Insurers' par fund CAGR FY2008 onwards

soneat

TM par fund has been under performing ever since Tokio Marine took over Asia Life.

Lewis.T

Meanwhile sti etf 1 yr performance 15%

Comparing different asset class, and comparing early 2017 returns vs 2016 returns. Well done, expected as much from you. Have you compared the 3 year average since you like to do such comparisons?

Dunno who is the one who likes to mislead. :s22:

So now ES3 can expect 15% returns P.A? Please advise akwl kor kor

Give this kind misleading statements I also can, go look at genting Singapore for example. 50% in 1 year! HUAT AH

akwl88

Comparing different asset class, and comparing early 2017 returns vs 2016 returns. Well done, expected as much from you. Have you compared the 3 year average since you like to do such comparisons?

Dunno who is the one who likes to mislead. :s22:

So now ES3 can expect 15% returns P.A? Please advise akwl kor kor

Give this kind misleading statements I also can, go look at genting Singapore for example. 50% in 1 year! HUAT AH

One can just invest in the index instead of relying on par fund investment

Below comments are on latest 1 year performance. Pls scroll down and read

Trying to twist and turn the whole issue ah? Expected from agent lmao

How was your japan incentive trip, funded by your clients' premiums? :)

Not sure why pple buy insurance also have to pay for agents' incentive trips....

Lewis.T

One can just invest in the index instead of relying on par fund investment

Below comments are on latest 1 year performance. Pls scroll down and read

Trying to twist and turn the whole issue ah? Expected from agent lmao

How was your japan incentive trip, funded by your clients' premiums? :)

Not sure why pple buy insurance also have to pay for agents' incentive trips....

One can, but is everybody suitable for it? Think about it. The way you are going about trying to get people to convert is horrible, even worse than how insurance agents get people to sign their plans.

You want to help people then educate them the right way, not put misleading or selective statements.

After education you'll be surprised some people still find value in endowments.

You ever notice thought leaders like Shiny Things don't make claims such as STI ETF 15%?

Have you also noticed a few years ago everybody is saying STI ETF can expect 8% returns now everybody is ok with 4%?

You are akin to those insurance agents who go around saying the 4.75% is the returns you will get from this plan when it's actually just the gauge for par fund performance. You want to 'bash' them for being unethical so much but you yourself are doing what they do. The irony.

akwl88

One can, but is everybody suitable for it? Think about it. The way you are going about trying to get people to convert is horrible, even worse than how insurance agents get people to sign their plans.

You want to help people then educate them the right way, not put misleading or selective statements.

After education you'll be surprised some people still find value in endowments.

Why not everyone suitable?

Even great investors like buffett and peter lynch and burton malkie advocate index

Perhaps lewis gor gor can beat these investors and the index too?

Dude, i am just stating the fact that latest sti etf 1 yr performance is 15%. U can verify it yourself.

Since when did i say 15% yearly?

Agents ah agents, like to ownself twist and turn. As expected.

Lol we went through that "education" in endowments before :)

Pls enlighten what value is there? :)

Lewis.T

Why not everyone suitable?

Even great investors like buffett and peter lynch and burton malkie advocate index

Perhaps lewis gor gor can beat these investors and the index too?

Dude, i am just stating the fact that latest sti etf 1 yr performance is 15%. U can verify it yourself.

Since when did i say 15% yearly?

Agents ah agents, like to ownself twist and turn. As expected.

Lol we went through that "education" in endowments before :)

Pls enlighten what value is there? :)

Shows how shallow your thought process is.

Would you recommend your ah ma put her money in STI ETF for her current retirement?

Would you recommend the guy who is emotionally charged and panic sells when markets drop?

Would you recommend the guy who needs to purchase his HDB in 5 years and use that money for ETF?

You mean you've been here so long but you still don't understand that circumstances dictate how your planning should be like?

Also don't quote out of context la, Warren Buffett advises "both large and small investors should stick with low-cost index funds."

Buffett has said he believes most stock investors are better off with low-cost index funds than paying higher fees to managers who often underperform.

My question to you is everybody suitable for investing? If you say yes then your statement holds true, but you're delusional. If you say no then you just contradicted yourself.

Lewis.T

Lewis gor gor, kindly advise and enlighten me which part did i state sti etf gives 15% yearly?

Thank you! :)

Meanwhile sti etf 1 yr performance 15%

Now trying to mislead with half truths? Walao you bash the agents for being unethical then who bash you? People talking about 2016 par fund you talking about ETF's 2017 Jan+ bull. Happily state 15% some more.

Agent sell you a plan say 4.75% returns you bash them. Ok can because that's not what clients should expect from their insurance plans.

You sell the idea of an ETF and say 1 year 15% is ok?

akwl88

Shows how shallow your thought process is.

Would you recommend your ah ma put her money in STI ETF for her current retirement?

Would you recommend the guy who is emotionally charged and panic sells when markets drop?

Would you recommend the guy who needs to purchase his HDB in 5 years and use that money for ETF?

You mean you've been here so long but you still don't understand that circumstances dictate how your planning should be like?

Also don't quote out of context la, Warren Buffett advises "both large and small investors should stick with low-cost index funds."

Buffett has said he believes most stock investors are better off with low-cost index funds than paying higher fees to managers who often underperform.

My question to you is everybody suitable for investing? If you say yes then your statement holds true, but you're delusional. If you say no then you just contradicted yourself.

Yes you are right. What i mean is majority of pple who shld invest is in the index instead of par fund products.

Even the circumstances u mentioned, there are no insurance investment products that are suitable for them :)

U mean whole life, endowmwnts and ilps dont have investment elements?

akwl88

Now trying to mislead with half truths? Walao you bash the agents for being unethical then who bash you? People talking about 2016 par fund you talking about ETF's 2017 Jan+ bull. Happily state 15% some more.

Agent sell you a plan say 4.75% returns you bash them. Ok can because that's not what clients should expect from their insurance plans.

You sell the idea of an ETF and say 1 year 15% is ok?

Dude, its the fund fact. U ownself go check. Lazy to play tongue twister with u

Etf beats any par fund hands down.

Annualized since inception ard 7%

And if u gonna say future sti returns wont be that rosy, same goes for ur par funds

Shion

Senior Mentor
Gw6Idht.png

OngHuatHuat

Dude, its the fund fact. U ownself go check. Lazy to play tongue twister with u

Etf beats any par fund hands down.

Annualized since inception ard 7%

And if u gonna say future sti returns wont be that rosy, same goes for ur par funds

Need to take same period for fair comparison.
Try take 2008 till end 2016. :D

xiao.xin

Ask you all ah, what's the point of calculating when the declared amount also doesn't tag with the par fund perf?

OngHuatHuat

Par fund performance will decide on whether your insurer able to keep up their promise. :( sad to say that.

Ask you all ah, what's the point of calculating when the declared amount also doesn't tag with the par fund perf?

xiao.xin

Par fund performance will decide on whether your insurer able to keep up their promise. :( sad to say that.
I doubt so, instead since given the data, shouldn't we compile the declared bonus instead rather than the performance of the funds?

Think theres company that has reduced bonuses but still performing considerably well in the chart.

xiao.xin

And yes although I'm a planner, but sometimes I really doubt that the smoothing works.

Bigoya

I doubt so, instead since given the data, shouldn't we compile the declared bonus instead rather than the performance of the funds?

Think theres company that has reduced bonuses but still performing considerably well in the chart.

Do you have records of declared bonuses?
Is it available online?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.