Singapore's Worst Job Agencies

JulyStork

none just avoid them

Majority of the time they are time wasters, ask you many dumb questions, make you go down to their office (if you are employed you have to take extra leave) and in the end sometimes the company get back to them already but they too "busy"

This. Just apply directly to the company's HR

CWL84

Btw since we have data protection act now where we don't need to provide IC (unless is to employer), does anyone know if it's okay that we don't have to provide full address in our resume?

Can we just indicate the area Eg. Tampines ?

Yeah, it is totally fine to do that. I used to put my full address and IC on my resume then I realised it is not a good idea because I have no way to be sure my personal information won't be misused. Nowadays when I have to fill up forms during interviews, I will also leave out my IC and my full address.

Remless

Same here for Recruit Express. Never have any success with them. Always get mismatch even though requirements are stated and having met them before the actual interview.

But the worst I think is Achieve Career. Really stuck up attitude just like the TS had posted. They are the one who saw my resume online and initiated cold-calling to me, but talk as if people are begging them for a job.

Lareina

Yeah, it is totally fine to do that. I used to put my full address and IC on my resume then I realised it is not a good idea because I have no way to be sure my personal information won't be misused. Nowadays when I have to fill up forms during interviews, I will also leave out my IC and my full address.

I see.. Thanks for the info!

U even do that for filling up forms? Gosh.. maybe I should also do that. I have been giving too much info away in the past. :(

lordfa9

Jobstreet seems to be hellbent on removing the option to filter by direct employers only, now have to wade through the pile of crappy employment agencies listing :(

CWL84

Ya loh, I was super annoyed by their decision to remove that option. Looks like they got pressured by these recruitment agencies. :mad:

SinkieHatingSinkie

Seeking advice here for my fren.

Kena blindsided signed a contract to work as housekeeper, nid serve 3mths if not pay 1-mth salary penalty.

not proficient in english, then after 1wk start work then can bring back the contract.

now, regretted liao & alr 2nd week in the job. if she left, is the penalty enforceable under the law? Willing to even forfeit the 2-wk pay.

I was in a similar situation; took a job, found out the job is not what I expected, tio bully because the whole place is tiong, resigned after week 1, serve 2 week notice. But the contract with agency is must work 2 months. I signed 2 contracts, one with the hiring company and 1 with the agency

I talked to a lawyer and some other people and I can share these 3 pointers

1) Unless you can prove that you signed the contract (with the agency) under duress, its legally binding

2) They can try to harass you to pay up your penalty, but apparently if you siam enough they will give up as the cost is more then the benefit

3) You can only be truly free when the stature of limitations expires (which is 7 or 10 years, cant remember which). After that you can safely ignore them as the contract is not legally binding anymore

4) They (the company) still has to pay you, unless the contract is with the agency only (Recruit express for example does this a lot) then I dont know

Good luck

Elspeth

why the **** would they wna remove the direct employer's setting filter button i just don't fcking understand

Memories123

Hi guys,
Just want to know about the career prospect of bank contract jobs such as processing of remittance etc.
Noticed a lot of such jobs on Jobstreet and most are from Kelly services and Recruit Express.
Is it a good opportunity to take on such jobs to have better career opportunities in the future?

Newfreshgrad

Need advise company not following mom regulations

Hi all ,
I am not sure if anyone still can assist me was looking at this forum to look for answer's and decide to create an account .

Unfortunately this will involve the company and the agency oh yes admin please also
Include Mci career service one of the consultant named Gary super unprofessional and rude . their service is worse than recruit express ....

I signed a contract with this company as a shifter but I didn't expect this company dare not to follow the mom regulations as I worked on public holiday I should be paid an additional day of salary instead but they gave me off in lieu instead I told them I am covered under part iv of the employments act and my pay is not more than 2,600 still this company insist that is a company regulations.

I don't believe went to do a check with mom and they verified that what this company is doing totally unacceptable by default it is an additional pay.Then. my agency want me to sign a new amendment contract additional pay becomes off in lieu I refuse angrily slam the phone complained to mom again

Was being ask to speak to tadm,but tadm say is not their turn handle yet instead was referred to tafep and the tafep officer request for evidence of my contract ,emails and conversation between me and the agency.

Tafep told me they had already settled ask me to give a call to the agency once more
The agency hr told me they won't force me to sign the new contract and they will stick to the first contract it thought the matter is resolved until the company hr see me personally knew that I feedback to mom and tafep about this matter still insist I sign this new contract or they will give me a notice and also insist that they are following mom regulations and say I work as shift the additional pay does not apply to me I find it ridiculous verify with mom again that is not true.

Unfortunately Right now the agency given me a notice I email back to tafep about this incident they told me to file a wrongful claim dismissal with tadm but I verify with mom only can do that after my notice period.

The agency still threaten not to pay me additional one day pay if I work on upcoming public holiday I scolded back the agency I did not sign the new contract your side should stick to the first one also verified with tafep about this matter and they say since I didn't sign the new contract it should stick to the first one.unfortunately

All I can say is my luck or my Brain is not woking properly that I chosen this agency and this companyreading
sible find a company that follow the mom regulations without any trouble.
Thank you for reading
I hope my next company I working for don't have such trouble I really gotten a big headache for this.
Anyone encounter similar situation like me?
Leave your comments down below if possible

curo

If you sign a contract with the company HR and the company pay you the salary mean you would have to follow the terms and conditions of the company contract.

Going back to the agency will not help you as you are an employee of the company not the agency.

As for your PH pay, according to MOM,

"If you work on a public holiday, by default, your employer should pay you an additional day's pay.

Alternatively, by mutual agreement, you can get one of the following:

A public holiday in lieu."

This is from MOM website. So you should refer back to your contract (from your company) and see if there is any clause that mention about PH or did they said it is base on company policy.

I seriously doubt what you said about MOM officer said about what your company is doing is totally unacceptable. If this is really truth you might want to call them again and take down the officer full name. Then maybe write and email to them to clarify. No MOM officer should jump to conclusion without knowing the content of your employment contract unless what you told them is a totally different version and in no way will any of the government agency ask you to go back to MCI as MCI is not your employer.

MCI is a third party helping you to find employment and your company to find candidates. The only contract they can sign with you is to make sure you work for the company for a certain months else you will have to pay the penalties. Unless they are the one who hire you and outsource you to your current company else all employment benefit should follow strictly to your employment contract sign between you and the company.

PS: I am not working for agency. Just a HR sharing my experience.
Sorry if you feel offended but just want you to fully understand the employment law and not blame the wrong person.

Pepsiinabottle

Guys i am having issues with my pay and an employer committing several violations regarding the Employment act.

Tried calling MOM but could not get through on both numbers, filed a report @ TADM and reported through MOM e services. In addition a police report had been made too.

Am I going the right way? Please advice.

Capitalist

I don't believe went to do a check with mom and they verified that what this company is doing totally unacceptable by default it is an additional pay.Then. my agency want me to sign a new amendment contract additional pay becomes off in lieu I refuse angrily slam the phone complained to mom again

Was being ask to speak to tadm,but tadm say is not their turn handle yet instead was referred to tafep and the tafep officer request for evidence of my contract ,emails and conversation between me and the agency.

Tafep told me they had already settled ask me to give a call to the agency once more.

Unfortunately Right now the agency given me a notice I email back to tafep about this incident they told me to file a wrongful claim dismissal with tadm but I verify with mom only can do that after my notice period.

"I worked on public holiday I should be paid an additional day of salary instead but they gave me off in lieu"

You seem over zealous to seek authorities intervention.

And based on that alone, ... as an employer or dept. head, you're not one which I will welcome to be onboard.

Reflect on your own conduct & mindset ... if you ever aspire to climb and progress.

Capitalist

Guys i am having issues with my pay and an employer committing several violations regarding the Employment act.

Tried calling MOM but could not get through on both numbers, filed a report @ TADM and reported through MOM e services. In addition a police report had been made too.

How is the Police supposed to assist on matters of such nature?

Aren't you simply adding unnecessary strain onto the police force?

Civil case, MOM/employment related disputes - what do they have to do with the police?????

Memories123

Hi guys,
Just want to know about the career prospect of bank contract jobs such as processing of remittance etc.
Noticed a lot of such jobs on Jobstreet and most are from Kelly services and Recruit Express.
Is it a good opportunity to take on such jobs to have better career opportunities in the future?

Hi anyone able to answer this?

curo

If you got evidence that you are having pay issue, then go ahead. Don't need to worry but if possible, check with your HR or your supervisor first to understand what is wrong.

As for your employer committing several violations, can you be more specific? How to advise when everything you did not even mention anything.

curo

Hi anyone able to answer this?

You are like asking us to read your future. Who know sia. Maybe contract end they don't want you. Maybe contract end and they like you want to hire you under them directly.

Bros here cannot do palm reading. Maybe you try other thread ba.

Newfreshgrad

If you sign a contract with the company HR and the company pay you the salary mean you would have to follow the terms and conditions of the company contract.

Going back to the agency will not help you as you are an employee of the company not the agency.

As for your PH pay, according to MOM,

"If you work on a public holiday, by default, your employer should pay you an additional day's pay.

Alternatively, by mutual agreement, you can get one of the following:

A public holiday in lieu."

This is from MOM website. So you should refer back to your contract (from your company) and see if there is any clause that mention about PH or did they said it is base on company policy.

I seriously doubt what you said about MOM officer said about what your company is doing is totally unacceptable. If this is really truth you might want to call them again and take down the officer full name. Then maybe write and email to them to clarify. No MOM officer should jump to conclusion without knowing the content of your employment contract unless what you told them is a totally different version and in no way will any of the government agency ask you to go back to MCI as MCI is not your employer.

MCI is a third party helping you to find employment and your company to find candidates. The only contract they can sign with you is to make sure you work for the company for a certain months else you will have to pay the penalties. Unless they are the one who hire you and outsource you to your current company else all employment benefit should follow strictly to your employment contract sign between you and the company.

PS: I am not working for agency. Just a HR sharing my experience.
Sorry if you feel offended but just want you to fully understand the employment law and not blame the wrong person.
There was a clause about working on public holiday that it will be addition pay but company don't follow the contract yes according to mom by default is pay unless mutual agreements for those who are not covered under part iv.

Newfreshgrad

Police report seriously .OK for mom just email to them and wait for their reply.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.