Recommended Cat Food & Shops in Singapore

JasK

I thought of adopting at first but most of the fosterer/adoption organization requires house visit and I'm uncomfortable with that.
Solid Gold Touch of Heaven in this case is the best? They have whole grain brown rice in the main ingredient, it's fine for kittens?

there are many other places you can adopt. my first two cat, my white and my grey females, i adopted thru a adoption forum and i went to this harvay norman warehouse (where they had a few unsterilized adults and about 6-8 kittens) to see and choose them. my next two were from a facebook cat group where the owner couldnt keep them after getting a warning letter (my guess is they allowed their cats to roam), when i took in 3rd n 4th from them both were about six months.

the house visits and other criterias are there to ensure serious and proper adoption practice according to cws since there are many cases of abandonment.

for wet food, some swear by grain free and quality wet food or even raw etc but so long as it is not a brand that contains fillers and has main meat ingredients listed as meat-by-products or any kind of by products is fine to me. but i prefer certain brands to others, some are liked by my cats, some for their quality.

JasK

why not just feed a balanced raw diet? Commercial food do make your cats sick

sorry but your last sentence shows how much you may be biased against commercial food. also shows a lack of understanding and a silly remark. terming commercial food with such a comment is too general, everything is commercialised now, be it quality or inferior. even certain raw diet brands are commercialised.

if you advocate a good raw diet, it make more sense giving proper advise and suggestion then to open your mouth and make yourself look foolish by terming everything else out of your raw diet prospective as Bad.

AristroCats

Hi all.
I have 2 packs of 6.8kg Orijen Cat and Kitten to let go for $85 each pack.
Please PM if you are interested. Thank you.

JasK

I want to try making meals for my cats. Would experts kindly share some advice?

If you have the time, else quite alot of work for proper and balanced diy cat food, some are simple some are tedious to get in terms of ingredients etc, some can be inexpensive, some may add up your cost.

some links to get you started and Read.

http://www.catinfo.org/?link=makingcatfood
http://cats.lovetoknow.com/Homemade_Cat_Food_Recipe
http://pets.webmd.com/cats/guide/homemade-cat-food-and-raw-cat-food
http://www.catnutrition.org/foodmaking.html

for more easy, just google (diy cat food)

JasK

http://www.reviews.com/cat-food/

1,759 cat food formulas analyzed and found only 163 that were produced by a trustworthy brand with high-quality, risk-free ingredients.

Catfood_QuickGuideA2x1.png

Crescy

recently i buy fresh chicken from ntuc. chicken breast 1 packet ard $1.30.
go home cook and chop into mini bits.

my miao miao jiak until sibei shiok.

luloos

quoted from my other post at cat owners page:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkRxDxVDbVw

just a little advice from myself, im not a pro but i hope what i share can help you out better! *lengthy post ahead* haha because my kitty got heart problem so i researched quite a bit on what food would be the best.. i also considered going natural aka raw, but i got no time to buy and weigh and also properly give the correct proportions of meat and supplements, too much work, so i just give up and buy best food i can find =x

to give you a gneral rough idea, an example for a good pet food is like orijen, the ingredient list goes like this:

Boneless chicken*, chicken meal, chicken liver*, whole herring*, boneless turkey*, turkey meal, turkey liver*, whole eggs*, boneless walleye*, whole salmon*, chicken heart*, chicken cartilage*, herring meal, salmon meal, chicken liver oil, chicken fat*, red lentils, green peas, green lentils, sun-cured alfalfa, yams*, pea fibre, chickpeas, pumpkin*, butternut squash*, spinach greens*, carrots*, Red Delicious apples*, Bartlett pears*, cranberries*, blueberries*, kelp, licorice root, angelica root, fenugreek, marigold flowers, sweet fennel, peppermint leaf, chamomile, dandelion, summer savory, rosemary, Enterococcus faecium .

see the first like 10+ ingredients are all meat stuff which is good!

if budget is a problem can buy from malaysia.. JB, Globalpets sells the orijen 6.8kg pack for about $80sgd (just a little bit higher than solid gold in terms of local price! + solid gold cant be found in globalpets in JB) in comparison to sg's $160 >.<

i go there every 6 months to buy the 6kg pack hurhur even if need to lug back i will! lol small 2kg+ pack is like $30+?

but if lazy to go malaysia to buy the next best i can think of that are not bad and also not too ex like $60-80 range for 5kg packs are the ones like:
- solid gold indigo moon
- Hi Tek Rations Naturals Grain Free Cat Dry Food
- eagle pro chicken
- firstmate grain free series
- fromm
- Meowing Heads Purr-nickety Salmon & Chicken
- Meowing Heads Smitten Kitten Salmon
- Nutragold
- taste of the wild Canyon River With Trout And Salmon
- wellness cat
- wysong

some of the above are more ex like near $100 but the pack is also bigger!

Then those that are top of the list are like:
- orijen
- ziwipeak
- wellness core
- WildField Cat Adult Country Pork, Chicken & Eggs
- Merricks (not as good as the above few but not bad)
- Evo (but animal testing issue)
- Addiction Cat Dehydrated Wild Brushtail And Berries Entree
- K9 Feline Natural Cat Freeze Dried Chicken and Lamb
- Primal freeze dried
- the honest kitchen cat prowl

These are just what i have researched before, im not sure what other brands are out there, actually got alot! hope this gives you a general overview and idea of what is good for your kitty!

hope this helps!

Crescy

can recommend a few reputable online stores that can get pet supplies?
cat food, litter, etc..

goggle can find a lot.. but never buy online before. not sure which service or price better.

milogodzilla

Polypets is pretty good for online, I use them.

If its small purchase, I go to Luffy and Friends which is a small shop in Chai Chee. Their prices are cheap, but they don't do delivery unless its $200.

milogodzilla

quoted from my other post at cat owners page:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkRxDxVDbVw

just a little advice from myself, im not a pro but i hope what i share can help you out better! *lengthy post ahead* haha because my kitty got heart problem so i researched quite a bit on what food would be the best.. i also considered going natural aka raw, but i got no time to buy and weigh and also properly give the correct proportions of meat and supplements, too much work, so i just give up and buy best food i can find =x

to give you a gneral rough idea, an example for a good pet food is like orijen, the ingredient list goes like this:

Boneless chicken*, chicken meal, chicken liver*, whole herring*, boneless turkey*, turkey meal, turkey liver*, whole eggs*, boneless walleye*, whole salmon*, chicken heart*, chicken cartilage*, herring meal, salmon meal, chicken liver oil, chicken fat*, red lentils, green peas, green lentils, sun-cured alfalfa, yams*, pea fibre, chickpeas, pumpkin*, butternut squash*, spinach greens*, carrots*, Red Delicious apples*, Bartlett pears*, cranberries*, blueberries*, kelp, licorice root, angelica root, fenugreek, marigold flowers, sweet fennel, peppermint leaf, chamomile, dandelion, summer savory, rosemary, Enterococcus faecium .

see the first like 10+ ingredients are all meat stuff which is good!

if budget is a problem can buy from malaysia.. JB, Globalpets sells the orijen 6.8kg pack for about $80sgd (just a little bit higher than solid gold in terms of local price! + solid gold cant be found in globalpets in JB) in comparison to sg's $160 >.<

i go there every 6 months to buy the 6kg pack hurhur even if need to lug back i will! lol small 2kg+ pack is like $30+?

but if lazy to go malaysia to buy the next best i can think of that are not bad and also not too ex like $60-80 range for 5kg packs are the ones like:
- solid gold indigo moon
- Hi Tek Rations Naturals Grain Free Cat Dry Food
- eagle pro chicken
- firstmate grain free series
- fromm
- Meowing Heads Purr-nickety Salmon & Chicken
- Meowing Heads Smitten Kitten Salmon
- Nutragold
- taste of the wild Canyon River With Trout And Salmon
- wellness cat
- wysong

some of the above are more ex like near $100 but the pack is also bigger!

Then those that are top of the list are like:
- orijen
- ziwipeak
- wellness core
- WildField Cat Adult Country Pork, Chicken & Eggs
- Merricks (not as good as the above few but not bad)
- Evo (but animal testing issue)
- Addiction Cat Dehydrated Wild Brushtail And Berries Entree
- K9 Feline Natural Cat Freeze Dried Chicken and Lamb
- Primal freeze dried
- the honest kitchen cat prowl

These are just what i have researched before, im not sure what other brands are out there, actually got alot! hope this gives you a general overview and idea of what is good for your kitty!

hope this helps!

Agree with u on the list of top grade cat food u hv, but problem is that my cat actually doesn't like eating premium food, esp for wet food. I tried giving Wellness, Addiction. just sniff and walk away. So now I'm giving Fussie Cat and Daily Delight and Aixia. anything better and he'll sniff and walk away and waste my $4/$5 per can of atas food.

Jhyun

royal canin causes many cases of fur shredding lately

Just to add from my observation, I was feeding Royal Canine Persian to my adopted cat cos the rescuer said she was feeding them that...

Over the past 3 months, I've been slowly mixing in and changing to Taste Of The Wild as the Royal Canine finishes.
It's been about a month or so as TOTW has totally replaced RC and there's alot less shedding seen compared to before.

I wonder if it helps that nowadays I feed him a spoon of human grade tuna in the morning before I go to work... :s8:

luloos

Agree with u on the list of top grade cat food u hv, but problem is that my cat actually doesn't like eating premium food, esp for wet food. I tried giving Wellness, Addiction. just sniff and walk away. So now I'm giving Fussie Cat and Daily Delight and Aixia. anything better and he'll sniff and walk away and waste my $4/$5 per can of atas food.

haha my cat does the same! they dont like the premium canned foods, all brands rejected, only like cheapo like fussiecat, monge and sheba. its okay la, supplement with good dry food can liao! :s12:

gladysT

Hi guys! Would like to check what brand should I get to feed the stray cats? I tried Science Diet and Friskies but they don't really fancy. :/ Thanks in advance! :)

boyfunsg

haha my cat does the same! they dont like the premium canned foods, all brands rejected, only like cheapo like fussiecat, monge and sheba. its okay la, supplement with good dry food can liao! :s12:

My cats dislike wellness and ziwipeak. They used to like Zealandia but rejected the brand completely now. They're on Addiction and Aixia.
I give them raw beef too, mix with wet food.
Orijen dry food when I'm at work during daytime.

Get my monthly supply from Petfolio and Nekojam. Found a pet shop near my house (Toa Payoh Lor 4) selling at very low price especially Aixia and addiction. They only accept cash and net

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.