Who has been to South Africa?

klavier

Direct to Johannesburg on SQ has been getting very cheap. Wonder why?

I did not fly SQ but took Emirates SIN - DXB - JNB, CPT - DXB - SIN.

All i can say is, the flight from DXB to JNB is probably 30-40% full in economy (early June) while the CPT - DXB flight two weeks later was probably 80-90% full. Johannesburg is probably not a popular tourist destination.

gerdhold

Hi, what sim card do you all buy for data usage?

Buy when you get there. 1 zar for sim and 1gb/7days for 80zar. Not enough just buy more credits and top up. VODACOM

If you buy tourist sim from airport it will be around 400zar for 6gb. The thing is not everywhere has 3g let alone 4g so you will hardly have 100% coverage. You will be ok in cities but in smaller towns dont get your hopes up too much. You will likely end up using less data than you think you need.

My advice is pay/top up as you go.

KaShinX

I asked a some questions a while ago but didn't get a reply. Anyway, I am back from my trip, which I spent 17 days in South Africa; 9 days in Cape Town and Garden route, 2 days in Johannesburg and 6 days in the safari. This is one of the best trips I ever had. Just to share some info:

SA is generally safe. Exercise vigilancr like lock your cars, not placing items on the seats, keep your wallet and phone at thfe ront pockets, take your belongings with you at all times, etc and you will be fine.

Driving in Cape Town and garden route are really easy. The drivers there are friendly and they will let you pass. Just flash your hazard light twice after over taking to say thank you.

You don't need a lot of cash. Almost all the places accept credit cards. We used Youtrip, and the cash is mainly for tips.

The safari is a must do. We went with Tydon Safaris and spent 5 nights there. We stayed at 2 different area and we experienced the private game reserves as well as Kruger. It's more than the big 5; it's about the habitat, the behaviour, the conservation, the interaction between the animals.

Sammychan

I also asked some questions a while ago but got some replies.

Generally felt safe though heard many bad things. I should say it is no more unsafe than JB. But a lot more advanced than most countries in Asia. I rank it on par with Japan in terms of infrastructure. Attitude wise, I can only say good things coz i met so many nice people. Security guard who come ask you if you need help. Parking attendant who keep watch your car by standing next to it while you go eat. People you dont know but come ask you are you ok when you are looking for something. I feel right at home in SA. I did garden route too and stopped at every town along the way for a night. Amazing is all I can say. It turned out to be one of the best trips of my life.

wlalala

Really so safe meh?

Agent spook us siol, say road transfer too dangerous, ask us charter plane :s22:

but ok lah, good experience :D

deodorant

Really so safe meh?

Agent spook us siol, say road transfer too dangerous, ask us charter plane :s22:

but ok lah, good experience :D
I spent like 4 months in joburg over multiple work trips, weekends go Kruger, Cape Town, Durban, colleagues house do BBQ, etc. Touristy areas I think yes it is relatively safe as long as you’re not doing stupid stuff, in a sense it’s even safer than some places in Europe that have now a major reputation for pickpocketing etc (my parents went last year, got pickpocketed once in Rome and once again in Paris).

But outside the touristy areas there are some really bad areas. I remember once driving to another office using Google maps to do directions, my local colleague in the car suddenly screamed OH MY GOD WHY DID YOU TAKE THIS ROUTE and then made us ebrake, u turn, and go a different way lol.

klavier

I spent like 4 months in joburg over multiple work trips, weekends go Kruger, Cape Town, Durban, colleagues house do BBQ, etc. Touristy areas I think yes it is relatively safe as long as you’re not doing stupid stuff, in a sense it’s even safer than some places in Europe that have now a major reputation for pickpocketing etc (my parents went last year, got pickpocketed once in Rome and once again in Paris).

But outside the touristy areas there are some really bad areas. I remember once driving to another office using Google maps to do directions, my local colleague in the car suddenly screamed OH MY GOD WHY DID YOU TAKE THIS ROUTE and then made us ebrake, u turn, and go a different way lol.

Hi deodorant, having done Kruger, Cape Town and garden route, where would you recommend if I want to visit SA (or other parts of Africa) again?

Just trying to get some trip ideas in case travel bug bites again...

arfness

Hi deodorant, having done Kruger, Cape Town and garden route, where would you recommend if I want to visit SA (or other parts of Africa) again?

Just trying to get some trip ideas in case travel bug bites again...

If you are looking for something incredible and like driving, go to Namibia , rent a 4x4 (fortuner or similar) and do an amazing roadtrip. It is SUPER safe.

some notable places: Ethosa national park (their famous game reserve), fish river canyon (largest in africa, like the grand canyon in USA), sossusvlei for their red sand desert, deadwood and salt pans. Swakopmund an old german town on the Atlantic coast, skeleton coast.

klavier

If you are looking for something incredible and like driving, go to Namibia , rent a 4x4 (fortuner or similar) and do an amazing roadtrip. It is SUPER safe.

some notable places: Ethosa national park (their famous game reserve), fish river canyon (largest in africa, like the grand canyon in USA), sossusvlei for their red sand desert, deadwood and salt pans. Swakopmund an old german town on the Atlantic coast, skeleton coast.

Thank you arfness. I have never thought of visiting Namibia and hence spent some time over the weekend finding out about the country. It seems the main sights are either in the far north of the country or right in the south. Maybe that is why you mentioned 'like driving'.

I dont think there is any direct flight from Singapore to Namibia hence a transit is required. Will have to figure out how best to visit this country without having to spend 24 hours in a plane/transit each way and do more research on the country as a whole.

invisible999

I have to put very serious warning here for people who never been in Namibia and neighbouring countries and have no experience driving in local roads.

Highest number of accidents on roads with non-locals are so called 'single vehicle accidents'. Translating to plain English - when car overturns on local tar road.

Local tar roads are something which requires some time to get used to. Locals are driving on these roads 100km/h, but you are not a local, thus above mentioned accidents.

This is the reason why if you want to rent a 4x4 in South Africa and drive to Namibia a day of rental including mandatory insurance for such accident will cost you >USD $200 per day.

Friend of mine went on a trip which is similar to what TopDeck organizes - driving from Windhoek to desert, staying there, hiking dunes, visiting Skeleton Coast.

He said that there were too many problems during that part of the trip. Both cars the group was travelling on have problems more than once and only because guides/drives had good tools and skills to fix these problem on the road, they've been able to finish the trip.

So, in summary. Not to discourage going to Namibia but be aware of certain realities on ground. Pun intended.

lenahc

Anyone has used a private driver? Just need the driver to drive us to the places of interest. Need recommendation for Cape Town.

invisible999

Anyone has used a private driver? Just need the driver to drive us to the places of interest. Need recommendation for Cape Town.

Use Uber. If you are insisting to have private driver, expect that it will cost significantly higher than what it is across Asia.

Intriguedlearner

I was thinking of going on a family trip and bringing my parents along (so 4 of us) to SA and maybe visiting Johannesburg, Cape Town and Kruger National Park but I have some queries

1) Is it easy to go Free and Easy in SA? If so, will u recommend driving yourself or taking an Uber around the area

2) How big of an issue will safety be? I heard of nightmare stories of tourists in SA. Hence, if it is really unsafe, I believe joining a tour group is easier?

3)Will you all recommend going to see Victoria Falls at Zambia/Zimbabwe at the same trip? Where can I book this trip?

4) How much cash to bring? Are cards widely accepted? And ATMs around the place as well

4)Anyone has any local contacts/guides that I can contact directly for tour around SA ?(e.g going to the National Parks or even a full guided tour). Hopefully it will be cheaper compared to joining a tour group from a Singapore tour agent instead since the prices will be marked up by agents.

tulipkiss

I was thinking of going on a family trip and bringing my parents along (so 4 of us) to SA and maybe visiting Johannesburg, Cape Town and Kruger National Park but I have some queries

1) Is it easy to go Free and Easy in SA? If so, will u recommend driving yourself or taking an Uber around the area

2) How big of an issue will safety be? I heard of nightmare stories of tourists in SA. Hence, if it is really unsafe, I believe joining a tour group is easier?

3)Will you all recommend going to see Victoria Falls at Zambia/Zimbabwe at the same trip? Where can I book this trip?

4) How much cash to bring? Are cards widely accepted? And ATMs around the place as well

4)Anyone has any local contacts/guides that I can contact directly for tour around SA ?(e.g going to the National Parks or even a full guided tour). Hopefully it will be cheaper compared to joining a tour group from a Singapore tour agent instead since the prices will be marked up by agents.

1) Did Zimbabwe & Zambia, KNP and Sabi Sands (via Johannesburg) and ended at Cape Town.
Personally i think driving in Cape Town is easy and convenient (my husband drove).

Johannesburg, we met with more people knocking on our windows (for money, to sell flowers, or wipe windows) at junctions and traffic light stops.

For KNP, we took the tours at the accom we stayed at and full boarding at the private safari resort that included everything including game drives.

Zimbabwe/Zambia, we took taxis / walked.

2) What kind of nightmare stories are you referring to? If a tour package can mitigate the safety issues you are thinking about, then go for it to get a peace of mind.

3) I love the victoria falls! From zimbabwe, it's walking distance from the city or can take a taxi for about usd5?

4) I used mostly cash back then. but cards are widely accepted. even the parking attendant takes card payment...lol. not sure about atms.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.