Where Gaming Begins | AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processors

batuchka

10.10 sale..
which desktop gaming pc can I buy .. for under $1,000 ??

Must do 1440p 60fps max quality!

this year wif new gpus/cpus out 10.10 no point for PC have to wait the new hardware released *and* in stocks loh :s22:

defnull

still dont rly trust amd leh

u use it solely for gaming meh?

anyway i waiting for intel gen 11 laptops......... only dell and very ex + lousy dedicated graphics

SpecialKeyboardService

Geez, what happened to intel ?

Just becoz of that ceca boss for 6 & half years, they lag so far behind?

Can they catch up & tie the series with AMD now i wonder ?

Cos they sacked all the good intel engineer and hire thier own village

Tsmc and amd got the intel defected engineers and lisa su is Taiwanese, no play caste one.

More good years for amd ahead!!!!

Steyr69

Cos they sacked all the good intel engineer and hire thier own village

Tsmc and amd got the intel defected engineers and lisa su is Taiwanese, no play caste one.

More good years for amd ahead!!!!

Didn't know Lisa Su is Taiwanese, always thought she is ah tiong.
Respect her bring up AMD after that bulldozer disaster!

Posted from PCWX using Redmi Note 8 Pro

silent_espy

If you buy within this 2 month ggwp :s13:

Best time to buy is during cyber Monday. All the new chips and GPU will be out then. And the kum gongs who rush to buy when it first releases already complain about the bugs. So by the time you order on cyber Monday, you probably will get the new shipment.

defnull

dont trust it based on last time heat issues and how long they lasted. talk until v good in the end also didnt perform as consistent as my intel, but that was like 20 yrs ago liao.

anyway the gains are more purely for gaming isnt it?

kgluong

CPU ish faster, but they never change the mobo chipset ish sianz. :s22:

ish like same car chassis but stronger engine niah. :s22:

That is one of the main reason why people buy amd. They don't need a new mother board when upgrading.

SkyShroud

amd now focusing on their weakness while utilizing their strength
amd weakness was ipc and strength is cores
so u see their cpu all high cores but now they push ipc up, all of a sudden overshadow intel

the decades of software just make it obvious that ipc still the ultimate winner
softwares not evolving to use cores
to make software use cores, it need hardware solution which still under research

ponpokku

Then have to up level to Threadripper.

But how long can one future proof their home pc. Best idea is still buy mid range than upgrade every 3 to 4 years to enjoy best computing experience while still being cost effective.

But of course will create more ewaste la.

yup, was thinking of buying the older series threadripper too. those x399 support up to TR2950. :s13:

ponpokku

That is one of the main reason why people buy amd. They don't need a new mother board when upgrading.

that was the reason like 20yrs ago lah, and that excuse was prolly becos AMD got bottlenecked at the architecture, so they chut this excuse to cover up for not having new chipsets.

if they have chut 3 generations of ryzen CPU each having more than 10% improvements in performance (this time round they claimed more than 20%), then it ish logical to expect new chipset bah. dun have to be a total revamp, can be a partial upgrade from existing chipsets. say they come up with a x590 on top of the current x570.

Hardware4455

Price comparison.

From a layman perspective. Been years I never look at desktop/laptop processors cos in the past 10 years. i5 i7 nothing much changed.

3 months back company issued a new laptop with i5 10210U 15TDP processor which cost about 1.5K new. 4C8T. Nothing special

A couple of months later, I was shopping for my own personal Ultrabook and came across AMD's 4800U. 8C16T. At first, I thought it was some gaming processor. Reading further I found out it was a 15TDP processor which is targeted for Ultrabook.

An 8C16T laptop costing 1.5k with 1TB SSD/16GB RAM. I don't think Intel has any offers to produce such a powerful processor for a slim body.

dont trust it based on last time heat issues and how long they lasted. talk until v good in the end also didnt perform as consistent as my intel, but that was like 20 yrs ago liao.

anyway the gains are more purely for gaming isnt it?
Can check how many microns is Intel and amd ?

Sent from Tehhan's iPhone using GAGT

ponpokku

Price comparison.

From a layman perspective. Been years I never look at desktop/laptop processors cos in the past 10 years. i5 i7 nothing much changed.

3 months back company issued a new laptop with i5 10210U 15TDP processor which cost about 1.5K new. 4C8T. Nothing special

A couple of months later, I was shopping for my own personal Ultrabook and came across AMD's 4800U. 8C16T. At first, I thought it was some gaming processor. Reading further I found out it was a 15TDP processor which is targeted for Ultrabook.

An 8C16T laptop costing 1.5k with 1TB SSD/16GB RAM. I don't think Intel has any offers to produce such a powerful processor for a slim body.

laptop aside, never bought any intel desktop in the last 20yrs, all ish AMD, the money i saved prolly can justify me to splurge on the newest AMD once in a while. :s13:

straweffigy

Price comparison.

For now yes. The current 4000 series Ryzen mobile processors really bang for buck. Fast, lower power consumption, cheap.. but you won't find them in many laptop brands.. if you do, it won't be in the higher tier models.

My R7 4800H feels faster than my desktop intel i5.

laptop aside, never bought any intel desktop in the last 20yrs, all ish AMD, the money i saved prolly can justify me to splurge on the newest AMD once in a while. :s13:

yeah the 4800U damn VFM...
btw.. the 5K AMD CPU is $50 premium hor..
so perhaps wait till 3600 reduce price then this is the best bang for buck rite

AZE

Quite pointless seriously.

Whats the point of having a brand new blink blink processor of the latest tech for it to be pulled down by old M/Bs disabling/reducing much of its improvements?
Much better to buy the latest tech in bundles and used it for years before buying another bundle.

Only reason otherwise ish for pure budget critical concerns, and with the rising AMD prices they could not longer be considered budget bargains.:s22:

Outramkia

Quite pointless seriously.

Whats the point of having a brand new blink blink processor of the latest tech for it to be pulled down by old M/Bs disabling/reducing much of its improvements?
Much better to buy the latest tech in bundles and used it for years before buying another bundle.

Only reason otherwise ish for pure budget critical concerns, and with the rising AMD prices they could not longer be considered budget bargains.:s22:

Got choice mah. Intel die die must change mobo. Sometimes same pincount also not compatible with older mobo.

As for amd, u got the choice to reuse ur mobo. U want pcie4 and more nvme, buy new mobo. Else no need.

AZE

Got choice mah. Intel die die must change mobo. Sometimes same pincount also not compatible with older mobo.

As for amd, u got the choice to reuse ur mobo. U want pcie4 and more nvme, buy new mobo. Else no need.

Intel socket lasted 2 years, that system lasted for at least 10-12 yrs, and the vendors and educated consumers will know about the changes in advance to plan for.
AMD lasted 3 years.

Not much diff.

NB's PCIE4 and nvme needs no processor, wont function with old proc.

Thats huai I said M/B and proc comes together, spending $$$ in full in advance and getting back less than what chiu paid for, only to be able to get back the functions years later with upgrades ish a bit pointless, those functions might already be outdated...:s22:

Why pay more in advance for things that can't be utilised until the future that might be outdated by the time it ish being activated by "upgrades"...:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.