kitkat2

how u do day trip to the peak...
there r only 3-5 peaks wic r within walking distance near the govt lodge
if walk too far, haven't climb the peak, u already tired liao

your statements contradict with each other.

or do i need to improve on my singlish? :)

miyaku

going taiwan for pre-wedding photoshoot in april/may period.
anyone has recommendation on where to shoot?

kitkat2

fireworks79

ur photographer will recommend(no worries) anyway most photographer will recommend cingjing or yms or danshui

if u want sumthing special or diff den u might need pay more cos the distance will kill ur wallet.
khh, taitung, Taichung, hualien all got very nice place for shot

there r oso some places(usually only Taiwanese will go)
foreigners seldom go...not sure isst because of money issue of time issue

cutoutxstars

looking to share a car for a day trip to shifen, jiufen etc. any dates between 14-17 Jan! 2 pax here

incredible.piggie

Depends on which part of tw?

I went "taichung"
瑪莉米之丘 - need to get bridal shop to book and need to pay
福壽山農場 - need to pay entrance fee, not sure if need to book
老英格蘭莊園 - i booked the stay & shoot package. If you want to shoot inside need to book too as they only allow 3 couple a day.

Also stop on random mountain road to take too cuz the photographer got feel.

calkel20

the OP was asking about trekking, not sakura.

anyway, i have seen thick snow in mid march. i bet you never had much experience above cingjing. don't underestimate the mountains :)

Have seen.
But u tell me the chances of that in mid March is how many years once?
This year snow came 5th Dec. Also early lor.
松雪樓服務中心說3年一次大雪。
You bet as much as you can ba.
Coz got ppl verified for me.

Anyway says Late feb can trek la. But pretty cold. Really need to wear quite a lot.

calkel20

TaiTung my bad

Nice! Thanks for the recommendation! Since cingjing and hehuan is pretty near, guess can cover both during the trip?

When you mean icy conditions, it means much suitable footwear and warmer jackets plus trekking poles? Would doing it on your own be a challenge?

Unless you really doing those 3D2N or qilai, then u really need to look into it. On your own, just easy few hours hike then ok la. Dun act smart and think all ok.
Mountain sickness can claim your life.
頭痛記得要回頭。
山永遠都在。

calkel20

your statements contradict with each other.

or do i need to improve on my singlish? :)

The time to go from taichung to hehuanshan takes slightly more than 3hrs.
From ground level to 3000m in altitude, better play safe.
Altitude sickness.
We did hike one peak on actual day or ascending.
Day 1: 合歡山東峰 from 4-6pm。
Day 2: 合歡尖山 after sunrise, follow by breakfast at 松雪樓。

All self drive, self tour.

fireworks79

Unless you really doing those 3D2N or qilai, then u really need to look into it. On your own, just easy few hours hike then ok la. Dun act smart and think all ok.
頭痛記得要回頭。
山永遠都在。
qilai mountain very dirty.....seldom got ppl trek alone wan
n even go in gp.....will oso go mia

mata_hippo

got any driver contacts to recommend in taoyuan?

will be in taoyuan this weekend :o

thanks!

i.c.e.d.c.u.p.p.a

頭痛記得要回頭。
山永遠都在。
Sorry may I clarify on what you mean by 3D2N part?

Yeah it seems mountain sickness is smth to be 'untrainable'. And thanks for the tips!

fireworks79

Sorry may I clarify on what you mean by 3D2N part?

Yeah it seems mountain sickness is smth to be 'untrainable'. And thanks for the tips!
it means like those really climb from foot of the hill to the peak. N u need to camp somewhere along the hill for 1 night

Mountain sickness can b trained wan but u need to train everyday lo

City ppl like us, once in a while den go climb mountain....out of a sudden,ur heart n body sure can't take it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.