Owning a GTR/Audi R8

TECHnickly

Hi all, my dream car has always been either a Nissan GTR/Audi R8.. Would like to get to know everything better as I make little steps to move towards my goal. Purpose of my thread is to find out how much do I have to earn every month in order to be able to afford a GTR/R8. Seen a couple of young guys(insurance/property agents) driving them and I just want to know more on how can I possibly be able to afford such cars one day?

Looking at 2nd hand GTR/R8
1. How much should my monthly/yearly income be if I want to afford a GTR/R8 comfortably? Meaning no need to scrimp and save every month to afford it?
2. How much estimated $$ I need to fork out monthly for such luxury cars. (monthly payment/petrol/parking/insurance)

I’ve never owned a car before, so I hope you guys will be understanding as I don’t know much about the costs/hidden costs of owning a car, a luxury car in my case.
Currently single. Staying with parents. Thanks in advance all~

Stallone

I think u need minimum a 5 digit salary to own it comfortably..

GTR renewed Coe 150k can get Liao, however the gearbox can kaput n tt alone costs 5 digit to sort out

0% NCD, depending on ur age, insurance is 10k/yr around there

TECHnickly

I think u need minimum a 5 digit salary to own it comfortably..

GTR renewed Coe 150k can get Liao, however the gearbox can kaput n tt alone costs 5 digit to sort out

0% NCD, depending on ur age, insurance is 10k/yr around there

150k.. I heard downpayment is 40%, the rest is bank loan and pay by monthly installments right? Bank loan can loan up to how many years? Trying to calculate how much I need to fork out for monthly installment

yrh0413

It’s not much you earn every month, it’s about how much you can afford to purchase one and subsequently still be able to pay for the running cost.

Take Audi R8 as example:
List price around $800k
- downpayment $300k
- monthly installment $7k
- road tax $6k
- insurance premiums gonna be sky high since you do not have NCD (my guess is $20-40k per annum)

And the more mileage you clock (if this is your daily driver), you pay more for parking fuel season parking maintenance etc.

EJB

A year's of road/tax/insurance/maintenance for the GTR, you almost can buy a new car already.

trento

GTR COE model as the car is about 10 years, depreciates about 14k pa. insurance plus road tax i think can be around 8-10k. throw in another 30-40k to repair it.

the math is like this.

down 40k
monthly 1.5k
repair & maintenance total 30k (all figures are conservative)

i think u know what salary u need liao. R8 will cost more

Some tips for considering supercars.

1. no. of owners don't matter as much. Supercars tend to see many owners but most usually enhance the car after buying it. So it gets better and better. Unlike bnb cars where more owners is usually a bad sign. Service history is more important if u can find it.
2. Depreciation per annum is less important than the overall price. Some of the cars may seem to depreciate a lot as it's selling near coe end. But actually it's a good price cos ppl will renew anyway.
3. Solution. Get an old Ferrari. The older Ferraris some come in manual. Easier and cheaper to maintain. Ferrari parts are also in abundance and can easily source from ebay or many sites. And even the semi auto Ferrari parts don't cost a bomb. And many outside workshops can fix it.

trento

150k.. I heard downpayment is 40%, the rest is bank loan and pay by monthly installments right? Bank loan can loan up to how many years? Trying to calculate how much I need to fork out for monthly installment

used car dealer in house loan no need 40%

hellhole

if you just going to buy the car just to drive around in sg as a daily car. Then i say, dun waste your time or the car. If you are going to go sepang and get some proper racing going on then yes go ahead.

xiaozhi86

you should just go get a b&b car and max out 50% ncd.

last heard is 50% ncd for merc c63 for below 35 is 6-7k after 50% ncd

snipfer

These types of cars are in the range of 20-30k depreciation per year excluding repairs.

You need minimum 150k pa income

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

trento

These types of cars are in the range of 20-30k depreciation per year excluding repairs.

You need minimum 150k pa income

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

gtr and maserati coe cars are in the range of 14-15k depreciation pa, excluding repairs.

Sammiegirl00

Hi all, my dream car has always been either a Nissan GTR/Audi R8.. Would like to get to know everything better as I make little steps to move towards my goal. Purpose of my thread is to find out how much do I have to earn every month in order to be able to afford a GTR/R8. Seen a couple of young guys(insurance/property agents) driving them and I just want to know more on how can I possibly be able to afford such cars one day?

1. How much should my monthly/yearly income be if I want to afford a GTR/R8 comfortably? Meaning no need to scrimp and save every month to afford it?
2. How much estimated $$ I need to fork out monthly for such luxury cars. (monthly payment/petrol/parking/insurance)

I’ve never owned a car before, so I hope you guys will be understanding as I don’t know much about the costs/hidden costs of owning a car, a luxury car in my case.

Personally. When it comes to cars, it’s something I’m passionate about and something my bf will disapprove.

Don’t think too much about planning or saving up for it. You either have it or you don’t. By the time you saved up, you might no longer have the same lust for the 2 range that you have shortlisted.

In other word; smack your head and wake up to reality. *curtsy*

edwinttt1978

Frankly, some dreams are better kept as dreams.

andyhtc

The old Audi R8 has a notorious cracked frame above the front struts issue.

iamveryguailan

I wouldn’t consider such cars unless with a min income of 500k per annum

It’s not just the cost of the car, but also maintenance, repairs, petrol, parts replacement etc which adds up fast.

AL5509

Oh man... this is like an elbow to the throat.

But seriously if you need to save to get these cars, they are kinda cars you should not get.

Ya man. Should ask TS to read up your thread first?
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/cars-cars-204/how-much-would-cost-you-per-year-5944561-7.html

Maybe after reading he/she will not even consider of getting a car.

mel1888

Bank loan depends on ur income & other factors. U can get up 100% loan on balance amt.

HondaJG

are you buying a car just to show off?
then you should look at Porsche or Ferrari :s13:
this is really a show off to all.. :s13:

there is always 2 sides to a coin.
buying GTR or R8? it will depends the selling price of the 2nd hand car.
1) the cheaper the car is, the higher maintenance it will be.
2) the more expensive ones, you need scrimp and save every month to afford it

which approach do you want? there is no free lunch in this world :D

2. How much estimated $$ I need to fork out monthly for such luxury cars (monthly payment/petrol/parking/insurance)

only you have the answers to monthly payment and petrol, as only you know best of your lifestyle, financial status and what is the purpose for this luxury car (to commute or show off). :s13:

& you can find out the answers from the net for parking (HDB) and insurance (call your insurance agent).
btw, have you also include your insurance in your financial status? :s13:

I’ve never owned a car before, so I hope you guys will be understanding as I don’t know much about the costs/hidden costs of owning a car, a luxury car in my case. Currently single. Staying with parents. Thanks in advance all~

isnt your parents your responsibility? your monthly maintenance to them included in your financial status?

hidden cost? does accident included in the hidden cost? does wear and tear included in the hidden cost? how much can you put aside for the 2nd hand GTR or R8? unless you are prepare for brand new ones. :s13:

new road user? go for something affordable la.. :s12:
unless you are born with a sliver spoon. can go buy what you dream of.. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.