[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

crumpler ish jin expensiv

why not fix her after ge? all the better if wp wins the grc...let’s have a by election. like that voters will reconsider again

they have all the time in the world. But consider that alot of the court cases cite precedent cases in their judgement during sentencing. Its used as a guideline. So, if they start messing around with that just to fix her for this GE, it would not be good for the courts moving forward.

Losing 1 MP in a GRC doesn't mean there's a by-election. Consider the case of the (S)elected Presidency. HY resigned from the PAP and vacated her seat in Marsling-Yew Tee.
There is no requirement under the law to call a by-election if an MP resigns.
So.. going by the precedent case, it will not be necessary for a by-election of RS is charged, convicted and fined >$300, which would cause her to lose her seat.

Yall know the person who exposed her, Abdul Malik, is a former SDP member who contested in GE2015 under the banner of DPP right? And now he puts a big PAP picture in his cover photo. Now, if his intention is to kill WP and PAP in one shot, he has surely succeeded! Let’s not get hoodwinked.

I don't think he contested in any election. SDP declined to field him and he left the party. Seems like he's a big social media *****. Everything also need to tag this tag that. He's no saint himself.

I won't rule out that he's just a convenient attack dog that was fed info and used. He wanted to join their party right? After the dirt on him was exposed (there's plenty over the years), they cut him loose.

Stealth_PL

why not fix her after ge? all the better if wp wins the grc...let’s have a by election. like that voters will reconsider again

They already self snook when Halimah resigned from Marsiling and the five-judge court dismissed the appeal for a by-election citing “when amending the Constitution to implement the GRC scheme, Parliament never intended that a single vacancy in a GRC would trigger an obligation on the Government to call a by-election”

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...ction-in-marsiling-yew-tee-grc-after-11429138

mcwings

A person of such caliber wants to run for MP :s13:

I don't think he contested in any election. SDP declined to field him and he left the party. Seems like he's a big social media *****. Everything also need to tag this tag that. He's no saint himself.

I won't rule out that he's just a convenient attack dog that was fed info and used. He wanted to join their party right? After the dirt on him was exposed (there's plenty over the years), they cut him loose.

chiohh

I just home Jamus can get into Parliament that is all I wish for.

Big damage done to Seng Kang team already.

Just replace her can liao ma.. annouce that no matter win or lose she will be replaced afterwards.. calm the public first..

tamago_

Sorry yeah, I think there are many Abdul Malik’s, saw that the full name was not him. I missed the whole of discussions last night and woke up to news of this this morning, and couldn't study the full spectrum of perspectives till a few hours later and make a proper judgment call.

I wouldn’t read it as that way, he probably acted on his own. I was more angry at the soured relations between the races, even beyond party lines. That is a big no-no with me. My Malay and Indian friends are up in arms over this, but why should I lose my friends because of all this politicking? It’s as if everyone has forgotten about our multiracial roots.

tamago_

"The law provides that a by-election need only be called in a Group Representation Constituency (GRC) if all the Members of Parliament (MPs) in the constituency vacate their seats.

No turning back. Remember, this is a double-edged sword.

tamago_

Just replace her can liao ma.. annouce that no matter win or lose she will be replaced afterwards.. calm the public first..
It's too late for that recourse. If WP wins, why would she give up the mandate given to her team? The voters who voted WP did so with their eyes open.

jeffrey745

"The law provides that a by-election need only be called in a Group Representation Constituency (GRC) if all the Members of Parliament (MPs) in the constituency vacate their seats.

To me personally she's young. A person at that age makes mistakes. After all, so long as they correct themselves, change for the better and not repeat it again, isnt this the most important?

Haven't we giving PAP lots of chances to correct themselves, mistakes after mistakes?:s12:

Sorry yeah, I think there are many Abdul Malik’s, saw that the full name was not him. I missed the whole of discussions last night and woke up to news of this this morning, and couldn't study the full spectrum of perspectives till a few hours later and make a proper judgment call.

I wouldn’t read it as that way, he probably acted on his own. I was more angry at the soured relations between the races, even beyond party lines. That is a big no-no with me. My Malay and Indian friends are up in arms over this, but why should I lose my friends because of all this politicking? It’s as if everyone has forgotten about our multiracial roots.

No harm intended. We are cool brah.

Why should we be fighting over this? Not as if u woke up 1 day and suddenly not happy with ur malay or indian friend right? Then what made you friends in the first place? Isn't it something shared/common?

We are Satu Singapore. Politics is as personal as choice of underwear. You do you. You wear what you like. At the end of the day, if we end up fighting among ourselves, we play into PAP hands. 'See! The opposition are a dangerous and destabalizing threat towards the social fabric of Singapore'.

LLiipp

Disqualifying her now will only have spill over effect of people feeling unjust and sympathy for WP and help them get more votes in East Coast and marine parade. Not a wise move. The aim to discredit her has been achieve. Should move on and not push over the edge.

If elected, she cannot simply be changed. WP have to bite the bullet. Since nomination day over, cannot change substitute also.

kcarrey

IHDMF2m.png

wlalala

The PM can still call for a by-election even if only 1 seat is vacated.

Scrabby

Hmm i actually don't really want some racist to be running ...jamus not bad....but that RK seems otherwise....who knows maybe inside her heart she support CECA.

Vote wisely on your minority candidate.
Its not about NCM vs Jamus.. its about Amrin Amin vs Raeesah Khan.. who can represent the minorities better. Think hard about it :o

Arbalest

I agree.

Over the past few elections, the pattern has always remained the same

A lot of hot air blown, a lot of expectations that opposition is strong, can take more seats, more intelligent candidates with good credentials. Wah Nicole Seah so strong. Wah Paul Tambyah so imba.

There are crowded rallies, united cries against the incumbent.

But when the battle is over and the smokes clears, the incumbent is stronger than ever

I don't expect any different this time round.

In fact, I predict WP will lose Aljunied.

So PAP would gain back all seats except Hougang.

GutterPolitics

I agree.

Over the past few elections, the pattern has always remained the same

A lot of hot air blown, a lot of expectations that opposition is strong, can take more seats, more intelligent candidates with good credentials. Wah Nicole Seah so strong. Wah Paul Tambyah so imba.

There are crowded rallies, united cries against the incumbent.

But when the battle is over and the smokes clears, the incumbent is stronger than ever

I don't expect any different this time round.

In fact, I predict WP will lose Aljunied.

So PAP would gain back all seats except Hougang.

Sinkies are humji

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.