Retiring before 40?

starfish.starfish

well if u are single, I think 1 million in cash is more than enough to "retire" if used sparingly even without investing any of it. Just put in safe places also can get 1% a month at least, that be around $1k a month.. then just work part-time etc to supplement a bit of extra income.

I just double checked my planning.
My expenses per month is 3200.
This is excluding income tax (assuming no work so no tax)
$1k where got enough.

starfish.starfish

How would u have a fully paid hdb if u are single?? Even if u buy a resale hdb under the forever alone scheme, u will need at least $500k to fully paid for it, and together with your $500k cash, indirectly you also need $1m saving minimum?

$500k on the high side lah. If buy 3 rm can be much cheaper.

Sinkie

HDB can pay with cpf, at least partially. I am single and targeting to fully pay off my HDB when I'm 40. My flat is in one of the cheapest areas though but near the MRT. I have single friends who also paid off their HDB within a few years after buying it.

Do you do any other form of investment like equity etc

OngHuatHuat

I think for mortgage loan, only the interest component can be counted as pure expenses.

But for HDB, you may need to account for depreciation after Lawrence Wong comment.

I just double checked my planning.
My expenses per month is 3200.
This is excluding income tax (assuming no work so no tax)
$1k where got enough.

Sinkie

I think for mortgage loan, only the interest component can be counted as pure expenses.

But for HDB, you may need to account for depreciation after Lawrence Wong comment.

Depreciation only occurs at the 43 years mark for hdb and 99 years condo

chart.jpg

OngHuatHuat

My aunt’s flat after selling keep dropping in price despite of more than 55 years old and near MRT. She was lucky to sold it after she got her BTO few years back. :)

Depreciation only occurs at the 55 years mark for hdb and 99 years condo

Sinkie

My aunt’s flat after selling keep dropping in price despite of more than 55 years old and near MRT. She was lucky to sold it after she got her BTO few years back. :)

Sorry is 43th mark of the lease

Yeah, I think once my hdb hit 30th year of lease, I will start to find buyer le

Perisher

Citi maxigain, uob one and Dbs multiplier are saving accounts that gives 2% and more interest

All you need is $400k can get about 2% interest $660 per month le

They all max out at around 60k no?

Sinkie

They all max out at around 60k no?

Citi Maxigain -$150,000 each account (can have single + joint at 2.3%)
Dbs mutliper - $50,000 (mortgage + credit card + salary + dbsv trading >$30,000= 3.3%)
Uob one - $50,000 (3 giro + $500 cc spending = 2.4% for $50k)

$300,000+$50,000+$50000 = $400,0000

Easily around $800+ per month interest

havetheveryfun

Citi Maxigain -$150,000 each account (can have single + joint at 2.3%)
Dbs mutliper - $50,000 (mortgage + credit card + salary + dbsv trading >$30,000= 3.3%)
Uob one - $50,000 (3 giro + $500 cc spending = 2.4% for $50k)

$300,000+$50,000+$50000 = $400,0000

Easily around $800+ per month interest

well but if in "retirement" mode, cc spending and salary criteria will be harder to hit

SBC

Such “high interest, conditional” account should not be considered for retirement planning. UOB One still got chance.

Sinkie

well but if in "retirement" mode, cc spending and salary criteria will be harder to hit

The Dbs multiplier criteria only need $1 min spending on cc which u can set for ezlink and salary criteria can be easily set by setting a joint account and get the other holder to credit his salary in or maybe can setup a shell company and ownself credit ownself salary also can

Yes, the $500 minimum spending for Uob one is quite tough for a retiree who has to stringently control his spending

highsulphur

The Dbs multiplier criteria only need $1 min spending on cc which u can set for ezlink and salary criteria can be easily set by setting a joint account and get the other holder to credit his salary in or maybe can setup a shell company and ownself credit ownself salary also can

Yes, the $500 minimum spending for Uob one is quite tough for retiree

You end up paying income taxes if you do that

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.