisis-dpm

"We have to deal with a global front, we have to deal with our economic front, we have to deal with our social front," said Mr Heng.
In this regard, Mr Heng commended Workers' Party chief Pritam Singh for having said in Parliament that partisan politics should take a backseat and that there should be a unity of purpose in battling Covid-19.

Mr Singh had said last week that the WP took this position so that Singapore could single-mindedly overcome the challenge, adding: "The Workers' Party has not come in to publicly criticise the Government on its handling of an unprecedented crisis in ways that would undermine the national effort."

Said Mr Heng: "That is good, for a party to be responsible and take that view. Unfortunately, it's not the case for all parties because there are parties that are (saying) 'Well, look, this thing was not well done, that thing was not well done' and so on."
Mr Heng said there is a time and place to review policy decisions.
But right now, Singapore is "in the midst of a major battle on many fronts".
There is value, he acknowledges, in looking back to see if there is something that can be done better as Singapore goes forward in this fight, but calling for an accounting and fault-finding at this stage is a distraction from what needs to be done, he added.

"I welcome any good suggestions about how we might do better in this battle. I'm very open to good ideas. You know my style," said Mr Heng, who initiated the Our Singapore Conversation after the 2011 General Election and launched the Singapore Together movement last year to generate citizen participation and involvement in shaping policies and programmes. "

My take:

1) Pritam Singh can jolly well join PAP already, LOL. Buay Gan, Mo Lan Yong.

2) **** Heng prata flip and contradicted himself when he says 'calling for an accounting and fault-finding at this stage is a distraction from what needs to be done' and yet says he " welcome any good suggestions about how we might do better in this battle. I'm very open to good ideas. You know my style ".

One would know that as part of any good corporate governance, it is not just only about listening only to 'suggestions and ideas', but to be able to take harsh criticisms which includes to be totally accountable for any faults found.

That's why in any business operations, we have this thing called 'customer complaints' or 'feedbacks'. You can't expect to force-feed customers to just give 'suggestions & ideas' and even commendations, SIAO. Else how to improve?

This means the words are not going to sound so nice all the time to feed their 'scholarly' appetites but is wholly necessary to shake up any ruling party to prevent complacency, which is ironically PAP's mantra, LMAO.

If the ruling party wants to escape from accountability when fault is found, means wat? What does this reveal about them? Total hypocrites.

They profess not to be complacent and yet only wish to listen to wonderful tunes sang to them.

Whether the criticisms and fault-findings are 'constructive' enough or not is debatable but as lng as it is legal for instance, not calling for hate or violence, this should be accepted as part of democracy which includes debates, arguments and not just 'suggestion and ideas', SIAO.

By putting down critics is skewing towards a totalitarian state already.

Well, they didn't invite WP member(s) to be involved in the Task Force to work together as One United People.

kyo_465

And now GE 2020, the 3G suddenly become messiahs, and their appearance inspires AWE! :s13:

Like artists, they are only valuable when they are dead.

Not sure what dead and retiring politicians can do for the future of Singapore,

Multiversal

Which is even more sad right, because it just goes to show how bad the 4G is.

:(

OK, let's vote for the oppo.

Lim Tean, Tan Kin Lian, Roy Ngerng, HHH, Goh Meng Seng, Dr Chee, and yes TCB too. :(

NTB2DO

Well, in that case, can the Oppo propose a deliverable castle on ground? Let's hear from them.

The last things I want to hear is Wuflu! Dorms! **! No need to wear masks if you are feeling OK! I don't need people to come and tell me what I already know.

Tell me, if you think the current government is building castles in the air, what are you offering which you can deliver. Then, it's for an educated electorate to weigh it, whether it makes sense or not, and to decide to throw their lot and bet on you.

Your last sentence is unnecessary. Don't try to act cool in front of me because you ain't cool. If you want to engage, kindly mind your language because if I give it back to you, you are going to get a bloody nose, son. Do not stir me. :s8:

For one thing, Oppositions do not possess the massive data and resources that ruling party gets to enjoy.

And ideas also doesn't normally come out from office holder himself, rather, it's the apolitical civil servants who propose ideas to their ministers.

Which is why a military man with zero trade and industry experience can head the MTI, while a medical surgeon with zero defence experience can head MINDEF, etc.

Kain999

No. I think the competent people join the private sector, PAP and are in this forum.

And I also think your notion of the malaysian boats leaving because they are bored is cute.

Well, ur notion of how PAP is competent is cute.

1024px-Ferrachu._Ball_gag.jpg

Oh pls, cannot criticize the do no wrongs PAP.

dxdx999

Like artists, they are only valuable when they are dead.

Not sure what dead and retiring politicians can do for the future of Singapore,
And yet, they are called back in to head the work streams, instead of placing the 4Gs .

Speaks volumes, innit ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.