[Off Topic] The Longest Chit-Chat Thread in HWC - - - - - - - - Part 23

dryteletubby

Anyone use a server rack to house their pc hardware? I am thinking off consolidating all my servers and pc into a rack
If your PC is already in a server rack case then it probably should fit fine. Else is probably unfeasible to fit your current PC into a server rack case due to differences in layout.

I rather you look at reddit.com/r/homelab instead of Linus for inspiration. Linus is an amateur in comparison to guys at /r/homelab

another thing to note is that rack mount cases arn't design for low noise. Especially those 1-2U size case can sound like a jet taking off.

KWSW

Anyone knows how to reschedule qprime delivery? Scheduled for Saturday for my monitor but everyone will be out...

Sent from Samsung SM-G955F using GAGT

shadow84

Anyone knows how to reschedule qprime delivery? Scheduled for Saturday for my monitor but everyone will be out...

Sent from Samsung SM-G955F using GAGT

IIRC, cannot change or reschedule. Maybe you can call up Acer, ask for qoo10 department, give them ur qoo10 order number and request them to deliver on mon or so. But if u wan do for a specific timing, that will be hard.

Phen8210

Anyone know a good software in 2018 that can make my android phone a bluetooth speaker for my PC?

Or recommend me any bluetooth earpiece/speaker.. budget up to $300, don't need expensive one but prefer warm sound signature.

squarepipe

Anyone know a good software in 2018 that can make my android phone a bluetooth speaker for my PC?

Or recommend me any bluetooth earpiece/speaker.. budget up to $300, don't need expensive one but prefer warm sound signature.

Use any speaker and get a Bluetooth receiver lor. Receiver can get one under $20 All the expensive Bluetooth speakers are not audiophile grade but normal speakers for the same price sound much better

squarepipe

If your PC is already in a server rack case then it probably should fit fine. Else is probably unfeasible to fit your current PC into a server rack case due to differences in layout.

I rather you look at reddit.com/r/homelab instead of Linus for inspiration. Linus is an amateur in comparison to guys at /r/homelab

another thing to note is that rack mount cases arn't design for low noise. Especially those 1-2U size case can sound like a jet taking off.

Linus is only pro at gaming pcs. Server stuff he quite noob and get chewed out alot on YT and Reddit.

Fortunately he is aware of the fact as during one live stream he say he is not good at command line stuff and is only good at the very fundamentals.

/r/homelab look like it's populated by wizards... Do they run a data centre at home??

Tartar Sauce

Any bros currently using a wall mounted monitor arm that can support big monitors? I am currently using a x34P
My table width is quite short so i put the x34p stand and keyboard will be just nice, but i am thinking of buying a soundbar for my audio.

my table is stuck to the wall so cannot use the clamp, means the monitor arm needs to be wall mounted or have to drill a hole in the table right? :(

bunnypangsai

Any bros currently using a wall mounted monitor arm that can support big monitors? I am currently using a x34P
My table width is quite short so i put the x34p stand and keyboard will be just nice, but i am thinking of buying a soundbar for my audio.

my table is stuck to the wall so cannot use the clamp, means the monitor arm needs to be wall mounted or have to drill a hole in the table right? :(

correct. wall mount maybe can consider those tv mounts?m table mount need to drill a hole to clamp the stand :)

shadow84

All 3 sides of table stucked to the wall? Table mount monitor arm need not be at the back, can be clamp at side of table as well then monitor positioned at center. Only iasue is the COG due to weight and position, who knows how long the arm can tahan like that.

Note that for wall mount, its not easy to reposition it if sala. Unless u like a lot of holes on ur wall.

Tartar Sauce

correct. wall mount maybe can consider those tv mounts?m table mount need to drill a hole to clamp the stand :)

thanks brudder, haven thought of tv mounts to be used for monitors, will go have a look :s12:

All 3 sides of table stucked to the wall? Table mount monitor arm need not be at the back, can be clamp at side of table as well then monitor positioned at center. Only iasue is the COG due to weight and position, who knows how long the arm can tahan like that.

Note that for wall mount, its not easy to reposition it if sala. Unless u like a lot of holes on ur wall.

ya all 3 sides glued to the wall. dunno whether should drill another hole, currently have one for wires to run to the floor liao. know of any brands that are test and proven to be solid? x34p is quite a wide and heavy monitor, most arms cater to 27 inch at most

shadow84

thanks brudder, haven thought of tv mounts to be used for monitors, will go have a look :s12:

ya all 3 sides glued to the wall. dunno whether should drill another hole, currently have one for wires to run to the floor liao. know of any brands that are test and proven to be solid? x34p is quite a wide and heavy monitor, most arms cater to 27 inch at most

I think size dun matter, its more on the weight. U try abtus, local supplier in bukit batok. Bought their non movable wall mount before.

If u gonna use TV mount, make sure they support 100x100mm, supporting 200x100 dun mean 100x100 is included. Also, check that your vesa mount on monitor is not recessed.

knightshaz

:crazy:
https://twitter.com/MKBHD/status/1050355150248964097
DpOccH9W0AAzXNL.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.