LHL's strategic blunder: Pissing off China on SCS and desperately needing US to ratify the TPP

Geylang Prawn Seller

i for one am willing to tolerate some strife and economic harm in order to fart in the faces of the oppressive chinese

amognoix

Lee Hsien Loong has proved himself clueless of Singapore's geopolitical vulnerabilities and inapt of running Singapore's foreign policy yet again.

There is no necessity for him to volunteer to be the flagbearer in the SCS issue, much less in such a vocal manner against Singapore's biggest trading partner.

The timing, venue and manner in which he chose to beat the drum to champion the SCS cause also showed up his lack of finesse in running Singapore's foreign policy.

Lee Kuan Yew himself would never have gone to Japan - a neighbour whom China has a historical territorial dispute in the East China Sea - to receive the big Paulownia Flower award; and then beat the drum against China, lecturing the world's second biggest trading nation about its own internal economic vulnerabilities.

Yes, Singapore needs to take a strong stance on the SCS issue, ensure our commercial trade routes remain open and not be cowed by China. But get your million-dollar Foreign Minister and the SG diplomatic corp to do their jobs behind the scene.

LHL need not take up the loud-hailer politics on his own. It's a very serious signature for the Head of Government to beat the drums in public. You don't see Xi Jin Ping doing that, do you?

Father create this nation and prosperity, dishonorable son only to single handedly destroy it under his own watch. What else to say beside epic stupidity?

this goes to show the caliber of "talents" we have in MIW.

despite getting paid millions a year excluding bonuses and other perks, and despite pegging their $alary to CEOs and top honchos of MNCs and huge companies, their performance is hopelessly incompetent : they're making losses everywhere from NOL to Temasek, and stupid enough to offend the up and coming rising power while still sugging the penises and labias of a yesteryear powerhouse.

in large companies, which MIW love to peg itself to, if the CEO or top brass are incompetent, they will get ousted and in some cases, some will resign through own accord.

in Japan, the CEO and board of directors will call a press conference and take a deep bow, and in the good old days, they may even commit hara-kiri.
We sure we don't have talent? The talent is all about buy high sell low, No?

Rodon_Tan

If Brother Xi wants, he can take pinky with him to china and "take good care of him" there. Hope he knows the rest of us sinkies love china and do not share the same sort of trash mindset pinky and his MIW has.

greenbubble

Pinky lack the abilities to lead us forward. Under his leadership, things are falling apart.

One of the lift at my block is broken down again and not fixed when I return home. Mrt train services keep having problems. SG economy stalled and even the FT Olympic medalist tio fired. Yet medishield cost shot up and I just recieved a hdb letter informing me the season parking going to increase fee. Beside increasing fee and living cost, this pap gov is doing nothing.

Geylang Prawn Seller

don't get why you folks auto reject something because pinky is for it

i don't like the man very much but we really need to take some action against china which is bullying the countries in the region

suffer a bit first - but we have to stand by our principles

taking sides with china is as good as paying a gangster protection money - in the end you lose, and in the end you make the bully stronger

Laneige

don't know which news mentioned abt china reminding USA to not KPO in South China Sea problem.... so if China openly tell USA off (if never heard wrongly).... then they never openly tell SG to diam diam is super give face liao

xcodes

We could have the chance to lure the real talents to Singapore to develop ourselves into another Silicon Valley; we could have created famous technology companies and brand when we were in the golden era. All these chances have been ruined due to short-sighted policies.

We are heading back to becoming a third-world country...

i don't like the man very much but we really need to take some action against china which is bullying the countries in the region

taking sides with china is as good as paying a gangster protection money - in the end you lose, and in the end you make the bully stronger

We take whet action :( pisai country

Ethan_

Quite clueless how tpp affect. Seems like local practically chase many of its producers and factories out. Now is lean more to service and financial. What can it trade with other places?

michael_thm

Either the guys here are too stupid to realize that their "anything also must find fault" attitude is actually turning the fencesitters off ( I am a fencesitter voting opposition 3 times until the guys here scare me so much until I vote PAP 2 times) or they don't give a damn that they are actually harming the chances of reasonable and capable opposition like the WP.

accucore12

From the video, it seems that China already has the intention before the scs issue already.

Keeping silent about the scs issue would not make a difference.

sizzy6

people should be worried about themselves rather than the country. economy good or bad minister still take salary and they dont get retrenched or difficulty finding job. they are pro para troopers.

even if how downslope sg goes, most will not live to see it. the reserves that sg has is enough for the government to make enough mistakes to actually fail.

cloverpark

Владимир;104423849 said:
Father create this nation and prosperity, dishonorable son only to single handedly destroy it under his own watch. What else to say beside epic stupidity?

I beg to differ. Father did not create this nation and prosperity. Without LKY, Singapore will still prosper and maybe do even better because we won't end up with 1+1.

cloverpark

Владимир;104423849 said:

I beg to differ. Father did not create this nation and prosperity. Without LKY, Singapore will still prosper and maybe do even better because we won't end up with 1+1, buy 1 get 1 free.

accucore12

If Brother Xi wants, he can take pinky with him to china and "take good care of him" there. Hope he knows the rest of us sinkies love china and do not share the same sort of trash mindset pinky and his MIW has.
China see us as a competitor. Why would china help us when they can easily take away the whole cake.
They already planned for this long before the scs issue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.