Employers have been given the green light to temporary wage cuts to save job!

whatmeworry

Ok... Will apply for such jobs for my next one. Thanks.

Who ask you not to join our civil service?

Workload never an issue.

The seniors will arrow the juniors.

The juniors will arrow the fresh intake.

And the things the fresh intake cant do just outsource to vendors via tenders.

Kun buaya my lord kun buaya....

Sent from Send From University Of Hull using GAGT

Broadwalk

Shhh.... I am the toilet cleaning cum pantry boy in the TUAS worksite.
Everyday, I hear the Lau unker complain in the toilet cubicles and pantry.
Do I more of less know what is happening in these project companies.
I also clear their desk bin, so I am privy to their minutes of meeting drafts.
I see them printing catalogs at the photo copy machines, really is 大材小用。

No wonder you so no standard. :o Company compliance issue is so poorly controlled that you can come here gossiping your company culture and ethics. :o

Moowoow

Actually national wages council should be out to defend workers wages during this crisis

there is already first round of salary cuts wtf

and government still not fully assisting companies
Better migrate while u still have the energy

Moowoow

Normal lah, good times work private sector better, bad times all want government job
Good Times, public sector already fed with obscene sky high salary, civil servants in hk don't even have bonus all these while

MiG123

The problem in my company is they sacked all the low salary staffs, whom they think have low outputs.
WHY because all the schedules and plans submission are done by the engineers. The boss thought the engineers are the hardworking staffs that makes the project proceed. While ignoring the tons of paperwork's that was handled by the dipla engineers.

Little does the boss knows that without the documents boy or without the errand staffs, the submissions and printings all fall back onto the engineers.

Worst is during meetings, usually one diploma engineers will be incharge of taking and writing the minutes of meeting.
But the boss wants to cut costs and assumed that writing minutes of meeting dont need to waste $3000 for a diploma engineer. The senior engineers attending the meetings Can and are the best people to write the minutes of meeting themselves. Right?

What happened is that now the senior engineers are bogged down with paper works, photostating, and collating catalogs from vendors, preparing the submission themselves

Morning meetings, then afternoon write minutes of meeting. Whole day gone without any real engineering work from the senior engineers.
The boss don't see it this way. The boss don't realised that the senior engineers have become paper boys, spending their work hours without real engineering outputs, instead just paper work.

The daily morning submissions of stacks of work orders/permits to the client is enough to cause these site managers to be chasing papers all day, without real progress in design and engineering.

Tomorrow I worry HR may want to cut salary of the company staffs. that will cause more distress in the company.

Cost cutting.... I see many of my vendors also in tight situations.
Really sad, that Singapore companies are going to fall like this.

its the engineers' fault for not educating/advising management about the ramifications

FT will actually threaten to walk out unlike sinkies who just llst and comprain

Moowoow

Can they wage cut and same time ask the foreign workers to go back india bo

Broadwalk

Better migrate while u still have the energy

Everywhere is the same. :o Other countries are already start prioritize the opportunities to their citizens. :o Globalization is irrelevant during this covid era. :o Covid has change some characteristic and beliefs that has been detrimental, exploited by some companies and ethnics in the past. :o Covid has help to correct that. :o

Moowoow

Seize profiteering chance. Even companies doing well will take opportunity to cut.
Well said, when they cut they will cut the locals while keeping the ep or expat pay continue to increase

Moowoow

Everywhere is the same. :o Other countries are already start prioritize the opportunities to their citizens. :o Globalization is irrelevant during this covid era. :o Covid has change some characteristic and beliefs that has been detrimental, exploited by some companies and ethnics in the past. :o Covid has help to correct that. :o
At least bigger countries have hinterland, u can become a farmer and barter trade

Moowoow

Waiting for national property rental council to cut the sky high rent asked by the landlords, paging for which ministar?

jericho75

I'd would propose a change in CPF contribution rates.... Effective up to 2 years with robust govt backing on housing issues like deferment if you cannot meet payments for housing

Employer 10% instead of 20%... Already 10% savings on business costs...

Employee 7% with the balance 10% given in cash built in to monthly pay structure...

Economy won't recover if people don't spend....

When employer cpf got 20%? It got cut 22 years ago in asian financial crisis until now haven even restore fully.

nymous

Funny usually they cut cpf employer first.. is this mean gahmen no money as well..

pwongkk

Waiting for national property rental council to cut the sky high rent asked by the landlords, paging for which ministar?

Best go back tk the days of rent control, which was abolished in the 90s, after which rental spiral to today's levels.

Rental iz also oart if a business's cost.why the gov had to consider cutting employee's pay as first option, than find ways of cutting other business costs such as rental and utilities?

pwongkk

When employer cpf got 20%? It got cut 22 years ago in asian financial crisis until now haven even restore fully.

Prior to that was 25%.

While bank's loan interest rates can go up, their savings interest rate still very low.

Mac now removed the refillable tea n coffee during breakfast. Most likely this will be gone for good even when things are back to normal.

It is never an advantage to remove employee's benefits. All these will not be restored back when the situation improves. No reason to restore, but cutting from employers benefits will have more chances if seeing it restored later.

pwongkk

We are the employer of Singapore Inc, can we cut our minister pay since we are in recession?

Does a minister need million dollar to survive? I'm sure givibg them a commoner's pay should be sufficient since they are dead against having minimum wages.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.