SIA offers cabin crew early retirement and release as part of further cost-cutting measures

Edmwer chiongster say more choices on Fl dome liao

Ya. Dont know why ppl here like to rejoin over ppl losing job.
Once SIA start retrenching, thousands more ppl looking for job will be added to the current unemployment pool.
The unemployed will stop spending affecting other business and then more retrenchment.
Maybe COE and housing cheaper but u dare to buy when you might lose ur job ?

Sia is just another failed business model done up by our sg elites no brainer, look at delta airlines. Even during this time, they lose little money..... sia overpaid all their staff, really brainless ....

Posted from PCWX using iPhone12,5

Don't pay high how to attract syt to join? U look at air stewardess of delta vs SIA u know

straweffigy

Sad news. Hope the cabin crew zehzeh can take it in their stride and move on from this.

People who laughing over this news, one day Karma will find you many times worse.

Delsamor

Sad news. Hope the cabin crew zehzeh can take it in their stride and move on from this.

People who laughing over this news, one day Karma will find you many times worse.
I am observing the fl ads daily, trying to catch the up trend of new fl.

howru2d

Who in the right mind will volunteer amid the super tight employment market. Lol

Joseph12

Ya. Dont know why ppl here like to rejoin over ppl losing job.
Once SIA start retrenching, thousands more ppl looking for job will be added to the current unemployment pool.
The unemployed will stop spending affecting other business and then more retrenchment.
Maybe COE and housing cheaper but u dare to buy when you might lose ur job ?

Thats what happens in recession
Those with money, also refuse to spend.
Suppressing economy even more

trento

Package must be good to entice volunteers to retire ie 2 months for every 1 year service.

Otherwise who would want to volunteer?

depends. i think for some staff, their basic is quite low. so early retirement helps them tide over this period as the basic simply isn't enough.

deodorant

Sia is just another failed business model done up by our sg elites no brainer, look at delta airlines. Even during this time, they lose little money..... sia overpaid all their staff, really brainless ....
Can don't be so kumgong or not? Delta airlines lose little money? All airlines also bleeding from the jugular now, even the US airlines who still have a somewhat half alive domestic market.

https://ir.delta.com/news/news-deta...ate-on-COVID-19-Response-Actions/default.aspx June quarter 2020 adjusted pre-tax loss of $3.9 billion and adjusted loss per share of $4.43 on adjusted revenue of $1.2 billion

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/07/23/ame...s-in-second-quarter-warns-on-coronavirus.html American Airlines on Thursday posted a net loss of $2.1 billion in the second quarter, the latest carrier to outline the financial damage to travel demand from the coronavirus pandemic.

https://www.latimes.com/business/st...ines-earnings-loss-coronavirus-second-quarter United Airlines Holdings Inc. said Tuesday that it lost $1.63 billion in the second quarter as revenue plunged 87%, and it will operate at barely over one-third of capacity through September as the COVID-19 pandemic throttles air travel.

United still can do 30% capacity cos of their domestic market also lose billions, you expect SIA to have some magic way of not losing money?

Mecisteus

depends. i think for some staff, their basic is quite low. so early retirement helps them tide over this period as the basic simply isn't enough.

Now is bad times to find jobs.

Who would want to retire or quit?

Joseph12

ppl are still spending, cars and home sales doing ok

Well, these people must think they're recession proof. But of course if they're smart, they'll wait for property prices to plummet before buying

charleslee1989

If you think about it, SIA kena ****** damn deep by the PAP government. If the PAP government don't do half measures during the first wave which was made worse by Jo Teo's utter ineptness, Singapore would have been comfortably off in many countries' flight ban list possibly as far back as june or even May.

At least, SIA would be able to reduce the damage with the outbound flights from Singapore.

As for the incoming flights, it is kinda tough as the 3 most populous countries in the world happens to have the highest risk of imported cases, namely India, China and the US.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.