Mothershiat: 5 PAP MPs challenge WP MP Jamus Lim after he brings up minimum wage in Parliament

Rainowar

I am against minimum wage. You earn what you work for. Period.

Goondu u know whats minimum wage

Its easy to implement
For roles such as cleaners and retail for example
Jamus could consider people on the service side would earn no less than $17
Per hour then no less than X hours per week as cap

For white collar staff this wont spply

cai_png27

Pap as usual la. Instead of discussing policies, whenever oppo came up with alternatives, they 1st to shoot down and copy over and rename it

WP call for nationalisation of transportation. Pap say cannot. In the end cut, copy and paste and rename it bus contracting model... Isn't it the same when taxpayers money are being used to buy back the train and buses

Don't shoot down for the sake of shooting due to different in ideologies or party. This only irks and turn more middle voters away from pap. Pap ibs still don't understand and oppo ibs are not angel too

curahee

The gan lady qualified to touch on this topic meh

Sent from Xiaomi MI 9 using GAGT

ahkrong

why can't minimum wage be $800
then there won't be any topping up

why must you assume 1.3k?
why not assume 13k?
then every single company will run out of business
U live in south Africa or india, minimum wage $800?
Give u min. wage $800 enough for u?
I know, of cos enough for u cos u ehkan n hard working right?
LOLOLOLOLOLOL

Sent from mai dua karchng using GAGT

wackykid

LOL you earn wat u work for... REALLY...?? all those CEOs C<something>Os and board of directors all jiak liao bee what work they do....?? yet paying themselves big fat salary... :s13::s13::s13:

how about put a maximum wage on these jiak liao bee so as to set a minimum wage for the bottom workers who are the ones that ACTUALLY do all the work...??

regards,
wacky

eclipsemints

So many countries have minimum wage.

I really don't see how much worse can it get for Singapore. Even without min wage we also one of the highest cost of living already.

Many people don't understand why it will have minimal impact. PAP is trying to paint a picture or narrative that min wage is usually set above current market rates, making people to lose their jobs. This is what Gan Sio Huang is talking about.

She doesn't understand that Min wage can be set at the fairest market rate for the industry so that employers cannot underpay the market rate.

For example most F&B are paying $1500 to employ a dishwasher. That can be set as the min wage. So other employers cannot underpay dishwashers.

If these F&Bs feel that they can't afford to hire many dishwashers because of min wage, then they have to innovate to improve the productivity of just hiring one or less.

min wage also can induce productivity in the workplaces as a side effect.

PAPs confirm never come across this. :s8:

gandalfthegrey

I support WP but not their stance on minimum wage. Sinkies cannot have, just look at how it works in NS and SAF.

Singapore don't have minmum wage but have a subsidy known as workfare and there are loopholes which ppl use to get workfare even though they don't qualify. :o

So everyone, including you and me, are paying for the subsidies and the employers get to suppress the wages. :o

theMKR

no minimum wage, so u can hire sinkies for 50/mth. then use the quota to hire FW la...

win-win-win

hako92

Yesh. No minimum wage. So everyone ish employed. Pay them 1dollar/hr. Make our unemployment rate as low as possible. Make us look beri satki at international stage.

But at the end of the day. They cant make ends meet. Garmen still need to aid them with financial sarpork.

cute_togepi

So you are saying the cleaners who work their arses off for the whole day 6 days a week are not deserving of a higher wage that can help them survive in this sh!tty money obsessed economy?

Enormous

So you are saying the cleaners who work their arses off for the whole day 6 days a week are not deserving of a higher wage that can help them survive in this sh!tty money obsessed economy?
Usually those who opposed to minimum wage got agenda of their own one. Modern slave drivers who want to exploit the lowest rank of workers to their deaths.

Woshileeroy

Wasted, should add one more to make it 张无忌光明顶力抗六大派 style.

Why so serious

Many people don't understand why it will have minimal impact. PAP is trying to paint a picture or narrative that min wage is usually set above current market rates, making people to lose their jobs. This is what Gan Sio Huang is talking about.

She doesn't understand that Min wage can be set at the fairest market rate for the industry so that employers cannot underpay the market rate.

For example most F&B are paying $1500 to employ a dishwasher. That can be set as the min wage. So other employers cannot underpay dishwashers.

If these F&Bs feel that they can't afford to hire many dishwashers because of min wage, then they have to innovate to improve the productivity of just hiring one or less.

min wage also can induce productivity in the workplaces as a side effect.

PAPs confirm never come across this. :s8:

this.. business owners are still hooked on cheap labor and low productivity so its hard.

its quite wasted actually for local talents. highly educated but many still are unproductive not by choice

zuppeur

Jamus lim combo with Leon Perera
It a force pap cannot take lightly

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.