NTU jiam tao society!!!Huat AR!!!

Ah_keong

turnbackclock

chiu all do FYP got phd student supervise one or not?

can share tips and experience for FYP presentation? moi next sem present riao haven't done much

mypillowtalks

Good Luck!
I remember I very kan jiong for my FYP presentation. The night before I cannot sleep....
Those were the days.... :D

The moderator ask me derive one of the equation I used in my thesis. Lucky I got prepared the derivation in my logbook earlier....

Yes. During presentation and after presentation the examiner keep on asking questions. For me they are not so technical. Things like did i design it myself, etc. But some i didn't design myself some i referenced and copied some similarities.

He also asked if i achieved all of my objectives. I said no since one of them need a lot more $$$ to achieve.

My prof also helped me to "defend" say my fyp budget only $500, after pcb fabrication n many smt components no money liao.
Not like research grant got $100k
Sent from The Land Of Talking Pillows using GAGT

mypillowtalks

chiu all do FYP got phd student supervise one or not?

can share tips and experience for FYP presentation? moi next sem present riao haven't done much

Im from NTU EEE FYP in 2017, not sure if what i shared below is same for other courses or eee ten years later

Usually from what i observe, the fyp prof will assign a PhD student/research scientist/ research staff / etc to "oversee" your project.

The person who "oversee" you may or may not be familiar with your project area. For mine i was quite lucky to have a PhD who knows my area. Some of my friend's PhD didn't help but gave sarcastic remarks. Mine is quite nice, he helped me check my PCB design when it didnt work. Turns out to be careless mistake.

But the PhD only helps when i tried all i could and get stuck, or when i could not understand some concepts or theory. Then can arrange a short meeting with the professor n PhD and possibly some of the researcher from their reaearch team (if they are free, usually is not free) to discuss. Most of the time is own work. I formally met my PhD for help less than 10 times i think.

I felt that both the FYP demonstration and presentation is quite important. The reason is because FYP is graded by your supervisors and the examiner, and i strongly believe that the examiner carries quite a huge amount of weightage.

But then The examiner will get to look at your project during the project demonstration and project presentation, so these are the two times to impress the examiner for him to determine ur marks. We have interim n final report but i heard some may not be free to read ur reports.

I think tips for presentation( dont confuse w demonstration) is to keep it short and concise.

Total 30 mins (15 mins max presentation + 5-10 mins max Q and A, 5 mins buffer for ppl walking in n out)

I used PowerPoint, i included the following sections:

Introduction: Motivation and objective
Background: other ppl work and concepts i took
Methodology: what steps i took to do my project
Results: outcome of my project, what my project achieved
Conclusion: My contribution to this project, eg. Derived eq, calculated this and that, design the pcb, mitigated certain flaws etc
Q&A

Only 15 mins. Dont make it too boring

Also, dont worry about explaining details u can include the details like how u derived the equations n put them in the slides after the Q&A slide. Then when examiner shoot qn u can straight go to the slide and show.

Like i got slides after the Q&A on why i chose this value resistor, how i calculate track width, graphs, whats the difference between the motor i used and other motors .

My opinion is not to write the limitations and challenges in ur presentation. Maybe put them in hidden slides, if really ask then show. Then i always use constraints as reason. I always try to convince that given all my constraints, my method is the best to achieve my objective.
You can start to write ur full report already. Dont leave till last min. Then from ur report start to do ur presentation PowerPoint, but dun put too much things till exceed 15 mins .

Sent from The Land Of Talking Pillows using GAGT

turnbackclock

thanks... will be sure to use your tips.
moi only done 1/20 of the work last semester, hopefully within this break can chiong finish

mypillowtalks

EE0040 B+
EE4080 A-
EE4504 B
EE4534 B

REMARK: YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE DEGREE OF BACHELOR OF ENGINEERING (ELECTRICAL & ELECTRONIC ENGINEERING) WITH THIRD CLASS HONOURS

The only partial jiamtao i managed to jiak is FYP.
Don't think i will further my studies anytime soon, enough of EEE

I have 2 semesters of Cs, those two sem really pull down again, but managed to pull up to 3rd grass. GPA pulling is really tough :( :)

silentears

long journey sia..

tia gong jam tiao society is life saver, pruss one for more luck

moi ish year 1 fail

nao grad :s22:

good luck to all juniors
:s12::s12::s12::s12:

Nicholas92

I8UnVEb.png

long journey sia..

tia gong jam tiao society is life saver, pruss one for more luck

moi ish year 1 fail

nao grad :s22:

good luck to all juniors
:s12::s12::s12::s12:

+1 for inspirational story.

Reminds me of another guy I know who also failed stats and had a hard time climbing up after taking an LOA. But he is in Acc though.

Shouldn't blank out the electives.. give people some recommendation/notes/tips.

fr0stborne

Pp0ssnN.jpg

Humble freshie post here..... Got all 3 kinds of jiamtao and a B to drag down all those efforts :s8: At least can pull up cgpa a little :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.