TraceTogether Token does not have a scanner function

muji4832

It only has a QR code, which most likely encodes using a serial number tied to your NRIC. This token should be placed in front of a scanner for checking in, like what some of us have all along been doing in Super Markets and Shopping Malls today (Physical NRIC).

Now the question is why must we use this (QR Code) instead of using our physical NRIC (Traditional Barcode) ? Is the physical NRIC still accepted for checking in then ?

photo6323529454718134731.jpg

muji4832

Not sure what's your question. Wireless as in Bluetooth ? It's used only for detecting other Bluetooth devices for contact tracing. The check in should still need physical scanning.

my question is, wireless still need to scan QR code?

muji4832

If that's the case, you can remove the battery as there's no use for it.

Better still you can just take a photo of the QR code and use that photo to check in. Print it out if you want.

theMKR

Not sure what's your question. Wireless as in Bluetooth ? It's used only for detecting other Bluetooth devices for contact tracing. The check in should still need physical scanning.

just put another bluetooth tracker at the entrance la.

then put the bluetooth tracker everywhere, that is how u can trace ppl movement without gps.....

aiyo....

Sinkie

then put the bluetooth tracker everywhere, that is how u can trace ppl movement without gps.....

aiyo....

This Tracetogether token track who you walk past or who you share lift with or who you take bus or mrt with

Dual_dance

Simple reason the qr code for piracy, also its easier to distribute if u out nric barcode on it then have to print. Now u can use your nric scan but dec phrase 3 period have to use the token or the app

Nainai

aiyo....

So the government can track everyone movements if they put Bluetooth tracker everywhere? That mean without GPS they are still able to track u?

Quala98

safe entry team from govtech thought of the safe entry idea

trace together team from govtech thought of the trace together idea. In fact this team comes first

both ideas worked well independently. Until someone up them had a brilliant idea of combining them to become another idea.

so the question is... why this brilliant guy never thought of having just one app in the first place?

KnyghtRyder

It only has a QR code, which most likely encodes using your NRIC. This token should be placed in front of a scanner for checking in, like what some of us have all along been doing in Super Markets and Shopping Malls today (Physical NRIC).

Now the question is why must we use this (QR Code) instead of using our physical NRIC (Traditional Barcode) ? Is the physical NRIC still accepted for checking in then ?

Because you are not just checking in.. you are also doing contact tracing.. the token can do that.. your nric can't..

Scanning nric only logs where you went and what time.. the token captures who you came into contact with while you were there.

Is that so hard to understand?

KnyghtRyder

aiyo....

But first they want you to prove that you have trace together.. they can put bluetooth tracker everywhere but if everyone off their trace together or remove the battery from the dongle then also no use.

Ethan_

aiyo....
Think maybe they see it as more troublesome than everyone carry a small device.

Think can see why they do it this way. The safe entry is to record people at location. The token is to narrow down and trace those that are close to the infected case when it happen at location.

Lemon_Tea

It only has a QR code, which most likely encodes using your NRIC. This token should be placed in front of a scanner for checking in, like what some of us have all along been doing in Super Markets and Shopping Malls today (Physical NRIC).

The QR code doesn't encode anything. It is just a serial number of your token. When you collect that token, the serial number will be linked to your NRIC and stored it in the GovTech database

muji4832

I don't think that's how it works, at least for now. The tracker are "not supposed" to be in a static position.

But if one fine day they decided to put a bluetooth tracker at every *******arking corner in SG then it's gg.com.

aiyo....

XiaoJinLing

Think maybe they see it as more troublesome than everyone carry a small device.

Think can see why they do it this way. The safe entry is to record people at location. The token is to narrow down and trace those that are close to the infected case when it happen at location.

That time ask us dun worry as tracetog dun track location only close infected pple and us... y now still wan to also track location? Wah... really

Loser

Can just use or not? The design clearly sucks and it's bulky but if you know the intention behind it for contact tracing then just use lah don't jjww kpkb for what?

Remove battery la this la that la trying to game something for nothing. You think gahment interested in your appointment with the atb other than for contact tracing purposes?

I don't like pappy but edmwers really ish eat too full nothing to do find things to stir.

muji4832

You can also take a picture and print out the QR code for checking in. There's no difference.

Simple reason the qr code for piracy, also its easier to distribute if u out nric barcode on it then have to print. Now u can use your nric scan but dec phrase 3 period have to use the token or the app

Ethan_

That time ask us dun worry as tracetog dun track location only close infected pple and us... y now still wan to also track location? Wah... really
Think from the logic it doesn't track by location but by people.

Think the logic is when there is a cluster at certain location, from the safe entry they will know who are there. But many places so big, not everyone in the same place would be exposed to the infected.

Thus think the token then comes in handy to further narrow down on those who are in close proximity with the infected at the location, as think the token only detect and record those other tokens who are within certain close distance of each other.

Maybe they should have bothered explain it more clearly why they do certain things. Then many people won't be so blur and wonder why this and that. Its ironic they say they got listen to people but think their actions often seems to say otherwise. Often they seems still stuck in the past with the top down approach, seems tend take it for granted that whatever they say people should understand and do, no need much questions. :s22:

muji4832

Provided that they put a static blue tooth tracker in every corner of SG.

They claimed that this TT app or token has no tracking ability, but only interacts with nearby blue tooth devices with TT installed.

But you'll never know.

So the government can track everyone movements if they put Bluetooth tracker everywhere? That mean without GPS they are still able to track u?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.