Comparison of SIM only plans - Part 2

wackykid

Think about it

If you need a Sim only plan with VoLTE and without contract, these are the only plans.

Of course there are no contract Singtel network without VoLTE like grid and gomo and Vivifi, or Singtel consumer / CIS $25 for 30GB

i mean.. i am comparing with singel previous plans... now min is $29.90... previously 12mth contract u can get $20 plans (or $24.90)...?? now they just wan u to pay more... whether u need more data or not dun care.... :vijayadmin::vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

these days the "free" data is used more like a marketing hype like the days of digital camera megapixel race -- the larger the better -- whether or you actually needed it... hence strategy is just give MORE data and then "justify" the price increase... :s13::s13:

regards,
wacky

Angtehkor

Now I waiting for 11.11 I will start camping from 10 November whole day for the best deal

Tofulamb

Hi guys need some advice.

I want to port over from Singtel to other operators.

Contract should be ending 15 Nov.

Questions

1) Starhub my sim only plan $20 for 45gb 1000 mins with ntuc 60 code is ending 8 Nov. Am I able to sign up first. And activate the porting after 15 Nov?

2) if my company cis plan has offer for Singtel port in $30 promo to buy airpods. Should I port out from my current Singtel to mvno and port back in to enjoy that promotion? Any T and C that I am not aware of?

lohsenglte

Hi guys need some advice.

I want to port over from Singtel to other operators.

Contract should be ending 15 Nov.

Questions

1) Starhub my sim only plan $20 for 45gb 1000 mins with ntuc 60 code is ending 8 Nov. Am I able to sign up first. And activate the porting after 15 Nov?

2) if my company cis plan has offer for Singtel port in $30 promo to buy airpods. Should I port out from my current Singtel to mvno and port back in to enjoy that promotion? Any T and C that I am not aware of?

For Q1: Yes, you can sign up and get a temporary number from StarHub first. Then after your handset contract is over, go to StarHub shop and initiate the port in and replace the temporary number.

For Q2: Sorry not SingTel CIS customer, cannot comment.

eagleboy

now gomo can upgrade the plan
H45CqM9.jpg

firesong

One can get 0% fee and 0% interest too.

Not everyone has access to Credit card, even postpaid plans are privileges for some people

Not to put too fine a point on it, but if you can't qualify for a credit card (minimum $2.5k per month gross), you might not want to be blowing your limited cash on a $1600 phone. Just saying...

crystalnox

Not to put too fine a point on it, but if you can't qualify for a credit card (minimum $2.5k per month gross), you might not want to be blowing your limited cash on a $1600 phone. Just saying...
Might be a student working part time jobs or a housewife with no sub card?

firesong

Might be a student working part time jobs or a housewife with no sub card?

I suppose those appear to be valid... I know I saved up to buy my first laptop, so I had to learn to put aside money for that - and it was almost $4k for a PowerBook G4 back then. But that can't cover all unknown variables.

As for housewives, one only needs to wonder why the husband isn't doing anything then... Just because they gave up financial independence does not mean they aren't working - full time housewives with kids do much more work than working professionals. We just don't see it.

007Mi6

FYI, there is a $500+ Huawei. I suggest we keep to comparing SIM only plans objectively instead of discussing value systems.

FYI there are retirees with zero income but much richer than you and me, with $5m or more cash in their bank accounts

Steyr69

M1 really getting bad to worse....**** Sia. At night totally doesn't move.

Posted from PCWX using Redmi Note 8 Pro

ahsiao80

Question:

For Starhub, do you really save a reasonable amount of money over time when comparing between both their Sim-Only plan and 24 months contract plan? This should also include the cost of buying a similar phone @ RRP and subsidies price by respective telecom such as the iPhone 12 for example :s11:

My wife sister keep telling us that save a lot but base on my calculation like don't save much leh... unless i miss out certain critical details :s22:

xiaofan

i mean.. i am comparing with singel previous plans... now min is $29.90... previously 12mth contract u can get $20 plans (or $24.90)...?? now they just wan u to pay more... whether u need more data or not dun care.... :vijayadmin::vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

these days the "free" data is used more like a marketing hype like the days of digital camera megapixel race -- the larger the better -- whether or you actually needed it... hence strategy is just give MORE data and then "justify" the price increase... :s13::s13:

regards,
wacky

Good point.

Anyway, SingTel website still shows the S$25 per month 30GB and S$35 per month 50GB 12 months contract SIM only plan, the catch is the S$5 Caller ID. So if one is qualified for the SingTel CIS plan to have the caller ID waivered, then the S$25 30GB plan is not too bad.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/mobile/postpaid-plans/simonly

Then I believe that S$20 30GB or S$25 40GB promotion 12 month contract plan with free caller ID will still be available for "targeted" recontract customers.

tek888

M1 really getting bad to worse....**** Sia. At night totally doesn't move.

yup, thats why I ported out 2 lines already. also porting out my 3rd line this month. Only keeping my fibre BB with them.

crystalnox

Question:

For Starhub, do you really save a reasonable amount of money over time when comparing between both their Sim-Only plan and 24 months contract plan? This should also include the cost of buying a similar phone @ RRP and subsidies price by respective telecom such as the iPhone 12 for example :s11:

My wife sister keep telling us that save a lot but base on my calculation like don't save much leh... unless i miss out certain critical details :s22:
Usually you have to get a good CIS discount for the 24-month plans to have a chance at beating sim-only.

wackykid

till this date still got telco charging for callerid. they should be boycotted!

not really... if it is cheaper this way... if i am using it for tablet/ipad for instance and dun need or cannot make calls then caller ID is useless... rather save $$$ if this means cheaper...

regards,
wacky

twosix

not really... if it is cheaper this way... if i am using it for tablet/ipad for instance and dun need or cannot make calls then caller ID is useless... rather save $$$ if this means cheaper...

regards,
wacky

u mean those that do not charge for callerid are more expensive? haha...

eg. MR $17 for 50gb will be $12 for 50gb w/o callerid? hahaha.....

shawnng

MR come with Caller Id

It’s depends on the factor.
1. Per gb cost
2. phone subsided
3. Support Volte
4. Network coverage (Singtel best)

Not all sim only is cheap.
Sometimes phone with plan can be worth it.

u mean those that do not charge for callerid are more expensive? haha...

eg. MR $17 for 50gb will be $12 for 50gb w/o callerid? hahaha.....

Steyr69

yup, thats why I ported out 2 lines already. also porting out my 3rd line this month. Only keeping my fibre BB with them.
Which Telco? I want to port out also. My contract expire few months ago.

I using dual SIM....the other is starhub line. Last time quite sucky, but recently improved alot.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.