Syfe Cash+ vs Endowus Cash Smart vs StashAway Simple

revhappy

To everyone comparing after just a few weeks invested: don't judge on such short term lah...

Only meaningful comparison would be on the scale of several months. Underlying funds may overperform or underperform at different times.

I also notice big overperformance in syfe cash+ (added funds on 15 Jan, already +$5.56 for 10k invested, this is way too much for less than a week. At this rate it would be 3.4% pa rate :spin:).

Presumably, this will be followed by some periods of underperformance.

Nothing to worry yet, need to judge after at least 6 months, or even more.

If you don't like the fact that rates are not 100% guaranteed, well then you shouldn't invest in such products. Either go with FD or fixed endowment plans (but you'll get much lower interest rates of course). Higher reward = higher risks.

Well said. The way I look at it, in the past I used FSM and invested in SGD short term bond funds as a way of making safe low volatility returns.

But FSM has platform fees.

The Robo not only don't have any fees for the cash solutions, but also rebate you the trailer fee.

The Robos are actually losing money by doing this. But their reason is they hope to gain AUM in these cash solutions and then hope people diversify into their main robo portfolios where they can charge fees.

So you must know what you are getting into. These cash solutions are very short duration bond funds where risk of losing money over 6month period is zero, but you will make better than bank FD returns.

Shutterfly

All 3 products essentially have similar underlying funds so why would one have zero movement compared to the rest? :s11:

MeowEatsFish

All 3 products essentially have similar underlying funds so why would one have zero movement compared to the rest? :s11:

There are some differences in funds with higher risks. Not all are same.

Sent from Google PIXEL 3A using GAGT

Mr. Wood

The Robo not only don't have any fees for the cash solutions, but also rebate you the trailer fee.

The Robos are actually losing money by doing this. But their reason is they hope to gain AUM in these cash solutions and then hope people diversify into their main robo portfolios where they can charge fees.

cash smart has a small fee. not much, but if all other things being equal, will lower yr returns.

Mr. Wood

if interests rate hike will the projected returns oso rise accordingly? eg interests rate up 0.5%, den the funds projected will oso up 0.5% ?

revhappy

if interests rate hike will the projected returns oso rise accordingly? eg interests rate up 0.5%, den the funds projected will oso up 0.5% ?

If rates go up, it is bad for existing bonds. The impact depends on duration. Shortest duration lowest impact. Longest duration there big negative co-relation b/w bond yields and bond fund returns.

To make it simplistic, these funds have already bought the bonds and they are paying coupons. These coupons will not be impacted by rates going up. So if you hold this fund for the duration of the bonds in the fund, there should be no impact.

The impact is when the existing bonds mature and the fund manager buy new bonds which come with higher coupons.

So if rates rise by 0.5%, net-net the impact wont be much, for the next 6 months duration atleast, for these short term bond fund robos.

revhappy

I deposited 10k in Endowus cashsmart yesterday and this morning I receive notification that my money is received. I hope they invest it at today's NAV date, otherwise I will lose next 2 days interest also.

This is something to consider, if there is long delay in deployment, you dont want to frequently churn, because the delay causes loss of interest/yield accrual.

Edit: Just received email from Endowus that my funds will be invested at today's NAV. So all good :)

0Id72wN.jpg

Shutterfly

I deposited 10k in Endowus cashsmart yesterday and this morning I receive notification that my money is received. I hope they invest it at today's NAV date, otherwise I will lose next 2 days interest also.

This is something to consider, if there is long delay in deployment, you dont want to frequently churn, because the delay causes loss of interest/yield accrual.

Edit: Just received email from Endowus that my funds will be invested at today's NAV. So all good :)

0Id72wN.jpg

Congrats! :s12:

dappermen

nw can throw all xtra cash into syfe finally Since knew this coming1day - "Singlife will be adjusting the crediting rate (return) on the Singlife Account from 2.0% to 1.5% per annum (p.a.) for the first S$10,000 from 29 January 2021.
There will be no change to the 1.0% p.a. return for the next S$90,000 in your Singlife Account. "

who is w me?? pls dont tell me Singlife1.5% is not much a diffce compared to Syfe's 1.75% (i saw some of u commenting ie a large diffce!!!) ?

dappermen

cash smart has a small fee. not much, but if all other things being equal, will lower yr returns.
Wood,
is Edowus able to "ret"/pay more thn wt they promised??? or is it the exact rate they stated on website? I dont hve Edwus for nw & dont hve 20k to start also

eAtNeAt

Endowus must be regretting big time that they chose uobkayhian. Probably cheapest but very inefficient.

s0crates

Actually it's just cash mgmt product what. All these robo losing money anyway, I doubt they care abt transaction speed.

Endowus must be regretting big time that they chose uobkayhian. Probably cheapest but very inefficient.

revhappy

I think the transactions are happening on time lah, there is no delay. The delay is only in the update. This issue is also with Syfe. They use Saxo and Saxo also is slow to update.

Mr. Wood

Wood,
is Edowus able to "ret"/pay more thn wt they promised??? or is it the exact rate they stated on website? I dont hve Edwus for nw & dont hve 20k to start also

i dun invest with endowus. i alrdy open accnt but nvr put money becoz i still hav some doubts with the way they do things.

if u like endowus, i say juz go ahead and open accnt. dun worry too much abt the starting capital.
my fren call them and say he will start small (mayb $1000) and den slowly DCA evy mnth. up till now still haven reach 10k :s22:

ok u din hear dis frm me :D

Mr. Wood

how u know they regretted? :s22:
rich men's game we all low ses wun know one...:s22:

ok u din hear dis frm me :o

Wood,

Nobody can predict future returns, but for the cash management account, Endowus did mention "Actual net returns since launch and annualised rate of returns are higher than the projected yield numbers we had shared with our clients at the time of launch.".

8CEJ2ti.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.