Home Cooking preferably LCHF Series - share ideas etc

kaypohchee

Redmart or other is ex le. The price in U-mart cannot fight. They are the cheaper, some more for vege is 1kg. The one you buy is AngMO brand. Very ex, think most only last two meal. I going to eat daily lunch so need cheap cheap. Haha.

But my angmo brands - buy only when got discounts/offers

Suggest you use cheaper Cabbage as Soup base bah
In Germany long ago Cabbage Soup was all the rage as Magic Weight Loss soup
Or meaty yummy Mushrooms - got those $1.85 vacuumed packs at NTUC
And if you buy during 'later hours' from the Wet Market - cheaper
Got certain Veg stalls supposed to be much cheaper too
eg those stalls opp Tampines Polyclinic n near the Sheng Shiong SS there
Or if got car - weekend shopping from Pasir Panjang Wholesale ???
Hmmm think could be cheaper from Tekka or Mustafa too

Cheaper Veggies for soups -
Cabbage
Spinach & Leafy Greens
Peas & Cucumber ?
Lotus Root & Radish
Carrots-Sweet Potatoes-Pumpkin-Capsicums[sweet]
Celery Cauliflower etc

Add EGGS which are cheap - to fill you up ???
Have a SALAD [Tomato-Egg etc] or a Fried Egg/Omelette with the SOUP

Meatballs & Pork Ribs
Dried Scallops & Cuttlefish - for the unami
Chicken Fish etc

Herbs & Seasonings VERY Important (after basic Salt/Black Pepper)
Garlic Cumin & Turmeric etc
Cayenne Pepper/Paprika - for some heat

Mushroom Soup with lots of different meaty mushrooms will be very substantial - I love this too !
Clam Chowder type creamy soups - angmo soups ??
Minestrone - Mixed Veg soups ?

Actually if you hv an Immersion Blender to cream the cooked veg in angmo soups - can be very THICK creamy soup & very filling there
Even Chinese style - the 'keng' type of soups are thickish .....

b1fbf1246fbf636c9549cb9427b0e7d1.jpg

d60359c2121014e10b207bec76c7ad18.jpg

Can also consider this healthy spiralised veggie noodle-carb replacement soup from http://www.everydayhealthyrecipes.com/make-spiralized-vegetable-soup/
6f1d23c6ba320c0c026f8c15b965c7a5.jpg

kaypohchee

My meals on Tues 15/8/17

My IF beehoon lunch
Agi8K52l.jpg

Tea - yesterday's sweet salty puff pastries
YREkqDXl.jpg

Dinner
- carrot pork rib soup
- celery prawn
pTOqEIIl.jpg

Shared Fruit plate + personal portion longans
vjctMAzl.jpg

Hibiscus tea
i0v3jdol.jpg

kaypohchee

So pretty & inviting

http://www.imbored-letsgo.com/prosciutto-burrata-asparagus-salad/
Prosciutto-Burrata-Asparagus-Salad4.jpg

This Prosciutto Burrata Asparagus Salad not only has two of my favorite foods to come from Italy – Prosciutto and Burrata, it also has roasted asparagus, sliced Campari tomatoes, cantaloupe, baby arugula and dollops of creamy homemade pesto. Is it a salad? Appetizer? Antipasto? Doesn’t really matter what you call it, just pile it all on a big platter with some crusty bread and let your family or guests help themselves.

This platter is the perfect example of one of my favorite ways to eat food, especially in the hot summer. I know it may not be hot, or summer, quite yet for some people but it certainly is here in Florida!

Just set out a big platter with lots of delicious snacking food, grab a glass of wine, and nibble away. It’s so simple to make, there’s really not much cooking involved, mostly just assembling ingredients. The possibilities of what to include are simply a matter of taste preferences. But I recommend you don’t skip the burrata and prosciutto!

Prosciutto-Burrata-Asparagus-Salad1.jpg

If you’ve never had Burrata cheese, now is the time to get some! It’s one of my favorites and really is a step above fresh mozzarella. Burrata has an outside “shell” of fresh mozzarella with a creamy mixture of mozzarella and cream on the inside. It’s so delectable and perfectly suited for salads, spread on bread, or really anything. I just LOVE it!

Prosciutto-Burrata-Asparagus-Salad2.jpg

I roasted the asparagus for a few minutes but that’s about the only cooking required. Prepare the asparagus however you prefer. You could also toast the torn bread pieces a bit if you want while you have the oven on. I just lightly brushed some olive oil on the pieces and quickly toasted them to crisp them up a bit. Totally optional. Because Prosciutto and melon is such a classically good combination, I had to include cantaloupe. You don’t have to get all fancy and make melon balls if you don’t want, just buy some cantaloupe already cut up at the grocery store and save a step. I think peaches would be delicious here too! To finish it off, I used my favorite homemade pesto (you really should make some, it’s phenomenal) and a grinding of fresh black pepper. You could skip the pesto and just drizzle some olive oil and balsamic vinegar on top (or balsamic glaze) but I like the pesto best. See how flexible this is? It’s pretty much one of those fly by the seat of your pants type of dish.

Prosciutto Burrata Asparagus Salad with tomatoes, melon, arugula, pesto and crusty bread

Prosciutto-Burrata-Asparagus-Salad3.jpg

Next time you want something simple and impressive to munch on, assemble this Prosciutto Burrata Asparagus Salad, pour a glass of wine (or your favorite non-alcoholic beverage) and call it a day! Oh, and don’t forget some good crusty bread to go along with it.

PROSCIUTTO BURRATA ASPARAGUS SALAD

This Prosciutto Burrata Asparagus Salad makes a great antipasto appetizer. Adjust amounts or ingredients to your liking and number of people serving.

INGREDIENTS
3 balls Burrata
4 oz. Prosciutto
1 bunch asparagus, tough ends trimmed*
4 Campari tomatoes, sliced (or use whatever tomatoes you want)
¼ cantaloupe, cubed or make melon balls
couple handfuls of baby arugula
¼ C. Pesto
1 loaf good, crusty rustic bread

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Roast asparagus, heat oven to 425º. Place asparagus on baking sheet and drizzle with a bit of olive oil and sprinkle with salt & pepper. Roast about 4-5 minutes, just enough to get them slightly cooked but still a bit crisp. Set aside.
2. Assemble: Scatter a couple handfuls of arugula over large platter. Arrange the burrata, prosciutto, asparagus, tomatoes, cantaloupe. Dollop with some good pesto. Grind some fresh pepper over top.
3. Serve with pieces of good crusty bread.

*I roasted the asparagus. You could grill it or steam it too, however you prefer to cook your asparagus. Just be sure to keep it crisp!

harky

Wow. Actually I love Cabbage Soup . My mom always use 3layer pork and cook with Cabbage Soup, very nice lol. Thanks! Next week I try lol.

But my angmo brands - buy only when got discounts/offers

Suggest you use cheaper Cabbage as Soup base bah
In Germany long ago Cabbage Soup was all the rage as Magic Weight Loss soup
Or meaty yummy Mushrooms - got those $1.85 vacuumed packs at NTUC
And if you buy during 'later hours' from the Wet Market - cheaper
Got certain Veg stalls supposed to be much cheaper too
eg those stalls opp Tampines Polyclinic n near the Sheng Shiong SS there
Or if got car - weekend shopping from Pasir Panjang Wholesale ???
Hmmm think could be cheaper from Tekka or Mustafa too

Cheaper Veggies for soups -
Cabbage
Spinach & Leafy Greens
Peas & Cucumber ?
Lotus Root & Radish
Carrots-Sweet Potatoes-Pumpkin-Capsicums[sweet]
Celery Cauliflower etc

Add EGGS which are cheap - to fill you up ???
Have a SALAD [Tomato-Egg etc] or a Fried Egg/Omelette with the SOUP

Meatballs & Pork Ribs
Dried Scallops & Cuttlefish - for the unami
Chicken Fish etc

Herbs & Seasonings VERY Important (after basic Salt/Black Pepper)
Garlic Cumin & Turmeric etc
Cayenne Pepper/Paprika - for some heat

Mushroom Soup with lots of different meaty mushrooms will be very substantial - I love this too !
Clam Chowder type creamy soups - angmo soups ??
Minestrone - Mixed Veg soups ?

Actually if you hv an Immersion Blender to cream the cooked veg in angmo soups - can be very THICK creamy soup & very filling there
Even Chinese style - the 'keng' type of soups are thickish .....

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/b1/fb/f1/b1fbf1246fbf636c9549cb9427b0e7d1.jpg[IMG]

[IMG]https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/d6/03/59/d60359c2121014e10b207bec76c7ad18.jpg[IMG]

Can also consider this healthy spiralised veggie noodle-carb replacement soup from [URL="http://www.everydayhealthyrecipes.com/make-spiralized-vegetable-soup/"]http://www.everydayhealthyrecipes.com/make-spiralized-vegetable-soup/[/URL]
[IMG]https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/6f/1d/23/6f1d23c6ba320c0c026f8c15b965c7a5.jpg[IMG][/QUOTE]

kaypohchee

Wow. Actually I love Cabbage Soup . My mom always use 3layer pork and cook with Cabbage Soup, very nice lol. Thanks! Next week I try lol.
When do belly pork n pork ribs
Can always dip the meat into dark soy sauce - very yummy !!!
Or spare part soup - very shiok !

Or do Cabbage Roll soup
Very filling !!!!

harky

We dip in soy sauce.. Very nice. Can eat with Alot of rice.

When do belly pork n pork ribs
Can always dip the meat into dark soy sauce - very yummy !!!
Or spare part soup - very shiok !

Or do Cabbage Roll soup
Very filling !!!!

kaypohchee

We dip in soy sauce.. Very nice. Can eat with Alot of rice.

Errmm by going with the VEG SOUP lunches
Are you still eating with carbs like rice
OR are you on LC & avoiding/eating LESS White/Simple Carbs here ???

BC if you are still eating rice WITH your soups, then maybe no need to 'purposely' make your soups thicker/more substantial to fill you up eg with Meat STEWS such as Oxtail Beef Goulash Stews or Beef Chilis etc ....
local Teochew Porridge with rice in your soups .....

kaypohchee

Redmart or other is ex le. The price in U-mart cannot fight. They are the cheaper, some more for vege is 1kg. The one you buy is AngMO brand. Very ex, think most only last two meal. I going to eat daily lunch so need cheap cheap. Haha.

The youmart prices are cheap but don't expect too much just in case ....
More good reviews than bad ones too

Just read this bad review :

Aug 10, 2017 Written by aun*******

Vegetable is thaw on delivery, and contained all small broken pieces. Probably a few big ones but the rest are left overs. What to say!

Type of Vegetable:Broccoli (1kg)

harky

No rice. Just vegetable soup.

Errmm by going with the VEG SOUP lunches
Are you still eating with carbs like rice
OR are you on LC & avoiding/eating LESS White/Simple Carbs here ???

BC if you are still eating rice WITH your soups, then maybe no need to 'purposely' make your soups thicker/more substantial to fill you up eg with Meat STEWS such as Oxtail Beef Goulash Stews or Beef Chilis etc ....
local Teochew Porridge with rice in your soups .....

harky

Haha. Ya I saw this but most of their veg pic look quite good. No car and lazy to travel far far to buy na.

The youmart prices are cheap but don't expect too much just in case ....
More good reviews than bad ones too

Just read this bad review :

Aug 10, 2017 Written by aun*******

Vegetable is thaw on delivery, and contained all small broken pieces. Probably a few big ones but the rest are left overs. What to say!

Type of Vegetable:Broccoli (1kg)

kaypohchee

Found these recipes for my Ready to Eat TUSCAN BEAN MIX with Pearl Barley from Epicure [discounted 50% at $2.30 - expiring soon]

dx.resize.php

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/553/tuscan_bean_and_ham_hock_broth_with_salsa_verde/

Tuscan Bean & Ham Hock Broth with Salsa Verde
Submitted By:CreativeCooks

Background Info:
This great recipe is made by saving the stock and some of the ham from cooking a ham hock.

Ham hock (also known as pork knuckle) is really inexpensive and very tasty.
No. of Servings: 4
Preparation time: 15min(s)
Course: Starter
Cooking time: 1 hr(s)

Ingredients:
For the salsa Verde:
20g Basil - ideally fresh
10g Mint Leaves - ideally fresh
30g Parsley - ideally fresh
3 Garlic Cloves
30g Salted Capers - washed
4 Anchovy fillets
38ml Red Wine Vinegar
80ml Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 heaped tsp Dijon mustard
Sea Salt
Black Pepper

For the Broth:
350g EpicureTuscan Bean Mix
1 Carrot - peeled & diced finely
2 Leek - cut in ½ , sliced & washed
2 Celery sticks - cut & diced
3 Crushed garlic cloves
1 bunch Flat leaf parsley
Cooked Ham Hock -skin & fat removed and pulled
1500ml Ham Stock
50g Butter
Sea Salt
Black Pepper

Cooking Instructions:
For the Salsa Verde:
Place all ingredients in a food processor and blitz for 30 seconds, store in a sealed container in the fridge until needed. It will keep for up to 2 -3 days.

For the broth:
Place a deep sauce pan on the hob with the butter and heat. Once the butter has melted, add the carrots, leeks, celery, garlic and the flat leaf parsley and cook on a moderate heat until soft and tender, but not brown.

Then add the beans, pulled ham hock and the ham stock, turn down the heat and cook slowly for about 30 -40 minutes, check for seasoning it will need salt and pepper.

To serve:
This must be served piping hot, heat up 4 big soup bowls, pour the both in to the bowls and then a heaped table spoon of salsa Verde. Serve with chunky warm bread.

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/88/bean_and_pearl_barley_casserole/

Bean and Pearl Barley Casserole
Submitted By: Bonbon

Preparation time:
Course: Main
Cooking time:

Ingredients:
1 Epicure Tuscan Bean Mix
1 large onion chopped
1 green pepper deseeded and chopped
3 carrots sliced
1 clove of garlic crushed
3 tablespoons of vegetable oil
1 bay leaf
1 can of Epicure tomatoes
I tablespoon of tomato puree
½ teaspoon of chilli powder
Sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper
A few dried bread crumbs
25g of butter

Cooking Instructions:
Heat the oil in a saucepan then add the onions, pepper, carrots, garlic, bay leaf and fry gently for 15 minutes but do not allow to brown. When this is done remove the bayleaf and take off the heat then stir in the canned tomatoes, tomato puree, chilli powder and the beans. Spoon the mixture into a shallow casserole dish and sprinkle with the breadcrumbs. Dot the butter over the top of the casserole and place in a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes at 190ºc.

1 user comment(s)
Submitted by Stephen Squires @ 9:10am Saturday July 14, 2012

Its great with any grilled or roasted meats I used fresh tomatoes and added sundried tomatoes

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/69/sticky_lemon_chicken_wings_with_tuscan_bean_salad_and_feta/

Sticky Lemon Chicken Wings with Tuscan Bean Salad & Feta
Submitted By: JHP

Background Info:
A great recipe for al fresco dining but equally as good indoors.
No. of Servings: 6 - 8
Preparation time: 10min(s)
Cooking time: 45min(s)

Ingredients:
For the chicken wings:
25 x chicken wings, tips removed (ask your butcher to do this)
Marinade:
Juice of 2 lemons
5 x crushed garlic cloves
100g runny Honey
1 x bunch fresh coriander leaves (washed & chopped)
Sea salt
Milled black pepper

For the Tuscan bean salad:
1 x 350g Tuscan Bean Mix with Pearl Barley
40ml Olive oil
2 x garlic cloves (sliced thinly)
1 x red onion peeled & sliced thinly
Juice of 1 lemon
1 x bunch fresh mint leaves
½ cucumber (seeds removed) & sliced thinly
1 x bunch fresh flat leaf parsley (de-stalked)
Crumbled feta cheese x 150g
Sea salt
Ground black pepper

Recommended Wine:
White : Pinot Grigio

Cooking Instructions:
Pre-heat the oven to 180°C, place wings on a baking tray and season with salt and pepper cook for 30 minutes, place the marinade ingredients in a bowl and mix well.
Once the wings are cooked, transfer into the bowl with the marinade and mix well ensuring the chicken wings are coated, transfer back on to the baking tray and cook for another 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Place the olive oil, salt & pepper, lemon juice into a large bowl and whisk until combined. Add the beans, parsley, red onion and cucumber and half of the crumbled feta cheese and stir gently.

To serve:
Place the salad in a big bowl, followed by the hot sticky chicken wings, & the remaining feta cheese over the top & garnish with mint leaves and a good slug of extra virgin olive oil.

The following recipes use the Mediterranean Bean Mix instead

dx.resize.php

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/17/north_african_monkfish_and_bean_curry/

North African Monkfish & Bean Curry

Cooking time: 30min(s)

Ingredients:
600g monkfish tail, cut into 2cm chunk
1 x 350g Mediterranean bean mix
1 x white onion, thinly sliced
Olive oil
2 x crushed garlic cloves
40g fresh grated root ginger
1 tsp ground turmeric
1 tsp ground cumin
1 x cinnamon stick
Hot cayenne pepper, to taste
1 x 400g tin plum tomatoes
Sea salt
Milled black pepper
Greek yoghurt
Roasted marcona almonds x 24
Chopped coriander leaves

Recommended Wine:
White : Viognier

Cooking Instructions:
Heat the oil in a large pan over a moderate heat. Add the onions, garlic, cayenne pepper, root ginger, ground turmeric & cumin & salt & pepper and cook for 5 minutes, stirring regularly.
Add the beans, plum tomatoes, cinnamon stick and 250 ml of water and simmer for 10 minutes.
Then add the monkfish tail, this will take a further 10 minutes to cook or until the fish is tender to touch, now remove from the heat.
Pour the stew into a big bowl, spoon over the top with a good quality Greek yoghurt, scatter with fresh coriander leaves and almonds.

1 user comment(s)
Submitted by annie @ 8:55am Monday August 30, 2010

This is a really delicious dish, easily and quickly prepared - highly recommended.

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/2/smoked_pancetta_and_mediterranean_and_bean_soup_with_pecorino_and_rocket/

Smoked Pancetta & Mediterranean Bean Soup with Pecorino & Rocket
Submitted By: CreativeCooks

No. of Servings: 4-6
Cooking time: 50min(s)

Ingredients:
350g Epicure Mediterranean Bean Mix
2 medium White Onions - peeled and finely chopped
4 Garlic Cloves - finely chopped
250g diced Smoked Pancetta
1 Leek - cut in half, washed and sliced finely
Juice of 1 Lemon
1 large bunch Flat Leaf Parsley
1.2 litres (1,200ml) Chicken Stock
35ml Olive Oil
2 Bay Leaves
100g shaved Pecorino Cheese
Sea Salt & Ground Black Pepper
1 bag wild Rocket - to garnish

Cooking Instructions:
Cook the onions over a moderate heat with the olive oil; add the garlic, smoked pancetta, leeks & parsley, and continue to cook for a further 10 minutes on a low heat.

Add the chicken stock and bay leaves and simmer for 20 minutes, then add the beans and cook for 10 minutes.

When the soup is cooked, taste and add salt and pepper as needed.

To serve:
This must be served piping hot. Heat 4 soup bowls in the oven, then ladle the soup into the bowls.

Place the wild rocket on top and grate the pecorino cheese all over, then drizzle with olive oil & lemon juice.

2 user comment(s)

Submitted by Northern Star @ 12:23pm Sunday July 05, 2009

Didn't have any Pancetta so just used bacon which worked equally as well. Bean mixes were really good. Can be used as a starter or a lunchtime snack.

Submitted by Ann @ 3:41pm Thursday March 07, 2013

Really good and wholesome - very impressed with my first try with the packs of Epicure beans

Made with Rustic 6 Bean Mix instead

dx.resize.php

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/41/pork_goulash_with_six_beans_and_sweet_peppers/

Pork Goulash with Six Beans and Sweet Peppers

Preparation time: 30min(s)
Cooking time: 4hr(s) 30min(s)

Ingredients:
1kg Belly Pork - skin off (get your butcher to do this)
350g pack Epicure Rustic 6 Bean Mix
Sea Salt & Black Pepper to season
1 tsp dried Chilli Flakes
Olive Oil
1 White Onion - finely chopped
1 tsp whole Caraway Seeds
1 tsp Fennel Seeds
4 Garlic cCoves
2 tsp Smoked Paprika
1 Red Chilli - finely chopped
2 400g tins Chopped Tomatoes
2 Red Peppers - roughly chopped
2 Orange Peppers - roughly chopped
2 Yellow Peppers - roughly chopped
2 fresh Bay Leaf
1 bunch chopped fresh Oregano
20ml Red Wine Vinegar
450ml Vegetable Stock
150ml Soured Cream - to serve

Equipment:
Deep casserole dish with lid

Cooking Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 150°C
2. Place a deep casserole dish with a lid, on the hob and heat.
3. Score the fat on the pork in a criss-cross pattern all the way through to the meat, then season the generously with salt & pepper and dried chilli flakes.
4. Pour the olive oil into the casserole dish and add the pork fat side down.
5. Cook at a moderate heat on the hob for 20 minutes.
6. Remove the pork from the casserole dish and put to one side.
7. Add the onions, caraway & fennel seeds, crushed garlic, smoked paprika and chillies to the casserole and cook for around 15 minutes (until the onions are starting to colour).
8. Add the tomatoes, peppers, bay leaves and wine vinegar. Place the pork back into the casserole dish and add the fresh oregano. Pour the pork stock over the pork and give it a quick stir. Bring to the boil, put the lid on the top and place in the preheated oven for 3½ hours.
9. Add the beans and cook for further 20 minutes.
10. With a fork pull the pork apart. Serve in bowls and top with soured cream.

Hmmm .... think I can do this in a slow cooker too ???
Alamak - mom just protested when I asked her to buy me 1 kg pork belly here - say at most 300-400 gram for the both of us ???

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/18/roasted_butternut_squash_with_rustic_beans_and_chorizo/

Roasted Butternut Squash with Rustic Beans & Chorizo

Preparation time:
Cooking time:

Ingredients:
For the Squash:
400g butternut squash, peeled & sliced into fingers
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
Sea salt & ground black pepper

For the Mixed Bean & Chorizo:
350g pack Rustic Six Bean Mix
1 medium white onion, finely chopped
200g chorizo, sliced

3 garlic cloves, sliced thinly
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
2 tablespoons olive oil
400g tin chopped tomatoes
150ml red wine
1 medium bunch flat leaf parsley, chopped
Sea salt & ground black pepper
150ml water

Recommended Wine:
White : Viognier

Cooking Instructions:
For the roasted squash and thyme: Pre-heat the oven to 180°c; place all the ingredients in a bowl and tumble using your hands until all of the butternut squash is coated with the thyme and olive oil; heat a baking tray in the oven; pour the butternut squash in the baking tray; roast for 20mins or until soft and golden brown.

For the mixed bean and chorizo: Put the olive oil and the garlic into a saucepan on a moderate heat until the garlic begins to soften; add the sliced chorizo and cook until the slices start to brown, then add the chopped onions, paprika and continue to cook for 5 minutes; add the red wine and simmer until the wine has reduced by half; add the tinned tomatoes and the beans followed by the salt, pepper, flat leaf parsley & water, and simmer for 20 minutes.

To serve: Spoon the stew into a large bowl, place butternut squash on top and serve with warm chunky bread, or a bowl of steamed basmati rice.

2 user comment(s)

Submitted by nikki @ 4:17am Thursday November 14, 2013

adore this recipe.Unfortunately local sainsburys no longer sell rustic six bean mix.Live nr Exeter, any other suppliers? Thank you

Submitted by daph @ 6:37am Saturday December 07, 2013

Love this recipe. My local Sainsburys has also stopped stocking this bean mix. Waitrose still sell this.

http://www.creativecooks.info/recipe-details/19/quesadilla_flour_tortillas_with_re_fried_beans/

Quesadilla (Flour Tortillas with Re-fried beans)

Background Info:
A great starter for a Mexican feast or as a snack.
Serve with guacamole
No. of Servings:4
Course: Snack
Cooking time: 20min(s)

Ingredients:
For the re-fried beans:
1 x 350g pack Epicure Rustic 6 Bean Mix
½ medium white onion (chopped finely)
3 x crushed garlic cloves
½ tsp ground cumin
Olive oil
¼ tsp dried chilli flakes
1 x red chilli (seeds removed & sliced thinly)
Large handful of fresh coriander
Sea Salt
Ground black pepper

For the Quesadilla:
8 x tortilla wraps
1 bag pre-washed baby spinach
8 x pre-sliced prosciutto or Parma ham
200g grated Monterey jack cheese
Olive oil

Cooking Instructions:
Pre-heat the oven to 170°C
Pour the olive oil in to an oven proof dish and heat on the hob, add the garlic, diced onion, ground cumin, chilli flakes & fresh chilli and cook until soft (5 minutes). Then add the rustic 6 beans and stir, continue cooking for 2-3 minutes. Place the dish in the oven and cook for 10 minutes.

Once cooked pour the beans into a food processor, add the fresh coriander leaves
And more olive oil if needed and then blend until semi smooth.

This recipe will make 4 filled Quesadillas:
Spread a heaped tea spoon of the re-fried beans on to 1 tortilla, ensuring all the beans cover the tortilla, then place a handful of washed spinach on top of the beans, now lay x 2 slices of the prosciutto ham over the spinach, and finally sprinkle a good handful of Monterey cheese on top, place another tortilla on top and press down.

Pour a little olive oil into a pan and place on the hob and heat, once hot place the Quesadilla in the frying pan and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side, once cooked remove from the frying pan and cut into 4-6 slices

kaypohchee

Forgot to take pic of Wed Roast Duck Noodle lunch at FC with mom (had to make sure she knew what she was doing at the bank)

Here's my Dim Sum tea
IDqznlll.jpg

The lemon infused water with ACV
0AU4ULxl.jpg

Dinner was just steamed chicken n steamed brinjals with yummy dip/sauce
oBRbyGil.jpg

Fruit = cherries nectarines n longans
aQzw6dyl.jpg

kaypohchee

Here's my typical LCHF Big English Breakfast meal complete with the works at around 1pm Thurs or 18:6 IF
ie 18 hours fasting from last night's 7pm dinner with 6 hour Eating Window between 1 - 7 pm.

- 2 eggs with 1 yolk kept deliberately runny for its choline goodness
- pre-fried-from-fridge bacon crisped up for serving
- mushrooms onions tomatoes
- salt pepper cilantro garlic
- some dill butter too
- grapefruit
RnhNS9wl.jpg

Scrumptious n SO healthy at the same time in the LCHF way !

Lol mom brought back LC Fish Soup for my lunch - will go towards dinner now

Shared some non-LC starchy Tau Suan too - bad bad bad lol
x6uJeDul.jpg

More lemon infused water topped up with more ice cubes
dcPOMhWl.jpg

Tea
YQ4l8iBl.jpg

Dinner
- Steamed chicken mushroom
- Kailan carrot
- Fish Soup [from lunch]
EBNp4Hal.jpg

Greek Yoghurt with Strawberries
FRuvUPEl.jpg

kaypohchee

i still not used to eating angmoh food leh... whenever i cook still prefer asian stuff.
Ermn...Got more LC recipes from the angmo practitioners la tho can find rare pockets of Asian LC recipes too.....
And if I bother to do some searching myself ...

Anyway I am still eating mom's Chinese cooking - just cut out the brown rice to make it more LC lor

Like for tomorrow's LC item, mom got me a big strip of pork belly from the wet market today
- am still undecided whether to go ahead with that Pork Goulash Bean Mix recipe or not - suddenly got thoughts of Tong Po Rou instead ????

But I m pretty used to eating different cuisines ..... in better days even did quite a bit of fine dining (but not the ultra high end ) n enjoyed those .....

But as I said I only really started more regular cooking from last year in my bid to hv more LCHF food/eating ...

Guess it sort of became a new hobby of sorts exploring new recipes etc esp since I am now so free as jobless since 2nd 2014 Retrenchment (not counting that very short-lived Office Admin stint in Mar-April ...sighzzzz )...
but got to stop with my grocery shopping as ran out of money n can only depend on mom getting me what I ask n on her moods too...

Toto - Mon Draw - SOS
Pls save me - come to my $$ aid !!!

kaypohchee

http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/food/how-to-make-dong-po-pork

Video: How to make braised Dongpo pork

st08-lif-025-00.jpg

MAKE IT YOURSELF: BRAISED DONG PO PORK BELLY

INGREDIENTS

For the filling (above):
1kg pork belly
50gginger, sliced
50gred onions, peeland halved
50gshallots, peeledand halved
50gspring onions, cut into5cm
sections
45gyellow rock sugar
600mlwater or stock
1 1/2Tbs Chinese wine
1 tsp salt
1 tsp dark soya sauce

METHOD
1. Place pork belly in a pot with enough water to cover and simmer over low heat for about 40minutes. Remove from pot and set aside to cool, covered, before placing in the freezer for 30minutes to harden.
2. Cut the chilled pork into 4.5 x 3.5cm pieces (about 20 pieces) (photo 1).
3. Deep-fry the ginger slices, red onions, shallots and spring onions until aromatic (photo 2).
4. In a wok over low heat with a little of the residual oil from deep-frying the aromatics, fry the yellow rock sugar, stirring constantly, until it melts into a thick caramel.
5. Add the water or stock to the caramel and stir until the caramel has melted. Add Chinese wine, salt and dark soya sauce and mix well (photo 3).
6. Line the base of a heavy-bottomed pot with a bamboo net, which you can buy from shops selling claypots. Place deep-fried ginger slices, red onions, shallots and spring onions on top of it (photo 4). Place pork belly, skin-side facing down, in the pot and pour in the braising liquid. Bring the pot to a boil and turn heat down to low and simmer for up to three hours. There is no need to stir the pork during the braising.
7. Dish up and serve the pork and sauce over steamed rice or buns and vegetables. Serves four to five.

The recipe here is provided by Crystal Jade Jiang Nan's chef Chen Gang, 43, from Nanjing in China.

His method requires simmering the pork in hot water for 40 minutes to get the oil out and deep frying the aromatic herbs for better flavour. He does not use spices as he feels they would obscure the flavour of the meat.

To get the top of the pork perfectly flat, he places a heavy flat object over the meat before chilling it in the freezer.

Crystal Jade serves the dish in all its Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao and Crystal Jade Jiang Nan restaurants, including those at HDB Hub in Toa Payoh. It is priced at $14.80.

Chef Chen Gang demonstrates how to make Dong Po Pork at http://www.razor.tv/video/a-dish-named-after-a-chinese-poet/4800266888001/4900983438001

http://themeatmen.sg/dong-po-rou/

Braised Pork Belly (Dong Po Rou) – 东坡肉

Servings: 4
Time: 2 hr 15 min
Skill: Easy

Ingredients
1 kg pork belly (square)
50g ginger
50g spring onions
1 cup light soy sauce
¼ cup dark soy sauce
1 cup chinese rice wine
60g rock sugar (adjust to preference)
1 litre water (or more to cover the pork belly)
1-2 tbsp cornstarch solution
Fresh coriander for garnish

Instructions
1. Cut 50g ginger into slices
2. Cut 50g spring onions into half lengths
3. Cut and divide 1kg of pork belly into 4 squares
4. Blanch pork belly in boiling water for 3 mins
5. Remove and set aside
6. Place spring onions on the base of a claypot
7. Lay ginger slices on top
8. Add pork belly skin side down
9. Add 1 cup light soy sauce
10. ¼ cup dark soy sauce
11. Add 1 cup chinese rice wine
12. Add water until it slightly covers the pork belly
13. Add 60g rock sugar (adjust to preference)
14. Bring to boil, then cover and simmer for 2 hours on low heat
15. Halfway through flip pork belly to skin side up.
16. Once done remove pork belly from claypot
17. Add one cup of braising liquid from the claypot to a wok
18. Bring to boil and thicken with 1-2 tbsp of cornstarch solution
19. Drizzle sauce over pork belly and garnish with fresh coriander

http://thewoksoflife.com/2015/10/braised-pork-belly-dong-po-rou/

Braised Pork Belly (Dong Po Rou)

braised-pork-belly-8.jpg

braised-pork-belly-9.jpg

braised-pork-belly-13.jpg

Prep time 20 mins
Cook time 3 hours 30 mins
Total time 3 hours 50 mins

Serves: 6-8 servings
Ingredients
2 lb slab of pork belly
3 bunches scallions, washed and cut in half lengthwise
8 slices ginger
2 cups Shaoxing wine
⅔ cup light soy sauce
2½ tablespoons dark soy sauce
4 - 5 oz. rock sugar, depending on desired level of sweetness

Instructions
1. Wash the pork belly as a whole piece. Blanch it whole in boiling water for one minute and drain. This process gets rid of any impurities and also allows you to more easily cut the pork belly into same-size pieces. Cut the pork into 3 x 3 inch pieces. You can also make them 2 x 2 inches if you like them smaller. Set aside.
2. In a medium clay pot (preferably) or a medium (4-quart) regular pot, lay the scallions on the bottom in a thick, even layer. The scallions should cover the entire bottom of the pot. Space the ginger slices evenly over the scallions.
Next lay the pork belly skin-side down on top of the ginger and scallions. Pour over the Shaoxing wine, light soy sauce, and dark soy sauce. Add the rock sugar to the pot as well.
3. Now cover the pot and place it over medium high heat. Once the liquid in the pot comes to a boil, immediately turn down the heat to low and simmer for 90 minutes. No need to stir.
After 90 minutes, you have 2 choices:
1. Turn the pork belly skin-side up in the pot, cover, and let simmer for another 90 minutes. With the heat at the lowest setting, there should be plenty of liquid in the pot to cook the pork through the entire process––no need to add additional liquid.
2. Transfer the pork to a heat-proof plate, skin-side up (I used the small clay pots you see in the photos). Drizzle with some of the braising liquid, and place in a steamer for another 90 minutes.
Both methods should yield tender, delicious results! When serving, transfer the pork pieces to a plate. At this point, you can heat the braising liquid in a saucepan to reduce the sauce and drizzle it over the pork.

http://www.delicious.com.au/recipes/stephanies-tung-po-pork/ee4dc52f-05e1-4819-a2a0-124f718b80a5

INGREDIENTS
900g fresh belly pork, boned but not skinned
1/4 cup (60ml) peanut oil
5 spring onions, cut into 7cm pieces
6 slices fresh ginger
125g yellow rock sugar or 4 tablespoons caster sugar
1/2 cup (125ml) dark soy sauce
2 tablespoons light soy sauce
1/2 cup (125ml) rice wine

METHOD
1 Blanch pork in a large saucepan of boiling water for 10 minutes. Remove and dry with paper towel. Heat a wok over high heat, then add oil and reduce heat to medium-low. Add meat skin-side down and brown skin slowly for about 10-15 minutes or until golden and crispy. Lift from wok and wipe off any excess fat from the meat with paper towel.
2 Place spring onion, ginger, sugar, soy sauces, rice wine, 1/2 cup (125ml) of water and pork into a large cast-iron casserole. Bring to a simmer then cover tightly and cook slowly over very low heat for 3 hours or until the meat is tender and much of the fat has been rendered. Strain liquid into a tall jug (discard spring onion and ginger), allow to settle for 10 minutes, then spoon off all the fat.
3 Slice meat thinly, pour sauce over and serve at room temperature with baby bok choy and steamed rice.

Singapore Blog - cannot copy & paste !
http://delishar.com/2016/02/dong-po-rou-braised-pork-belly.html

kaypohchee

Alright got my Tung Po Pork simmering in the claypot - another half hour and I will need to flip the pieces of meat over n simmer for another hour (2 hrs total)
Smells really nice .....

Am using the 1st n 2nd recipe methods above - combo together ...

Step by Step :

1. Bought the yellow rock sugar more ginger n the rice wine n small hwa teow jiu from mom's $10 (since she forgot to get me the rock sugar requested last night)
Uvff6Ull.jpg

Mom bought the pork belly from the wet market yesterday morning n had ready blanched-cooked it - not the 1kg I had requested n half the piece already had the pork layers split !!!!
Iz7VK9Bl.jpg

KM8HjVNl.jpg

2. Deep frying the sliced spring onions ginger 1/2 onion n shallots - till really fragrant n set aside
xCd0O2bl.jpg

3. Caramelising the rock sugar carefully over low flame - add water Chinese wine n soy sauces
*** REDUCE the amount of rock sugar seen here by at least half for this smaller amount of pork belly as my agak-agak here was wrong - the dish was a mite too sweet !
W55018gl.jpg

Be careful as smouldering hot here !
Xb83yP7l.jpg

Keep stirring
7ClBMr3l.jpg

OLXmXqcl.jpg

kaypohchee

4. Assembling the spring onion bottom layer
5. Then the deep fried mix in the Daiso claypot
- mom refused to let me use a bigger claypot
1JBYwscl.jpg

6. Ginger as the 3rd layer
ABCsJfWl.jpg

7. Place pork belly pieces with skin side downwards - claypot too small after all those layers
8. Add the caramelized liquid n top up with more water etc + pinch of salt etc
4qPAVMLl.jpg

m4PCprIl.jpg

XFmM4RIl.jpg

9. Bring to a boil then reduce to low heat n simmer covered for 2 hours - flipping meat over half way
ue9oquEl.jpg

kaypohchee

10. Just flipped over the pork pieces
Put the split bigger 3rd piece "back together by placing one on top of the other"
Simmer for another hour or less (mom screaming away -2 hrs is too long - wasting my gas....)

wow - the braising gravy tastes really really yummy even tho I didn't exactly follow recipe proportions there - just agak agak etc ... don't think will do the corn flour thickening later

Alamak - must take some rice to go with the yummy gravy
Can I just drink it up kosong ??
POHdRyYl.jpg

2VwT37il.jpg

dv0MOIVl.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.