[BREAKING] SWISS standard minimum wage = $25/hour

durain

All the frog in well gonna cherry pick this, without looking at cost of living and tax rate. Ever wondered why those swiss travel tours always so expensive......

kenpachi82

Singapore celebrate solicialising costs and privatising profits.

Sent from Pluto using GAGT

SGuy1976

(CNN)Voters in Geneva, Switzerland, have agreed to introduce a minimum wage in the canton that is the equivalent of $25 an hour -- believed to be the highest in the world.

According to government data, 58% of voters in the canton were in favor of the initiative set the minimum wage at 23 Swiss francs an hour, which was backed by a coalition of labor unions and aimed at "fighting poverty, favoring social integration, and contributing to the respect of human dignity."

While Switzerland has no national minimum wage law, Geneva is the fourth of 26 cantons to vote on the matter in recent years after Neuchâtel, Jura and Ticino.

"This new minimum wage will apply to about 6% of the canton's workers as of November 1st," Geneva State Counselor Mauro Poggia told CNN in a statement.

Communauté genevoise d'action syndicale, the umbrella organization of unions in Geneva, described the result as "a historic victory, which will directly benefit 30,000 workers, two-thirds of whom are women."

Sauce:
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/10/03/world/geneva-switzerland-minimum-wage-trnd/index.html

This is the real Swiss Standard!

$25/hr = $25 X 8 hours X 25 days = $5000 a month salary! :s12:

The nation wide minimum wage referendum was defeated in 2014.

What you have are some cantons passing it.

Switzerland is generally very right wing with only the cities going left, maybe even approaching far left.

https://www.swissinfo.ch/eng/minimum-wage-debate-returns-to-switzerland/45831030

occifer

Swiss are the most innovative people in the world.

Seems they are a caring society too.

Sg middle and upper class enjoy wat they get partly because the lower class are paid shiat.....

Not surprised la. See china. Chinese race tend to be more heartless than europeans.

Sent from me using GAGT

Quala98

Ivory IB: With minimum wage, how much you want to pay for your chicken rice and anime? Down with Jamus! Down with AHTC! Down with Sengkang!

also Ivory IB: wah... $25 per hour is better than being IB leh. Must tell advisers and field marshal about this

occifer

GCT said we tried to have Swiss Std of Living
Obviously he failed and
Therefore, it is reasonable that
We don't have Swiss Stad of Pay.

Sg not innovative.
Swiss are innovative and make tons of money that way?

Sent from me using GAGT

laopokcar_g

contributing to the respect of human dignity."

In CECApura only MPs need such dignity
Poor lim wee kiak

Needmysleep

This is more than what junior doctors make in restructured hospitals.Probably make less than what McDonalds workers make per hour :(:s13:

Ethan_

but did u know hw much tax rate is the swiss personal income tax?
Think if want to talk tax must look at the whole picture. Take the whole galaxy of taxes together see. Afterall, its not as if people are not affected by all these taxes. Just personal tax alone is rather misleading gauge on how the people fair, as the overall earning, cost of living and other taxes can greatly impact how much the remaining money is worth regardless of how much personal tax is there. :s22:

Cokacola

We have better than swiss standard of salary for ministers, the rest of us can slowly dream on.

i wonder who does the hard work there... cleaning, construction...

Potato_Wedges

Their tax also jin high

You think our taxes are LOW?
P@P is smart enough to infuse high taxes in basic needs such such housing and cars. And brainwashing citizens to use public transport as cars are a luxury. Look at themselves...all elites with BIG houses and CONTI cars. Unless these Ministers all stay 3bedder HDB and take mrt to work then I have nothing to argue. But truth is Singapore TAX is not LOW too. Agree bo?

PeanutButtor

Swiss are the most innovative people in the world.

Seems they are a caring society too.

Sg middle and upper class enjoy wat they get partly because the lower class are paid shiat.....

Not surprised la. See china. Chinese race tend to be more heartless than europeans.

Sent from me using GAGT

u havent been travel much. Every places has heartless ppls, sometime more sometime less. One thing for sure is, city life is full of dull and unkind ppls. And sinkieland is entirely city and lag of decent welfares.

HumJiBeng

P@P is smart enough to infuse high taxes in basic needs such such housing and cars. And brainwashing citizens to use public transport as cars are a luxury. Look at themselves...all elites with BIG houses and CONTI cars. Unless these Ministers all stay 3bedder HDB and take mrt to work then I have nothing to argue. But truth is Singapore TAX is not LOW too. Agree bo?

Disagree. SG tax is low for the higher ses. Dividend not tax. Corporate tax 17% only (after many deduction). No inheritance tax. Personal Income tax also low

Car expensive yes. That's about it

Of cuz not saying sg is better than Switzerland. Just see working hours. Sg one of the longest working hours. I was a corporate slave before also. Easily work till midnight for consecutive days

mp4005 help

please lah , go there and see. Don't know how many of you actually been there long enough to see their typical lifestyle or even ate at their restaurants. Freaking expensive.
Take a holiday there for 1 week then come back and tell us whether you can afford it.

If you are earning min wage, you also cannot afford a nice house or eat at restaurants or drive a nice car?

you earn that kind of money in such an expensive place to live in..

compare wages and cost of living in that country. not wages in other countries with other countries cost of living.

might as well say earn swiss min wage , stay in india or some third world country can live like a king.

coyote

Property tax for your hdb is dirt cheap. Property tax for your private properties is not expensive either unless you rented them out. You pay more tax if you earn more income, fair and square. Taxes on cars is to discourage ownership as roads are limited resources in Singapore. Public transport is plenty.

Singapore is a tax heaven. Why would you think so many billionaires took up citizenship here? You are enjoying something yet you do not know or appreciate.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.