[News] Tencent plunges $45 billion after Trump’s WeChat ban

snapp

Tencent Holdings Ltd. dived more than 10% after U.S. President Donald Trump ordered a ban on WeChat and “transactions” with the company that threatened to stifle its global business.

China’s largest gaming and social media company shed more than $45 billion of market value after sliding by the most since October 2011 on an intraday basis. The vaguely worded executive order could potentially hammer not just the use of WeChat and WeChat Pay in the U.S. but extend to business relationships with some of America’s largest corporations.

Tencent ranked as the world’s biggest games publisher by revenue in 2019, according to Newzoo data, and it collaborates with U.S. industry leaders like Activision Blizzard Inc. and Electronics Arts Inc. It also holds a large stake in Fortnite maker Epic Games Inc. and owns League of Legends developer Riot Games Inc. Though some confusion remains about the extent of the ban, at its most extreme it would prevent any U.S. entities from transacting with Tencent, effectively freezing billions of dollars of commerce.

Trump’s order on WeChat came after a similar injunction against ByteDance Ltd.’s TikTok, the viral video service the White House accuses of jeopardizing national security. But Tencent is at the heart of communications between people and businesses within China and abroad, as the operator of WeChat.

“A ban on WeChat would be consequential because it would practically shut down communication between the U.S. and China,” said Graham Webster, China Digital Economy Fellow at think tank New America. “There are real data, privacy, and security concerns but they go well beyond these two Chinese apps and these orders just wrap the real issues up in political theatre.”

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...after-trump-s-wechat-order-threatens-business

whatmeworry

Ok buying the stocks now, based on your prediction.

Less than 45 days later will reverse after they negotiate a trade deal with China. Been going on for the past few years liao.

Threaten>negotiate trade deal>pull back. Repeat.

ninefile

If govt bans Ashley Madison website they should also ban wechat

So many fallen into KC trap

Posted from PCWX using No. Blank. Cheque!

avviicc

Do u feel that under trump, the whole world is not so peaceful compared to the periods prior to trump? The only year I think the world is in so much chaos was the 911 attack in 2001? The last 3 years under trump is like everyday got news about him.. almost everyday the spotlight is on him , tradewars, scandals, now virus, racial protest, etc.. sibei jialat..

And even trump piaking his own daughter Ivanka also can be spotlight.

nymous

Less than 45 days later will reverse after they negotiate a trade deal with China. Been going on for the past few years liao.

Threaten>negotiate trade deal>pull back. Repeat.

not this time, not under Trump

he is very angry now.. ccp don know what they stir

tsuyuri

Do u feel that under trump, the whole world is not so peaceful compared to the periods prior to trump? The only year I think the world is in so much chaos was the 911 attack in 2001? The last 3 years under trump is like everyday got news about him.. almost everyday the spotlight is on him , tradewars, scandals, now virus, racial protest, etc.. sibei jialat..

no it's only recent years china with all their antics threatening world peace.

ninefile

Is that a bad thing? For shorties, sibei nusic to the ears leh

nymous

Trump isnt the cause, Trump is the future

everything under the carpet so long so big.. that they come out now..

and u havent seen any

item2sell

trump is a biz man.

create news to push down stocks.
buy billions.

annouce U turn, and sell stocks.

Weaboo

Trump never start any wars

Cant say the same for bush or obama

nymous

I think if really possible Trump will just cut anything with China..

but he cant

unisimpsych

Yeah trump is picking on everyone to shore up his dwindling support. US is now the international bully. Screw japan and Taiwan in tpp, demand protection money from its allies in the pacific, bully wto for its own incompetence in covid control, stir **** in Middle East, pick on China, protect its flagging technology when huawei can do 5G better and cheaper. Now target tiktok when it is the American teenagers who love it. And wechat is a much better app than WhatsApp hands down.

If cannot compete, then protect. The new US is the old China.

But nvm, the many Falun Gong IB here will surge in to defend US.

wwenze

Is that a bad thing? For shorties, sibei nusic to the ears leh

For the past 5 months when people say they short also music to my ears

BuZhiDaoLeh

good time to buy some tencent stocks now since price is lower.
sure huat one :o

invigo79

Fun. Grabbing popcorn now.

Sent from Home using GAGT

ocs_woodlands

After close to 4 years of Trump, even dumb white, old, male, non college educated, republicans in the US are going against Trump...... what more people who are watching from the outside........ i think perhaps you should have concluded this when Kellyanne Conway said alternative facts years ago.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.