'Award-winning' production company responds to backlash over asking caterer to sponsor free food

wadsad

This one I agree got alot of deals. just like hollywood alot of sexual scandals.
Just because it is a norm before does not mean it's correct and this what being progressive means, changing what is wrong.

yeah. like i said, right or wrong is up to the person being offered. my stand is, no need to publicise it. its like basic human manners/ behaviour. :s13:

crossair

isnt this why we call it begging? nothing to offer but want free?

Read properly.

They did make a poorly worded offer for exposure. That’s advertising.

To make it clearer to you, a shrewd businessman will go up for negotiation, ie 10 seconds airtime of your actors eating my food in my branded container, with placement of my logo at the credits roll.

I can assure you in marketing, that kind of exposure is indeed worth 2k. The caveat here is is the outreach of this media. For purpose of discussion, I will assume this will be on mainstream media channels like channel 8.

Poomer

The production company so low on budget that they have to ask for sponsorship. On what grounds?

Can't they contract the caterer to supply the meals for the duration and pay for it? As you say, 2k only. A production house can't afford?

I believe these are for profit activities, which passed off the caterer.

If this is donating to the underprivileged for them to have a proper meals, I'm sure many would have done so.

my sentiments exactly

slashershot

yeah. like i said, right or wrong is up to the person being offered. my stand is, no need to publicise it. its like basic human manners/ behaviour. :s13:

This is like saying all the companies employing ceca shouldnt publicise it, cause willing buyer willing seller. :vijayadmin:

It's a social responsibility, as a society there are some behaviors that shouldnt be condone. Its not like he asked to cancel them, he's sharing their practises and let the world know. (with a negative bias)
If it's upright and legit then no problems right? why the production company should worry? Free advert for them, someone will email them soon right? :)

BlackWing1977

Anyway no big loss for the catering company lar... nowadays traditional TV programs not much influence liao... nowadays is all the famous YouTubers and influencer... though some might be the same pattern... obviously not as famous and influential but insist on businesses sponsoring them... :s13:

wadsad

This is like saying all the companies employing ceca shouldnt publicise it, cause willing buyer willing seller. :vijayadmin:

It's a social responsibility, as a society there are some behaviors that shouldnt be condone. Its not like he asked to cancel them, he's sharing their practises and let the world know.
If it's upright and legit then no problems right? why the production company should worry? Free advert for them, someone will email them soon right? :)

nvm i will leave it. this thread obviously got 2 camps. :s13:

tokong

Xia suay...award winning company no money? lol...

from the article, it looks like the company is not sorry for taking advantage of food stalls and restaurants.

first of all, how many people will watch your production? you think your viewership is like gangnam style?

boolsheet, people prepare food no need gas, workers, and raw ingredients ah? A more humane proposal would be to ask to pay for the raw ingredient cost? Want all the packets to be free? must be dreaming.

mp4005 help

yea .. just like influennza ..

ask for free food, free hotel stay, free flights .. they should offer free **** i return ...

I don't understand asking for free things.

Didn't their parents teach them properly??

If you are popular people will pay you to do it... But to ask for free things when it is not about charity , I feel it is not right. It is outright rude.

Do you go to every place and ask excuse me , can give me free this and that ? Might as well ask for free car , free house. Free everything in the same way.

Those say that it is OK to ask , don't want can reject , next time you go out make sure you ask the kopi shop give you free drink, ask the chicken rice stall give u free food, ask grab free ride , ask movie place give free ticket, ... Everything make sure you ask free first. Go condo launch ask free condo , help them promote.

BlackWing1977

It's a social responsibility, as a society there are some behaviors that shouldnt be condone. Its not like he asked to cancel them, he's sharing their practises and let the world know. (with a negative bias)

I hope the $2 chicken rice stall owner contact them and offer them $2 chicken rice.. and if they reject the offer... :s13:

wadsad

Anyway no big loss for the catering company lar... nowadays traditional TV programs not much influence liao... nowadays is all the famous YouTubers and influencer... though some might be the same pattern... obviously not as famous and influential but insist on businesses sponsoring them... :s13:

ppl like tan jian hao can get few million viewership. i see liao i wan cry :s13:

Poomer

Read properly.

They did make a poorly worded offer for exposure. That’s advertising.

To make it clearer to you, a shrewd businessman will go up for negotiation, ie 10 seconds airtime of your actors eating my food in my branded container, with placement of my logo at the credits roll.

I can assure you in marketing, that kind of exposure is indeed worth 2k.

i major in marketing pal. but not my field.

end of day, i prefer to cut to the chase. the amount of advertising is negligible. why dun the production company sponsor the caterer instead? same concept what. u explain to me why cannot then use my explanation on yourself can le

pwongkk

and this chef count 2100$/ 168 = $12.50 a pack. :s13:

i cannot support seh :s13:

You missed out the cost to deliver the food.
Such large number of food rations, which Grab driver can deliver?

If the filming location is same every day at reachable locations still not so bad. Imagine at ulu or off road locations, don't even know how to get there.

I ever went to the MCE site office during construction, first time. Was told to look for a specific number on the wooden arrows and follow. Not one, but many such signs with at tyre level with different numbers, some leading to offroad tracks. Took some time to find that site office.

BlackWing1977

Which production company? Sg only have mediacock right ?

No lar.. singapore got a lot of small production companies that produce programs either for Media Corp or Internet etc...

That is why you always see in the credits the company that produced the show... not all TV programs you see is by Mediacorp studio leh...

crossair

i major in marketing pal. but not my field.

end of day, i prefer to cut to the chase. the amount of advertising is negligible. why dun the production company sponsor the caterer instead? same concept what.

For a major in marketing, you are pretty much a failure if you don’t see an ounce of opportunity here.

Poomer

For a major in marketing, you are pretty much a failure if you don’t see an ounce of opportunity here.

i see the opportunity. but the first offer is so demeaning i will also ask the proposer to stop begging and go **** himself

the proposed benefits is such a joke they can jolly well pay 2k for the food and ill explain to them how to reach out properly.

sizzy6

2k saved is 2k more into the pockets of the company owner

think the media industry is like that.. take adv of others and claim no budget

tell those calefare you want exposure come act for free. but who knows the screen time maybe 0.1 second.. but pple also song.. can say they act in xxx drama with who and who. can even get free ****, you want be supporting actress come sleep with me.. sponsor your ** can already.

but you see all the production companies v rich one.. act poor say no budget

dont say this kind of channel 5.. even blockbuster movie.. who can remember the companies showing up in the end credits? even marvel ones nobody remember.. i only remember simi countrt tourism board etc etc

crossair

i see the opportunity. but the first offer is so demeaning i will also ask the proposer to stop begging and go **** himself

Exactly. So just reply nicely that you have no more budget for advertising. Why the need to post online and burn bridges?

This is typical small gas local SME behaviour.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.